The Ultimate Guide to Understanding the Idaho Seatbelt Laws

iEditorial Note: These blog posts represent the opinion of DoNotPay’s Writers, but each person’s situation and circumstances vary greatly. As a result, you should make sure to do your own independent research. Because everyone is unique, our self-help tools are never guaranteed to help with any specific situation. DoNotPay is not a law firm, is not licensed to practice law, and is not equivalent to the services of a licensed lawyer. DoNotPay provides a platform for legal information and self-help, and does not offer legal services. Third party news articles mentioned on our website do not necessarily reflect the views of the company, or the current services that we offer.

Idaho Seatbelt Laws—Everything You Should Be Aware Of

Complying with state seatbelt laws has helped citizens of Idaho avoid fatal accidents and saved thousands of lives. While some people are aware of the basic regulations, others have trouble informing themselves better and get lost easily. This manual helps you get a better understanding of Idaho seatbelt laws and child car seat regulations and teaches you all about fighting your seatbelt fines without bureaucracy!

Seatbelt Laws in Idaho—A Brief Overview

Here’s a rundown of the most significant seatbelt regulations in Idaho:

  • The law applies to all vehicles that:
    • Have a gross vehicle weight below 8,000 pounds
    • Were made according to federal motor vehicle standards
  • Drivers and passengers in all seats are required to wear a safety belt while the vehicle is in motion
  • Idaho seatbelt law counts as a primary offense for adults but is a secondary offense for persons under 18
  • Seatbelt citations aren’t considered moving violations in this state, which means they don’t make a difference to your car insurance or driving record

Child Seatbelt Law in Idaho

Like most other U.S. states, Idaho proposes strict children seatbelt rules based on the proper use of child restraint devices. The appropriate restraint system for your child will depend on their:

  1. Age
  2. Weight
  3. Height

All passengers under the age of eight must be secured in a single restraint device according to the following scheme:

Age/Height/Weight SpecificationsRestraint System Type
Children under the age of two weighing less than 40 poundsRear-facing car seat
Children between two and four years of age weighing between 40 and 65 poundsForward-facing car seat
Children between four and eight years of age not taller than 4’ 9’’Booster seat
Children above eight taller than 4’ 9’’Regular seatbelt

Exemptions from these regulations include children who are:

  • Seated in a vehicle where all seatbelts are occupied
  • Removed from the car seat for nursing or psychological needs

Who Doesn’t Have To Wear a Seatbelt in Idaho?

Exemptions from the mandatory seatbelt use include:

  • Mail carriers
  • Motorcycle drivers
  • Emergency vehicle operators
  • Persons who ride in a vehicle where all the seatbelts are occupied
  • People with a written confirmation stating that they have a health condition preventing them from using a safety belt

How Much Are the Seatbelt Citations in Idaho?

A seatbelt ticket cost for adult drivers who violate the current laws is $10. They will also be responsible and ticketed $10 for each passenger under the age of 18 not wearing a seatbelt in their car. Half of this amount—$5— should go to the catastrophic health care cost fund.

Not securing a child with an adequate restraint system results in an $84 fine that can increase if you don’t pay it on time. The judge can dismiss the citation if the person who got it acquires a proper child restraint device before the hearing.

If a driver is under the age of 18 and their passengers fail to fasten their safety belts, extra court expenses may apply.

Popular Ways To Dispute Your Seatbelt Ticket

If you have acceptable reasons and arguments to get your ticket dismissed, you should dispute it by using one of the following methods:

  1. Reasonable doubt—This approach is usually taken in case you were wearing your seatbelt, but the police officer mistakenly thought you weren’t because:
    1. Your shirt was the same color as your safety belt
    2. You have removed your seatbelt to leave the car
    3. Your child has unbuckled their seatbelt, and you didn’t see it

By creating reasonable doubt, you explain the situation to the court and convince them that you were, in fact, having your safety belt on

  1. Due diligence—You can use this option if you removed your seatbelt or didn’t wear it at all but have a valid reason why you shouldn’t be charged for the offense. Some situations that count as good excuses include:
    1. Facing an emergency at the moment of the offense
    2. Forgetting something in your back seat or trunk
    3. Reaching a pick-up window while passing a drive-through
    4. Suffering from a specific medical condition that prevents you from having your safety belt on
  2. —You can submit an appeal letter our app will generate for you from any preferred device, browser, and location

Get Rid of Hefty Seatbelt Fines by Disputing Them With DoNotPay

Do you need a flawless defense case that will help you appeal unfair seatbelt citations? Don’t turn to inaccurate templates—subscribe to DoNotPay and get your appeal letter in a heartbeat!

All we need is a photo of your ticket and a few essential details about the situation you have experienced. We will generate a formal personalized letter and send it to the authorities before you know it.

Here’s how to proceed:

  1. Locate the Seatbelt Ticket product in our app
  2. Tell us who got the seatbelt citation
  3. Select the argument you want to use for the appeal process
  4. Attach the photo of your seatbelt fine and answer our chatbot’s questions

If you commute frequently or plan to travel out of state, don’t miss other handy guides we created to help you understand seatbelt laws in:

North CarolinaPennsylvaniaMaryland
New JerseyTennesseeNew York State
Washington StateMissouriColorado
UtahSouth CarolinaMassachusetts
LouisianaIowaWest Virginia
New MexicoMississippiHawaii
NebraskaNew HampshireMaine
DelawareMontanaRhode Island
AlaskaSouth DakotaWyoming
North DakotaDistrict of Columbia

DoNotPay Offers More Assistance!

Our app boasts many features that can make your life easier.

Do you need help searching for unclaimed money or covering bills? Are you looking for clinical trials you can sign up for to earn some extra money? We can help you out in a flash!

Other tasks we can streamline for you are the following:

Forget Hiring a Lawyer—Use DoNotPay Instead

You don’t want to spend a fortune on lawyer fees? No problem! DoNotPay—the world’s first AI Consumer Champion—is here to assist you! With our help, you’ll be able to file complaints, send demand letters to anyone in small claims court, handle stalking and harassment, get crime victims’ compensation, and draft numerous documents, including:

If you need to get a document notarized, you can also count on our help. We’ll connect you with an online notary who will notarize your document in a flash.

Want your issue solved now?