How to Delete Your WordPress Account Easily
For close to two decades now, WordPress has ruled the world of websites and blog hosting. To put this into perspective, an estimated 35% of active websites on the internet have something to do with WordPress. Additionally, being free and open-source, WordPress controls upwards of 60% of the CMS (content management system) market.
Notwithstanding, "...what is popular is not always right" Albert Einstein. So, we understand you might come to a time when you no longer need WordPress. The obvious thing that comes to your mind is how to take down your information from the big brother. You don't want to leave your unmonitored data or old WordPress.com accounts on the internet. Right? With this guide, you'll learn how to ; even if you don't remember your login details, DoNotPay can still help.
Reasons You May Want to Delete a WordPress Account
Like everyone else has their reasons for deleting Facebook, Instagram, or a dating site account, every WordPress user has theirs for deleting a WordPress account. The top two reasons include:
- Data security: Anything on the net is susceptible to cyberattacks. Leaving your old WordPress site or account without taking it down risks your privacy and data, including identity theft.
- Migrating to another platform: You may have found WordPress alternatives like HubSpot, Joomla, or Drupal that have what you need in a website or blog, therefore, the need to change platforms.
What Happens if You Close Your WordPress User Account?
Are you sure you want to ? Perhaps, exploring some of the consequences (before we show you how to proceed with the deletion) can help you decide if it's the right course.
Note: Deleting a WordPress site is not the same as closing/deleting a WordPress account. Deleting a site means only the target WordPress site data is affected, while the latter means that everything associated with your WordPress account is purged.
Here is the aftermath of closing a WordPress.com account.
- All WordPress affiliate accounts associated with your account are also deleted. This includes WooCommerce assets, a Gravatar account, and Akismet account, and any other account dependent on WordPress infrastructure.
- Your WordPress username is blocklisted from any future use, including by you.
- All WordPress account data (posts, pages, media, user & authors, domains, purchased upgrades, etc.) is permanently eliminated from the WordPress servers.
Deleting WordPress Account on Your Own
As a prerequisite, you'll need to remember your WordPress access credentials to be able to close the account via their website. Additionally, you'll need to cancel any WordPress plan or purchase before proceeding with the deletion. If you need to recover your WordPress password, DoNotPay is here for you.
Below is a step-by-step procedure for deleting your WordPress account:
- Use your WordPress email/username and password to log in at WordPress.com
- Click on your profile picture or avatar to reveal the options pane
- Select "Account Settings" from the options menu
- Scroll appropriately and click the "Close your account permanently" button
- Review the page showing what you're about to lose and, when sure, click "Close account"
After this, everything associated with your account is taken down. If you intend to delete a single site instead of the entire account, you can follow the steps on this WordPress support page.
|Can I Delete With||Yes / No|
Can I Recover a WordPress Account After Deleting It?
If you erroneously close your WordPress account or, for any other reason, you want to recover it after deleting it, luckily, the platform gives a 30-day window. Within those 30 days, you can contact WordPress support and request that your WordPress account be recovered. Remember that you cannot reuse the email during these 30 days to create a new WordPress account, as it is still held on the servers to enable recovery if need be. After this grace period, there is no other way to recover your data, as WordPress will permanently erase your account data and sites from its servers.
Can’t Log in on WordPress? Delete Using DoNotPay
Unfortunately, it isn't easy to remember your old WordPress sign-in information, considering that an average person has more than a dozen passwords to keep track of. If your WordPress account is inaccessible or you're somewhat unable to delete it by yourself, DoNotPay can swiftly do that for you.
How to delete old accounts using DoNotPay:
If you want to delete old accounts but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 7 easy steps:
- Go to Delete Old Accounts product on DoNotPay.
- Select the type of account you are trying to delete, such as email, streaming service, social media, gaming, eCommerce, and more.
- Tell us more about your account, including usernames and associated emails/phone numbers.
- Help us verify your account ownership by entering the date you first created the account, when you last logged in, any payment methods saved under the account, etc.
- Upload photographic evidence if you have any that can help prove your account ownership.
- Enter any last known or previously used passwords.
- Enter your contact information and submit the task!
And that's it! DoNotPay will submit a demand letter to the service provider on your behalf, verifying your account ownership and requesting for your account to be deleted. We'll also ask for all of your data associated with the account to be deleted under the rights granted to you through data privacy regulations. You should hear back from them directly via email for more updates regarding your issue if they have any further questions or concerns.
DoNotPay Can Help You Delete Any Online Account
It's easy just to pretend that your old online accounts will just close by themselves, probably after a long period. But the fact is that as long as you haven't taken a step to remove your data and accounts from the internet, nothing changes. Unfortunately, companies may make this more complicated than it should be, especially if you don't remember the login credentials of the account you want to take down. But DoNotPay got you covered no matter the service or platform in question, including:
- Deleting email accounts (Gmail, Yahoo, AOL, and others)
- Closing P2P payment methods like PayPal or Venmo
- And many others like Amazon, Uber, etc.
Need more? You can leverage other DoNotPay services, such as getting back your banned accounts, canceling subscription/services, risk-free free trials, and much more by