The Vermont Seatbelt Law in a Nutshell
Despite the fact that seatbelt use in Vermont is 88.8%, far too many people in this state die as a result of being unrestrained in a car accident. Wearing a seatbelt is one of the most effective strategies to avoid a fatal outcome and serious injury in the event of a collision.
Whether you are a frequent traveler on Vermont roadways or just passing through, you should get familiar with the Vermont seatbelt laws. Our easy-to-read guide will explain the basics, answering the following questions:
- Who must wear a seatbelt in VT?
- What are child passenger safety laws in Vermont?
- How much does a seatbelt ticket cost?
- Do seatbelt tickets go on your record?
- How can you dispute a seatbelt ticket?
Everyone in the vehicle must wear seatbelts properly, regardless of their age or where they are sitting. The seatbelt law in the Green Mountain State doesn’t allow medical exemptions.
The state of Vermont uses a mix of primary and secondary seatbelt laws.
Vermont has a primary seatbelt law for drivers and passengers under the age of 18.
Primary seat belt laws allow police officers to pull you over and issue a citation for a seatbelt violation. Primary laws often result in a greater percentage of seat belt use than secondary ones.
If a driver or other passengers over 18 fail to wear their seatbelt in Vermont, they can be fined only if a police officer observes another citable offense first.
These types of laws allow officers to fine you only if they pulled you over for other reasons, such as speeding or failing to stop at a railroad crossing.
Children seatbelt laws in Vermont vary depending on the children’s age and weight.
- Under the age of one or weighing less than 20 pounds, regardless of age, must be securely restrained in a rear-facing position in a federally approved child passenger restraint system. It must not be installed in front of an active airbag
- Between one and eight years of age and weighing more than 20 pounds must be restrained in a child passenger restraint system—either convertible or booster seat
- Between eight and 15 must be restrained in a safety belt system or a child passenger restraint system
A violation of a car seat law in Vermont will result in a fine that increases with each successive offense:
- First violation—$25
- Second violation—$50
- Third and subsequent violations—$100
Keep in mind that the citations will still show up on your driving record.
- Establish a due diligence defense
- Create reasonable doubt
Regardless of the method you choose, drafting an appeal letter isn’t easy for someone who’s never done it. The good news is—we can help. All you need to do is sign up for our service.
In your appeal letter, you must state that you know how important it is to wear a seatbelt at all times and that you normally always wear it. Your argument may be that:
- You were driving in reverse and unbuckled your seatbelt. You forgot to buckle up after that
- Your seatbelt warning buzzer stopped working, so you forgot to fasten your seatbelt
Reasonable doubt requires a compelling explanation for why the police officer mistook you for not being buckled up while you, in fact, were. Possible explanations may be:
- Your seatbelt is the same color as your jacket, so it’s not visible from afar
- You unbuckled your seatbelt to reach for something
- You unbuckled your seatbelt because you were preparing to get out of the car
Our nifty app analyzes the info you provide about your case, drafts a personalized appeal letter, and sends it to relevant authorities in minutes! DoNotPay allows you to save a sizable sum of money you would otherwise spend on hiring a lawyer.
Here’s what you should do after logging in to your DoNotPay account:
- Find the Seatbelt Ticket product
- Provide us with the info about:
- Situation you faced
- Person who violated the seatbelt law
- Argument you want to use for fighting the ticket
- Take a photo of your seatbelt ticket and upload it
If you plan on traveling out of Vermont soon, make sure you check out our state-specific guides listed in the table below:
If you’re on a tight budget and have trouble covering your bills, there are a few things we can do for you. DoNotPay is a great tool to both earn and save money.
If you or a family member is a student, you can use our app to search and apply for scholarships and request a college fee waiver. In case your financial aid application is rejected or the university offers little, we can help you file an appeal. Education can be expensive on all levels, so you may consider homeschooling your child.
Is your property tax bill through the roof? Discover ways to lower your property taxes with DoNotPay.
DoNotPay is a versatile app, helping users handle tasks and issues while saving time and money.