The Washington State Homeschool Parent Qualifying Course—Why You Need It and WhereTo Enroll
If you want to know what is required to homeschool your child in the Evergreen State, we’re here to help. Prepare for the journey with our overview of the Washington State homeschool parent qualifying course.
While Washington may not be one of the easiest states to homeschool your kids in, the regulations are mostly straightforward. If you sign up for DoNotPay, you can simplify the entire process. Our pocket lawyer will handle the tedious paperwork and ensure you get started with homeschooling as soon as possible!
When contemplating whether you should homeschool your kids, you need to familiarize yourself with state requirements. The homeschool laws in Washington state provide parents with the opportunity to teach independently once they’ve completed the following steps:
- Drafting and submitting a declaration of intent to homeschool to the competent authorities
- Getting the proper qualifications for homeschooling
- Composing a homeschool curriculum that includes the 11 mandatory subjects
- Fulfilling the mandatory 1,000 homeschooling hours (180 days) per year
- Creating a homeschool portfolio (create report cards, keep track of their immunization, and similar information)
- Having your child take annual assessments
Filing a declaration of intent is the only way to let the authorities know your child won’t be attending classes. You’ll have to resubmit the form to your district superintendent each year by September 15. If you fail to do so, you’ll have to enroll your child in a regular school program.
Completing a yearly learning assessment is another requirement for homeschooled students. A state-certified educator will determine your child’s progress in the following areas:
- Social studies
You can also arrange for your child to take standardized tests for their evaluation.
According to the Home-Based Instruction Law, parents must be officially qualified to take on homeschooling in Washington State. While you won’t need to obtain a teaching certificate, you’ll have to meet at least one of the following requirements:
- Having college-level credit—the minimum is 45 quarter units, which add up to 30 semesters
- Organizing sessions with a state-certified teacher for at least one hour per week
- Getting official approval from the school superintendent
- Completing a parent qualifying course for homeschooling
Unless you want someone else to homeschool your child, you need to get the proper qualifications. Most parents opt for completing a Washington State homeschool parent qualifying course since it’s fairly accessible.
You can enroll in any parent qualifying course for homeschooling as long as it abides by Washington state laws. Several private organizations specialize in preparing parents for the role of educator. The two most prominent state-supported homeschooling organizations in Washington are:
The Washington Homeschool Organization provides guidance for both religious and secular parents interested in homeschooling. Christian Heritage harbors a more Biblical approach, as the name might suggest. Both organizations offer qualification courses that are recognized by the WA state law.
Here’s a rundown of the pricing for their most popular PQ courses that are currently available:
|Parent Qualifying Course for Homeschooling||The Pricing|
|Washington Homeschool Organization—individual course||$90|
|Washington Homeschool Organization course for parents who live in the same household||$120|
|Christian Heritage Parent Qualifying Course||$95|
|Christian Heritage—The Homeschool Start-to-Finish Seminar||$45|
If you plan on being responsible for your child’s education, you’ll need a viable support system. Homeschool organizations are a great way to get information on how to homeschool your child.
Apart from taking a Washington State homeschool parent qualifying course, you can also:
- Connect with other parents and join a homeschool co-op
- Inquire about the process of taking your kids out of school (e.g., can you do it in the middle of the school year, etc.) and homeschool enrollment
- Get advice on how to design the perfect curriculum (e.g., what are the best materials for preschoolers, how to create a Christian homeschool curriculum, the best way to teach a child with dyslexia, etc.)
- Find out what the estimated cost of homeschooling is and whether your state offers financial assistance to single parents
- Participate in seminars, conferences, and other social events
We can’t complete the Washington State homeschool parent qualifying course in your stead, but we can help you get started. With our Notice of Intent to Homeschool feature, you can generate a letter of intent to homeschool within minutes. All you have to do is:
- Sign in to your DoNotPay account
- Access the Notice of Intent to Homeschool product
- Provide the necessary information about your school district
- Answer some general questions about yourself and your child
DoNotPay will then formulate a letter and immediately generate a PDF version you can notarize using our Notarize Any Document product. We can also forward the form to the district superintendent on your behalf, relieving you of the tedious yearly chore.
DoNotPay has many tricks up its sleeve—no matter the admin or legal issue at hand, our AI-enabled app can power through it in a split second. Look into our product range to find out how you can:
- Protect your original work from copyright infringement
- Compose a bulletproof financial aid appeal letter
- Get your college application fees waived
- Sue any company in small claims court
- Get in touch with a loved one in prison
- Look up sex offenders in your area
- Practice for any government test
- Fight workplace discrimination
- Draw up any legal document
- Mail anything hassle-free
If you want to cancel a subscription before your free trial expires so that you don’t get charged, you can count on our virtual credit card to do it in your stead! We can also make sure that you get what’s rightfully yours—be it a refund, insurance, warranty, unclaimed money, flight refund, raffle ticket, or gift card cash back.
You no longer have to go through legal or administrative hurdles on your own—as soon as you sign up for DoNotPay, you’ll get access to our app’s assistance and will be able to use it to fight injustice.