DoNotPay Deciphers Delaware Seatbelt Laws for You
According to statistical data released by Delaware authorities, 53% of the state traffic victims in 2018 were unbelted at the time of the crash. Going by the state’s most recent fatal car crash reports, over 40 people have died because they didn’t wear a seatbelt in the past few months. As tragic as they are, most of these deaths could have been prevented by complying with Delaware seatbelt laws.
In this article, we have compiled all rules and regulations deriving from the relevant seatbelt laws in the state to help you understand the:
- Delaware seatbelt law for adults and children
- Penalties and demerit points caused by a seatbelt ticket
- Best way to contest a seatbelt ticket in Delaware
Delaware seatbelt laws for adults apply to anyone 16 and older, i.e., these persons are held accountable for buckling themselves up. We have put together a short Q&A table to help you understand this somewhat confusing piece of legislation:
|Who needs to wear a seatbelt in Delaware, and how?||
|Do seatbelt regulations apply to all vehicles?||Delaware laws on seatbelts covers:
Classic or antique cars cannot be used for everyday travel and transportation in Delaware, so the seatbelt laws don’t affect them
|How are seatbelt violations treated in Delaware?||According to Delaware laws, not wearing a seatbelt is a non-moving traffic violation with primary enforcement, which means an officer can pull you over for any seatbelt related offense|
An adult driving someone under 16 years of age must ensure the child is adequately belted or restrained as per the Delaware children seatbelt laws. Refer to the table below for specific details:
|Age Range||Child Occupant Protection Law|
|13 months to eight years||
|Nine to 15 years|
If you get a ticket for a seatbelt violation in Delaware, you’ll need to:
- Pay a $25 fine (for each violation)
- Visit the court for a mitigated hearing
- Pay another $60 in court costs
Getting a seatbelt ticket immediately raises your risk level as a motorist and increases your insurance expenses. Currently, the state doesn’t add negative points to your driving license for not wearing a seatbelt, but you may face two to six demerit points if you get a ticket for other traffic offenses along with the seatbelt one.
You should pay the fine if you don’t want to face the following consequences:
- Becoming a court debtor
- Getting an arrest warrant issued in your name
- Having your vehicle or any other asset taken away
If you’re facing financial hardship, you should explain your situation to the judge to get an installment payment plan. In certain cases, the judge may reduce your fine if you pledge to do community service or enroll in a traffic safety course.
If you feel you got slapped with an unjust ticket, you can refuse to pay the fine and contest it in court, which entails hiring a pricey lawyer and attending proceedings. If the court accepts your argument, your ticket will be dismissed.
Do you fear this may devastate your budget and devour your time? If you’re looking for a fast and money-saving way to appeal your seatbelt ticket, turn to DoNotPay. You can use our Seatbelt Ticket product to fight your ticket without throwing away your hard-earned money! DoNotPay acts as your robot lawyer, so you don’t have to:
- Negotiate with attorneys
- Draft tricky appeal letters yourself
We use the info you provide to generate a customized appeal letter highlighting the arguments specific to your case. We then mail the document to the authorities on your behalf.
To use our services, follow these straightforward instructions:
- Open your DoNotPay account and click on the Seatbelt Ticket tab
- Attach a photo of your seatbelt ticket
- Tell us who received the ticket
- State the argument you want to use and add any exonerating evidence, if possible
If you’re confused about what argument to use, we’ve got your back! When it comes to fighting seatbelt tickets, flimsy excuses won’t work. You should use an argument that either proves you were wearing a seatbelt or were not wearing one for common sense or medical reasons.
The following should do the trick:
- “I had strapped my seatbelt on, but the officer missed it as it was the same color as my shirt”
- “I have a doctor’s certificate that exempts me from wearing seatbelts”
- “My seatbelt jammed and turned faulty, and I have a mechanic’s certificate to prove it”
Keep in mind that you should state the facts and not lie because it can lead to more serious problems. DoNotPat recommends wearing a seatbelt at all times because it boosts safety on the roads.
Once you complete the task at hand, you don’t have to stop there—we offer a myriad of products that can relieve you of the stress that comes with dealing with admin and legal hurdles.
DoNotPay can assist you in drawing up a divorce settlement agreement, child travel consent form, power of attorney, and other legal documents, contacting government representatives, getting tourist visas, fighting workplace discrimination, getting a burner number, appealing banned accounts, getting access to public records, scheduling a DMV appointment, and much more.
With DoNotPay by your side, you don’t have to worry about how you’ll cover your utility bills at the end of the month—we’ll provide swift assistance as soon as you sign up!
Wondering what else our app is capable of? Check out how we can:
- Help you jump the phone queue when getting in touch with customer service
- Sign you up for any clinical trial you’re a good candidate for
- Get you a refund for any late, damaged, or missing delivery
- Generate a rock-solid financial aid appeal letter
- Draw up an anonymous HR complaint
- Look up sex offenders in your vicinity
- Help you reduce your property taxes
- Contact any embassy or consulate
- Get any document notarized