Alaska Homeschool Laws—Everything You Should Know
Once you decide to homeschool your child, you need to do your research and find out what the laws in your state mandate for teaching at home. Some parts of the country have strict requirements, while other states have pretty lax homeschool statutes.
What group do Alaska homeschool laws fall into? DoNotPay offers a detailed guide to homeschooling in the Last Frontier.
According to the Home School Legal Defense Association (HSLDA), Alaska has the least restrictive homeschooling legislation, making it a perfect place for parents to teach their children at home. Here is a brief overview of homeschooling requirements in Alaska:
- Number of homeschool hours—You should teach your child 180 days during the year, which boils down to four hours a day for grades 1–3 and five hours a day for grades 4–12
- Mandated subjects—There are no mandatory subjects for homeschoolers in Alaska
- Immunization requirements—There are none unless your child is a member of a religious private school
- Assessment requirements—Religious private schools are solely subject to assessment requirements
- Recordkeeping requirement—There are none, but it is recommended to maintain a student portfolio throughout the school year
In the Last Frontier, there are four options to legally homeschool your child, as presented in the table below:
|Under the homeschool statute||You can homeschool as long as you are the child’s parent or a legal guardian. You don’t need to:
|With a private tutor||Any Alaska-certified teacher can homeschool your child|
|With school board approval||If your child is “equally well-served by an educational experience approved by a school board”, they don’t need to attend a public school. To homeschool under this option, you will need to submit a written request to the principal of the school your child attends|
|As a religious private school||To homeschool under this option, you will need to:
In Alaska, the law requires children between 7 and 16 to attend school. The only exception is a child who is six years old and is already in the first grade at a public school. If this is the case, the child needs to continue going to school unless you take them out of school within 60 days of enrollment.
Alaska offers financial assistance to homeschooling families through the homeschool allotment fund. This aid should be used for purchasing school materials or reimbursing families who have already bought educational supplies.
If you want to start homeschooling in the middle of the year while your child is attending a private or public school, you should formally withdraw the child following the HSLDA recommendations.
If you want to begin teaching at home when the school year ends and your child is considered enrolled for the next year, you should withdraw your child before it starts. This way, the school won’t mark your child as absent.
You should keep copies of the withdrawal letter and other paperwork for personal records.
Sending a letter of intent to homeschool is not necessary in Alaska as it is in most states in the U.S. In case you ever need to deal with this mundane task, you can count on DoNotPay to create the legal document for you.
If you move from Alaska but decide to keep homeschooling your child, you’ll probably have to submit a notice of intent to homeschool to the superintendent of the school district. The good news is that you can delegate this administrative ordeal to DoNotPay! Our app will create the legal document in a matter of minutes. You only need to follow these instructions:
- Sign up for DoNotPay
- Select the Notice of Intent to Homeschool product
- Provide the information about your school district
- Give us some details about you and your child
Once you’ve answered the chatbot’s questions, you can choose to:
- Have your letter of intent notarized
- Download the PDF and send it to the school district yourself
- Have us send the letter in your stead
DoNotPay can also tell you:
- Everything about the homeschool curriculum
- How much it costs to homeschool your child
- If it is possible for someone else to homeschool your child
If you’re on a tight schedule and you can’t afford to spend hours running errands, DoNotPay steps in with a perfect solution! You can skip going to the post office to request an item return or visiting a notary public to get your documents notarized—Our app will help you get it all done without going anywhere!
Visiting your local Walmart to have your passport photo taken is unnecessary since DoNotPay can help you get it at home!
Consult the list below to see what other tasks you can complete using our app:
- Send letters to your incarcerated loved ones
- Request gift card cash back
- Contest parking tickets
- Sign up for various clinical trials
- File insurance and warranty claims
- Lower your property taxes
- Request refunds from airline companies
- Simplify mailing services
Companies tend to keep charging their clients monthly subscription fees automatically if they don’t end their subscriptions. Stop wasting money on forgotten memberships—DoNotPay will show you how to terminate your subscription in a few clicks!