How To Delete Locked Facebook Account
Nearly one-third of the individuals who did have social media accounts in 2018 shut down their accounts in the past two years, according to Exposure Ninja. Of the platforms deleted, users most frequently choose to drop Facebook and Pinterest. People cited three reasons for doing so – information overload, online addiction or it wasted their time, and a lack of trust in the platform due to fake news. If you want to join the cord-cutters, DoNotPay can help you!
You can delete your Facebook account yourself efficiently if you have the username and password. If not, you'll need to either go through a recovery process using Facebook's support system or you'll need to work with their customer support staff to have them delete it. This can take weeks to months if you lack paperwork to prove the account belongs to you.
Using the DoNotPay solution provides you with an efficient, straightforward way to expedite the account deletion process. At DoNotPay, we created an automated process to relieve frustration and provide you with a succinct way to solve the problem. You can find a DoNotPay process for:
- canceling your subscription services,
- appealing your ban, if you're locked out,
- recovering your password if you forgot it.
What Happens When You Delete Your Facebook?
When you , you will not be able to reactivate it. You will lose all of the data associated with your profile - photos, posts, videos, etc. You also will not be able to use Facebook Messenger any longer or access accounts for which you use Facebook Login, such as Pinterest or Spotify. You'll need to set up a new way to log in to those sites before deleting Facebook.
If you use Facebook to log in to Oculus, you'll delete your Oculus information when you delete your Facebook account, including app purchases and achievements. You cannot return any apps and you'll lose your store credit. Finally, you'll need to appoint a manager for any Facebook Page that only you manage, otherwise, when you delete your Facebook, you will also delete your Page. You can download a copy of all of your Facebook data before you delete your account.
How to Delete Locked Facebook Account on Your Own
You need to log in to your Facebook. If you forgot your password or you think someone has hacked your account because your password is no longer what you set it to be, you need to first recover your account. If you can't log in, use the Facebook recover password feature to reset your password.
Once you have reset your password, you can log in to Facebook and proceed to delete your account.
- Log in to Facebook.
- Navigate to your main profile.
- Click "Account" in the top right corner of Facebook.
- Choose "Settings & Privacy."
- Choose "Settings."
- From the left column, choose "Your Facebook Information."
- Choose the link for "Deactivation and Deletion."
- Click the "Delete Account" option.
- You'll need to re-confirm your intent to delete by choosing "Continue to Account Deletion."
- Once again, you'll be presented with the option to "Delete Account." Click on "Delete Account" and when prompted, enter your password. Click "Continue."
You have deleted your Facebook! You have 30 days to change your mind. During that time, you can cancel your account deletion. If you do not log back in and click "Cancel Deletion," your account and all posts you made will be deleted. Facebook says it may take up to 90 days for it to completely delete all of your information from all of its servers, but during that time, it will not be available to other Facebook users.
If none of that is possible because you cannot recover your password, you can hire an attorney to draft a letter making a legal demand that Facebook removes your data. This requires a certified letter, and you should have the letter notarized first. Sending it via certified US Postal Mail ensures that you have legal documentation proving that you sent the letter. Hiring an attorney ensures it uses the appropriate legal language.
Can I Delete With:
Reasons to Delete My Blocked Facebook Account
Many people have chosen to leave Facebook and other social media out of concern for their own mental health or to limit time spent online so they can go enjoy a more active life. About one-quarter of those who have shut down their accounts said they did so due to social media addiction, according to Exposure Ninja.
You might also consider the risks to your data security. Old and inactive online accounts, especially social media accounts, put your data security and identity safety at risk. Because they aren't carefully monitored, an old account becomes more easily prone to data breaches. They're also at greater risk for identity theft. Deleting these accounts simply provides better protection for you and your personal information.
How DoNotPay Helps Delete Your Locked Facebook Account
Here's where DoNotPay can help.
We have years of experience handling customer service issues and helping resolve problems with online accounts is no exception. Through our Delete Old Accounts product, we'll ask you a few questions regarding your account and collect information to help verify your account ownership. Once your case is ready to go, we'll submit a demand letter to the service provider on your behalf, verifying your account ownership and requesting for your account to be deleted.
We'll also ask for all of your personal data associated with the account to be deleted under the rights granted to you by data privacy laws, including the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA 2018), Virginia Consumer Data Protection Act (VCDPA), and General Data Privacy Regulations (GDPR).
Some accounts DoNotPay can help you delete:
- Email accounts (Gmail, Yahoo, Outlook, AOL, etc.)
- Streaming services (Netflix, Hulu, HBO, etc.)
- Gaming services (League of Legends, Fortnite, Minecraft, etc.)
- Social media (Snapchat, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, etc.)
- eCommerce platforms (Amazon, eBay, Etsy, etc.)
- Other service platforms (Uber, Venmo, PayPal, E-harmony, etc.)
All you have to do is:
If you want to delete old accounts but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 7 easy steps:
- Go to Delete Old Accounts product on DoNotPay.
- Select the type of account you are trying to delete, such as email, streaming service, social media, gaming, eCommerce, and more.
- Tell us more about your account, including usernames and associated emails/phone numbers.
- Help us verify your account ownership by entering the date you first created the account, when you last logged in, any payment methods saved under the account, etc.
- Upload photographic evidence if you have any that can help prove your account ownership.
- Enter any last known or previously used passwords.
- Enter your contact information and submit the task!
And that's it! DoNotPay will submit a demand letter to the service provider on your behalf, verifying your account ownership and requesting that your account be deleted. We'll also ask for all of your personal data associated with the account to be deleted under the rights granted to you through data privacy regulations. You should hear back from them directly via email for more updates regarding your issue if they have any further questions or concerns.