The Best Guide to Decoding the MD Seatbelt Law
Even though Maryland boasts a huge number of regular seatbelt users among drivers, the statistics can always be better. It’s crucial to be aware of the state laws and know exactly how to avoid hefty fines or court appearances for seatbelt tickets.
If you aren’t familiar with the MD seatbelt law, we offer you our assistance in deciphering all the rules you should have in mind. Get all the answers you need regarding child passenger seatbelt regulations, citation costs, and the simplest appeal procedure that you can start by subscribing to DoNotPay!
To help you understand how seatbelt laws in Maryland work, we prepared a table with the most common questions and the best answers. Check out the details below:
|Who must wear a seatbelt in Maryland?||Driver and all passengers|
|Is a seatbelt law violation a primary or a secondary offense in Maryland?||When the passengers in the front seat aren’t buckled up, it’s a primary offense. If the backseat passengers are not wearing safety belts, they commit a secondary traffic violation|
|Is a seatbelt ticket considered a moving violation?||No|
|Do seatbelt citations affect your driving record or add points to it?||No|
|Will a seatbelt ticket in Maryland increase your car insurance rates?||No|
|What vehicles does this law cover?||
|What vehicles aren’t covered by the seatbelt law in Maryland?||Class L—historical vehicles|
Not everyone who operates approved motor vehicles in Maryland is required to have a safety belt on. Drivers and passengers exempt from the general Maryland seatbelt law are:
- Physically disabled persons
- Persons who have a specific medical condition that doesn’t allow them to buckle up—To prove their health issues, they must provide a certification stating the particular disorder and the reason why wearing a safety belt would affect their health negatively
- Contact carriers and the United States Postal Services (USPS) deliverers on duty
If you are a parent or tend to drive children, knowing everything about child seatbelt laws in Maryland is a must. Here’s what to have in mind:
- Passengers below the age of 16 must be in one of the approved child restraint devices or buckled up regardless of the sitting position
- Drivers must make sure that every passenger below the age of eight is properly secured in one of the federally approved child restraint systems, including:
- Infant seats
- Booster seats
- Forward-facing seats
- Convertible seats
- Children younger than 16 can’t ride in a pick-up truck cargo bed
- A single safety belt can’t be used for buckling up more than one child
- The law doesn’t prohibit children from riding in the front seat, but placing them in the back seat is recommended for increased safety. The only situation that forbids front seat rides is putting a child in a rear-facing restraint device next to an active airbag
Drivers or passengers who don’t buckle up can get a fine of $83. If both a driver and passengers fail to wear seatbelts, each person in the vehicle who violates the rule will get an $83 fine. Besides this expense, there may be extra fees if you exceed the citation payment deadline or don’t pay the ticket at all.
In some cases, Maryland laws allow you to get your seatbelt citation dismissed. You can do it if you:
- Have an acceptable reason for not possessing a child safety seat at the time of the offense—if you got a ticket for failing to buckle up a child
- Didn’t have a child safety seat at the time of the offense but managed to purchase it before the court hearing date—if you got a ticket for failing to buckle up a child
- Submit an appeal to the local ticket authorities by:
- Convincing them that you got a ticket by mistake—if you are positive that you were wearing a safety belt
- Stating a solid reason for violating the seatbelt law—if you are guilty but believe you have an acceptable explanation for committing the offense
Have you tried to draft an appeal letter yourself but ended up losing your nerves or relying on suspicious online templates? With DoNotPay, you can skip this inconvenience and get a personalized appeal letter before you know it.
All we need you to do is take a snapshot of your ticket and answer a few simple questions. Our solution is bureaucracy-free, and you can use our app from the comfort of your home!
To get the document you need in a snap, follow the prompts below:
- Create an account with DoNotPay and sign in
- Choose Seatbelt Ticket
- Tell us who got the ticket
- Choose the way you want to argue your case
- Upload a photo of your ticket and describe your case in as much detail as possible
Are you tired of returning items, canceling subscriptions, fighting parking tickets, and mailing letters? We can help you fast-track all these tasks and more! Do you need help reaching customer service, fighting workplace discrimination, submitting defamation demand letters, or filing HR complaints? Use DoNotPay and solve any issue without a hitch.
With us, you’ll be able to both earn and save money!
Thanks to our Burner Phone product, you’ll get a temporary phone number that you can submit when registering on different platforms and protect your privacy.
Another way to keep your privacy intact is using DoNotPay’s virtual credit card. Signing up for free trials without hidden charges and revealing your contact details has never been easier!