A Quick Guide to the CT Seatbelt Laws
When properly belted, you can prevent minor injuries and reduce the more serious ones if you get into a car accident. On top of that, wearing a seatbelt is mandatory by law in 49 states, and you’ll be fined if you don’t comply.
If you find yourself on the roads of the Nutmeg State, you should know what CT seatbelt laws are. DoNotPay will simplify the learning journey by deciphering all the regulations in this guide.
The Connecticut law requires that drivers and front seat passengers wear seatbelts.
As of October 21, 2021, new legislation takes effect requiring back seat passengers to buckle up as well.
Prior to this addition, back seat occupants older than 16 didn’t need to have a safety belt on. With this law in place, Connecticut becomes one of the 32 states that demand all motor vehicle occupants to use a seatbelt.
Connecticut has primary law enforcement for drivers and front-seat passengers, meaning that the police officers can pull them over if they are unbelted. Even if this is the case, the officers can’t search the vehicle based on this cause only.
The new backseat law is subject to secondary enforcement, so the driver can’t be stopped if there is an unbelted adult passenger in the rear.
Motor vehicle occupants who have a physical disability that prevents them from using a seatbelt are exempt from the law.
Connecticut has specific child seatbelt and car seat laws. The driver needs to make sure that all passengers older than eight and younger than 16 are buckled up properly. If not, the vehicle operator will be fined.
If your child passengers are under eight and weigh less than 60 pounds, you need to secure them in a child restraint system.
What car seat or booster seat you need to install—based on a child’s age and weight—is explained below:
|Age||Weight||Proper Restraint System|
|Under two years||Less than 30 pounds||Rear-facing restraint system with a five-point harness|
|Between two and five years||Between 30 and 40 pounds||
|Between five and eight years||Between 40 and 60 pounds||
The American Academy of Pediatrics advises that children under the age of 13 ride in the back seat, and Connecticut authorities support this recommendation.
You won’t be fined if you don’t have a car seat for a child in the taxi, but it is advisable that you bring one.
Under the seatbelt law in Connecticut, any form of violation carries a fine of $50 for drivers and passengers who are 18 years or older. If the driver or passengers are younger than 18, the fine increases to $75. Committing a second violation of the child seatbelt law can result in a ticket as high as $199.
Disregarding the regulations on child safety restraints can also come with a requirement for the driver to attend a child car seat safety course at a local DMV.
Connecticut uses a point system for moving violations. Accumulated traffic offenses can cost you your license for a set time or for good. At best, only your car insurance rate will increase due to collected points.
Getting a citation for not wearing a seatbelt is a non-moving violation. What this refers to is that you won’t face demerit points against your license.
If you decide not to pay the ticket in full by the set date, your case will go to court. The authorities can then suspend your license, mount more fees in addition to the original amount, or even issue a warrant for your arrest with a release bond.
Another option you have is to plead not guilty and contest the citation. This is a suitable possibility if you have a foundation for:
- Reasonable doubt—You were wearing a seatbelt, but the police officer didn’t notice it for some reason
- Due diligence defense—You weren’t buckled up but with a valid cause—you have a certificate of exemption for medical reasons
Do you have a plausible argument for fighting the ticket? DoNotPay can save you from the nuance of writing the appeal! Sign up for our app, and get your tailor-made letter in the blink of an eye!
Argue seatbelt tickets from the comfort of your home with DoNotPay’s help. All you need to do is fire up the app and:
- Log in to your account
- Click on the Seatbelt Ticket feature
- Attach a photo of your citation
- Fill out a simple questionnaire about the ticket
We’ll use your answers to generate a top-notch letter of appeal and mail it to the ticket authorities.
As a multifaceted app, DoNotPay creates solutions to numerous problems. Check out the table below and get to know a fragment of what our app can do:
|Keep Your Privacy Intact||Deal With Legal Problems||Solve Money Issues|