How Much Is a Seatbelt Ticket in MS? DoNotPay Will Tell You All About It
A seatbelt is an important measure of protection on the road, but not all drivers are willing to embrace it. While the national rate for seatbelt usage is 90%, Mississippi falls behind with a percentage of 77.9.
With one of the lowest seatbelt use percentages among all states, MS drivers end up with tickets in their pockets daily. How much is a seatbelt ticket in MS? DoNotPay will help you find out:
- The cost of the fine
- The effect the ticket has on your driving record
- Procedure for dismissing a ticket
Mississippi requires all adult motor vehicle occupants to wear a seatbelt. The State’s disappointing rate of seatbelt usage motivated the government to make some changes. As of 2017, backseat passengers are also required to buckle up. If they don’t respect the law, the driver will need to pay up.
Drivers and passengers must have both the lap belt on and the shoulder restraint—otherwise, the law enforcement officer can issue a ticket. The exception can be made in certain situations. When more than two children need a belt-positioning booster seat, and the car only has two lap and shoulder belts in the rear, the third minor can be secured with a lap belt only.
The child seatbelt law dictates that infants and toddlers under the age of four must use a child safety restraint system—such as:
- Rear-facing car seats
- Forward-facing car seats with a harness
- Booster seats
The type of restraint depends on the child’s age, height, and weight. The driver will be responsible for paying the fine if the child isn’t secured properly.
In the State of Mississippi, the enforcement of seatbelt law is primary. The difference between primary and secondary law is as follows:
|Type of Law Enforcement||Explanation|
|Primary||Police officers can ticket a driver for not wearing a seatbelt without any other traffic violations taking place|
|Secondary||Police officers can ticket a driver for not wearing a seatbelt only if they notice a primary offense as well|
In Mississippi, whether the wrongdoer is the driver, front or backseat passenger, the seatbelt violation comes with a fine of $25—according to the Senate Bill 2724. Still, the ticket does depend on the jurisdiction.
In Ellisville, for example, a no-seatbelt ticket for the driver or passenger is $35 per charge. Olive Branch county’s regulations state that seatbelt violation costs $75. Petal county will lighten your wallet with a fine of $80.
The issuer can also affect the price of the ticket. Both in Hinds and Jones County, if the ticket is issued by the Deputy Sheriff, the fine is $43.50, but if the Mississippi Highway Patrol pulls you over, you’ll pay $33.50.
The cost of seatbelt tickets also varies by state—and our state-specific cost guides can tell you more about charges in:
The majority of states use a point system to keep track of drivers’ offenses until they reach a limit for license suspension. Mississippi is one of the nine states that don’t resort to this practice. Not wearing a seatbelt is considered a moving violation, but because there is no point system, you won’t get penalty points. The insurance rate also won’t change if you get a ticket.
What will have a consequence on your license is if you make traffic violations repeatedly. Each subsequent offense will come with a harsher penalty—including potential license suspension.
If the damage has been done, here is how you can respond:
- Pay the fine
- Dispute the ticket
If you decide to pay the fine, you can do it:
- By mail
- By phone
- In person
You should consult your local court first to check what their payment options are.
To contest the ticket, you need a plausible reason—such as a medical exemption certificate—and a great defense.
Are you rethinking the ticket dismissal because of the hefty lawyer costs? Building your case doesn’t need to be costly if you go with DoNotPay. Subscribing to our app is a faster and more affordable route to taking care of this nuisance.
DoNotPay can help you overturn the ticket through a few-minute long procedure. All you need to do is:
- Access DoNotPay
- Locate the Seatbelt Ticket product
- Upload a photo of your ticket
- Share with us some basic information about the event
We’ll use your answers to generate a customized appeal letter that will be on its way to MS authorities before you know it. You won’t even have to mail it as we’ll do it on your behalf.
Traveling to another state? For more information on seatbelt laws—and how to avoid the tickets—check out our helpful guides for every state in the U.S.:
If you want to join free trials and not worry about automatic renewals, our app is what you need. With DoNotPay’s virtual credit card, you’ll be able to avoid charges and keep your personal details to yourself.
Getting your money back is our field of expertise—Use DoNotPay to:
- File an insurance claim
- Demand a late delivery refund
- Get gift card cash back
- Get compensation for a canceled or delayed flight
- Receive crime victims’ compensation
Signing up for our app brings you an AI-powered assistant. Check out the benefits of having a DoNotPay account in the table below:
|Solve an Issue||Complete a Task|