How Much is a No-Seatbelt Ticket in Louisiana—Find Out With DoNotPay

Dispute Seatbelt Tickets How Much is a No-Seatbelt Ticket in Louisiana—Find Out With DoNotPay

How Much Is a No-Seatbelt Ticket in Louisiana? DoNotPay Offers a Definitive Answer

Road accidents resulting in severe or fatal injuries are a growing concern in Louisiana. Between 2003 and 2012, 6,533 deaths were caused by car accidents, higher in Louisiana than the rest of the U.S. To decrease the consequences of not wearing seatbelts, Louisiana has imposed strict seatbelt laws—with heftier fines.

So, how much is a no-seatbelt ticket in Louisiana? Before we answer that question, it’s important to understand the Louisiana seatbelt laws.

What Is the Louisiana Seatbelt Law?

Not wearing a seatbelt in Louisiana is considered a primary offense and a moving violation—which means you will receive demerit points. While Louisiana previously only required front-seat passengers and children to be buckled up, the law was changed in 2009—everyone in a vehicle must now wear a seatbelt.

If anyone is caught without a seatbelt, an officer on duty can pull them over and ticket them.

People who are unable to use restrainment systems due to physical or medical conditions will not be fined.

The Louisiana Child Seatbelt Law—Here’s What You Should Know

The Louisiana child seatbelt laws have strict and detailed rules. Here are the details:

Age Regulations
Under two
  • The child must be in a rear-facing car seat
  • The car seat must comply with federal regulations
  • Seats should be used following the height and weight guidelines specified by the manufacturer
At least two years old
  • Children must be seated in front-facing car seats until they outgrow it
  • The car seat must have an internal restraint system that secures the child
At least four
  • Children must be positioned in booster seats
  • The child and booster seat must be secured with a vehicle lap and shoulder seatbelt
Nine years old and older
  • Children must be secured with a standard lap-and-shoulder seatbelt
  • The seatbelt must fit comfortably across the child’s thighs and hips
  • The child must be seated with their back fully pressed against the back of the seat, and their knees must be bent over the edge of the seat

School buses and taxis are exempt from these rules. The drivers of these vehicles will not be ticketed if a child passenger is found in violation of the seatbelt rule, but the adult accompanying the minor might.

The Seatbelt Ticket Cost in Louisiana—The Breakdown

Take a look at how much you’d be expected to pay for not wearing a seatbelt:

Category First Offense Second Offense Third or the Following Offenses
Adult $50 $75 $75 plus court charges
Child $100 $100–$250 $500

A driver who possesses a child restraint system that is not appropriate for the child will be fined $100. A driver charged with a third child restraint offense will have their license suspended for 180 days and must pay a $60 fine to have it reinstated. They will also have to sign an affidavit with the court and provide proof of having purchased and installed the appropriate child restraint systems.

What Happens if You Don’t Pay Your Seatbelt Ticket?

Failure to pay a seatbelt ticket may cause numerous problems, such as:

  • The late fees pile up, and you have to pay a hefty sum
  • You have multiple tickets that add points to your license, which can affect your insurance
  • An arrest warrant is issued in your name

How To Dispute a Seatbelt Ticket in Louisiana

There are a few ways you can contest a seatbelt ticket in Louisiana:

  1. Writing a trial by written declaration
  2. Appearing in court
  3. Using DoNotPay

Submitting a Trial by Written Declaration

Both you and the officer who ticketed you are required to send in a written statement to the court if you want a trial by written declaration. A judge will review both documents and decide whether or not you are guilty.

If the officer fails to send in his version of the argument, you win automatically.

Appearing in Court To Fight Your Ticket

If you choose to appear in court, you can either represent yourself or hire a lawyer. You are required to face a trial and present any evidence you might have in your defense. A judge will review your case and deliver a verdict.

Having Trouble With Your Seatbelt Ticket? Solve It With DoNotPay

If you have received a seatbelt ticket and would much rather not deal with it on your own, you can use our app to contest it! Here’s what you have to do:

  1. Log in to DoNotPay
  2. Find the Seatbelt Ticket feature
  3. Provide some details about your ticket
  4. Give us some evidence to back you up—photographs, if possible

The app will generate an appeal letter on your behalf and send it to the relevant ticket authority. Whether you received the ticket by mistake or you have a valid reason why you didn’t wear a seatbelt, we can help you out.

Find Out Everything You Need To Know About Seatbelt Laws Across the USA!

Feel free to use DoNotPay to fight a seatbelt ticket in any U.S. state. If you’re traveling the States, you may want to brush up on the seatbelt laws. Find the state you plan to visit in the table below and get familiar with the regulations:

Texas California Florida
North Carolina Pennsylvania Maryland
Georgia Arizona Illinois
Michigan Virginia Indiana
New Jersey Tennessee New York State
Washington State Missouri Colorado
Utah South Carolina Massachusetts
Nevada Ohio Alabama
Oregon Wisconsin Oklahoma
Arkansas Minnesota Kentucky
Idaho Connecticut Kansas
Vermont Iowa West Virginia
New Mexico Mississippi Hawaii
Nebraska New Hampshire Maine
Delaware Montana Rhode Island
Alaska South Dakota Wyoming
North Dakota District of Columbia

DoNotPay Brings the Best Solution to Any Problem

If you want some help canceling subscriptions, requesting refunds, or signing up for free trials without being charged, our app is exactly what you need.

No task is too demanding for DoNotPay, and our product offer keeps on growing. With us, you can lower your property taxes, enter giveaways and sweepstakes, file insurance and warranty claims, and report copyright infringement. In case you also need to apply for scholarships, draft power of attorney documents, or appeal banned accounts, we’ll come to the rescue.

In a few clicks, you’ll get the assistance that you’ve been looking for!

Our App Helps You Protect Your Privacy

Keeping your privacy intact is no easy feat since more and more services request your email address, phone number, and other personal details. If you sign up for DoNotPay, that requirement will become a thing of the past!

With our Virtual Credit Card product, you’ll get a randomly generated name, email address, and payment details and stay unknown. If a platform asks you to submit your phone number, you can select our Burner Phone feature and get a temporary number.

DoNotPay can also put a stop to spam emails, text messages, and bothersome robocalls. We can even help you conduct a sex offender search for your area, file anonymous HR complaints, generate child travel consent forms, and send demand letters to your noisy neighbors.

Want your issue solved now?