The Indiana Seatbelt Law From A to Z

Dispute Seatbelt Tickets The Indiana Seatbelt Law From A to Z

All You Need To Know About the Indiana Seatbelt Law

The consequences of not wearing a seatbelt can be severe. You can be fatally wounded or sustain horrific injuries if you are in a car crash and not wearing a seatbelt. While the number of fatal accidents has decreased since wearing seatbelts became law, the improper use of the restraint system still costs many people their lives.

The Indiana seatbelt law is strict, and disregarding the rules can lead to a hefty fine.

If you or someone you know has received a seatbelt ticket in Indiana, you can use DoNotPay to have it dismissed!


The Seatbelt Law in Indiana for Adults

A seatbelt ticket in Indiana is categorized as a primary offense, which means that anyone in violation of the seatbelt law can be pulled over and fined. Failing to wear a seatbelt is also considered a moving violation, but it won’t lead to demerit points on your license.

All drivers and passengers in Indiana over the age of sixteen should be buckled up, regardless of where they are seated in the vehicle. You are exempt from having to wear a seatbelt at all times only if you are:

  • Making frequent stops to deliver a package as an employee of the U.S. Postal Service
  • Occupying the residential portion of a recreational vehicle
  • Riding a truck or vehicle used for occupational farming activities
  • Traveling inside the treatment area of an ambulance

Indiana Child Seatbelt Law

Indiana requires all passengers below the age of 16 to be properly restrained in their seats. Children should also ride in the backseat of the vehicle until they outgrow their booster seat. Older children must be buckled up if they are riding in the front passenger seat.

The restraint system should be selected based on the following criteria:

  1. Age
  2. Weight
  3. Height

Here is a breakdown of the type of restraint that must be used to keep children safe in a vehicle:

Age Weight Restraint System
Less than 12 months Less than 20 pounds Rear-facing car seat
One to three years At least 20 pounds As soon as they outgrow the rear-facing car seat, the child must be in a forward-facing car seat with a three-point harness
Four to seven years 30 to 40 pounds Forward-facing car seat with a harness. Children who outgrow the car seat must be in a booster seat
Eight to 12 years More than 40 pounds Once they outgrow the booster seat, children must be restrained with a seatbelt

When a child starts wearing a seatbelt, parents must make sure the lap belt fits snugly across the child’s thighs and lower hips, and the shoulder belt is placed comfortably across their shoulder. At no point should the lap belt be across the child’s stomach or the shoulder belt across their face or neck.

Exceptions to the Child Seatbelt Law in Indiana

Children who belong to the following categories may be exempt from the child-restraint laws in Indiana:

  • The child has a physical condition that restricts the use of a restraint
  • The child has a mental condition that makes the use of a seatbelt or restraining system difficult

In both cases, the child’s parents must have a note from a doctor explaining why their child cannot be restrained in any of the systems mentioned above.

How Much Does a Seatbelt Ticket in Indiana Cost?

A seatbelt ticket in Indiana costs about $25 for first-time offenders. If children are found unrestrained—or strapped into a contraption that is not adjusted to their age, height, and weight—the parent or guardian accompanying the child has to pay a similar amount.

What To Do if You Receive a Seatbelt Ticket

If you have violated the seatbelt laws in Indiana, you can do one of the following:

  1. Pay the fine
  2. Schedule a mitigation hearing
  3. Plead not guilty and contest the ticket

Pay the Fine

You can pay your ticket online. To do so, you should:

  1. Navigate to the Indiana traffic tickets website
  2. Search your ticket by number or name
  3. Follow the prompts and pay the fine

Keep in mind that you have 60 days after receiving the ticket to respond. You are required to complete the payment at least 48 hours before the deadline since it might take that long to process your payment. Failing to pay a seatbelt ticket can lead to extra fines and the revocation of your license.

Keep in mind that opting to pay the fine is an automatic admission of guilt. If you are a repeat offender, the court may suspend your license, affecting your insurance.

Request a Mitigation Hearing

While requesting a mitigation hearing also automatically marks you as guilty of violating the Indiana seatbelt law, you might be allowed to:

  • Set up a monthly payment plan
  • Receive a fine reduction
  • Complete hours of community service

Contest Your Seatbelt Ticket

If you want to plead “not guilty”, you can check the correct box on your ticket and mail it to the court. You will be able to schedule a hearing where you can defend your case.

Get Your Ticket Dismissed With DoNotPay

It takes a lot of time and effort to get a traffic ticket dismissed. Many people opt to pay the fine rather than go through the exhausting process of contesting their seatbelt ticket.

If you’re looking for an easy and convenient solution, DoNotPay can help! We can draft a convincing appeal letter requesting a seatbelt ticket dismissal based on:

  1. Reasonable doubt—The officer made a mistake thinking you weren’t wearing a seatbelt when you actually were
  2. Due diligence—You had a valid reason for failing to buckle up

All you have to do is:

  1. Log into DoNotPay
  2. Find the Seatbelt Ticket tool
  3. Type in a few details about the specifics of your case
  4. Provide evidence, if possible

We will use the details you provided, generate a letter, and send it to the Indiana seatbelt authorities on your behalf!

DoNotPay Can Help You Contest Seatbelt Tickets in Other States

You can use DoNotPay to help get your seatbelt ticket dismissed in any state! Take a look at the guides to seatbelt laws in other U.S. states:

Texas California Florida
North Carolina Pennsylvania Maryland
Georgia Arizona Illinois
Michigan Virginia Vermont
New Jersey Tennessee New York State
Washington State Missouri Colorado
Utah South Carolina Massachusetts
Nevada Ohio Alabama
Oregon Wisconsin Oklahoma
Arkansas Minnesota Kentucky
Idaho Connecticut Kansas
Louisiana Iowa West Virginia
New Mexico Mississippi Hawaii
Nebraska New Hampshire Maine
Delaware Montana Rhode Island
Alaska South Dakota Wyoming
North Dakota District of Columbia

Save Money With the Help of DoNotPay

Are you tired of losing money on useless memberships and forgotten subscriptions? Our app can help you cancel subscriptions or memberships in a snap. Have some questions for customer service? Use DoNotPay to jump the phone queue.

If you want to sign up for a free trial but don’t want to risk being charged, get our virtual credit card. Thanks to this card, you’ll enjoy any free trial stress-free. It will also save you from receiving spam emails.

In case you’re also struggling to claim a warranty or insurance, we can assist you with this too. Rely on DoNotPay to solve any issue regarding purchased products—whether you need to return an item, file a chargeback request, or get a late delivery refund.

If you’re dealing with a serious problem, don’t bother wasting your money on lawyers—our AI-powered app can help you file a complaint, appeal a banned account, sue anyone in small claims court, and draw up various legal documents!

DoNotPay Also Helps You Earn Money

Our app is an expert at saving money, but we can also assist you in earning some. You can use DoNotPay to find unclaimed funds under your name, sign up for paid clinical trials, and get victims’ compensation. If you want to redeem your gift cards for cash, enter numerous sweepstakes, and get compensated for a delayed flight, count on our help!


Want your issue solved now?