Everything You Need To Know About the Louisiana Sex Offender Registry
Louisiana has more than 13,000 registered sex offenders. The number of unregistered ones is up for speculation. This article will focus on the registered sex offenders, the restrictions they face, and their classification.
Read our guide and learn how to use the Louisiana sex offender registry to locate the offenders in your neighborhood. Note that the official online registries can have a slow response, unintuitive page design, and server downtime.
All U.S. states, including Louisiana, have a list of registered sex offenders, which was made publicly available thanks to Megan’s Law. Louisiana sexual offender registration laws state that offenders have to register with the sheriff’s office in their county if they committed one of the following crimes:
- Kidnapping of children
- Child trafficking
- Rape and aggravated rape
- Sexual battery
Even juvenile sex offenders need to register if they:
- Are 14 years old or older, and they committed the following crimes:
- Aggravated kidnapping
- Other sexual misconduct to individuals younger than 13
- Pled guilty to or have been convicted of certain sex offenses or second-degree kidnapping
Sex offenders can get fined and face up to 20 years in prison with hard labor if they don’t follow the registration laws.
Not all sex crimes are the same, which is why sex offenders in Louisiana are categorized based on the severity of the offense and the risk of reoffending, as follows:
|Sex Offender Tier||Crime Committed||Registration Period|
|Tier 1 (low risk)||Non-aggravated sex crimes against adults||15 years|
|Tier 2 (moderate risk)||Sex crimes against minors||25 years|
|Tier 3 (high risk)||Aggravated sex offenses against adults and children||Lifetime registration|
Sex offenders in Louisiana face residential, occupational, travel, and other restrictions, as follows:
- Offenders are not allowed to:
- Use parts of the public libraries in Louisiana frequented by minors
- Visit the areas designated for children
- Get limo, taxi, or bus driving jobs
- Lousiana sex offenders must live within at least 1,000 feet of any area frequented by children
- Offenders can travel to other states and even leave the U.S. if they follow the registration rules of their destination state or country
Follow the instructions below to search the official Louisiana sex offender registry:
- Open the Louisiana State Police website
- Click on Begin Searching for Offenders
- Read the Conditions of Use
- Select I Agree and hit Submit
- Select your parish on the sex offenders map
- Tap on Click Here To Search for Offenders in Your Area
- Enter all the necessary details in the In Your Area tab
- Click on Search
Using this method, you will receive the info on sex offenders in the specified radius.
You can also use the City, Email, Name, Non-Compliant, and Phone Number search tabs by entering the respective information and pressing Search. While these search results are more specific, the area sweep is the best for keeping tabs on your neighborhood safety.
Searching Louisiana’s official sex offender registry on your own can be overly complicated and time-consuming. DoNotPay has a better alternative that will give you peace of mind and save a lot of time!
Sifting through the sex offender registry can be exhausting, and it’s unnecessarily difficult. DoNotPay has a better option for you! We can send you weekly updates or help you perform one-time searches on local sex offenders in a few clicks. Here’s what you need to do to start your search:
- Sign up for our service using any web browser
- Set the parameters for the search
- Select between the one-time check or the weekly check-in option
DoNotPay will perform an automatic and comprehensive scan of all sex offenders in your area or find a specific person you’re looking for. We will report the results back to you as soon as possible.
Louisiana has strict laws that keep sex offenders in line. The law prevents sex offenders from using all social media websites, chat rooms, peer-to-peer networks, and apps if they were convicted of:
- Video voyeurism
- Indecent behavior with juveniles
- Juvenile pornography collection, distribution, or production
- Electronic solicitation of minors
- Other sex offenses involving minors
Sex offenders can’t regain permission to use social media—Facebook, for example. The fines for disobeying this law go up to $20,000, and the corresponding potential jail sentences can be as long as 20 years.
Why bother with tedious legal tasks on your own when you can let DoNotPay cut your work in half? No more worrying about how to draft legal documents or sue a company in small claims court—we’ll guide you through it effortlessly!
There is no shortage of tasks our Al-powered app can help you with. Once you sign up, you’ll learn how to:
- Get your documents notarized online
- Compose a neighbor complaint letter
- Apply for violent crime victim compensation program
- Fight workplace discrimination
- File warranty and insurance claims
- Report stalking or harassment
- Take the perfect passport photo
- File an FOIA request
- Reduce property taxes
Is your phone buzzing incessantly, and you can’t take it any longer? Use DoNotPay to stop annoying robocalls and fight scammers with ease!
Having a company spam you with unwanted emails about their products isn’t uncommon, but that doesn’t mean you have to put up with it. DoNotPay helps you create a burner phone number, fight email spam, and stop spam text messages in a snap!