Stay Up to Date in the Lone Star State - Renew Your Texas Registration with DoNotPay
Standing in line at the DMV probably isn't how you want to spend your time, but sometimes it can't be avoided. Vehicle registration protects both you and your car, so it's important to keep it current in case of theft or damage to prevent unnecessary delays or misunderstandings. If you need to but don't want to spend the day at the DMV, DoNotPay can help.
How to Renew Your Registration in Texas
If your vehicle is registered in Texas, you have three options for renewal:
- By mail
Renew in person
Registration can be renewed in person at your county tax office or by an approved subcontractor. You will need your vehicle identification number or your license plate number, a copy of your driver's license or another form of government-issued photo identification, a copy of your current vehicle insurance, and a copy of an inspection made within 90 days of your registration expiration. If you are renewing at a subcontractor location, you will also need your renewal notice or an inspection and registration notice. In-person registration is required if you have a citation for expired registration, a registration that expired more than nine months ago, or a hold on your registration for unpaid fees.
Renew by mail
You can renew your registration through the mail by sending the necessary documentation and payment to your county tax office. You will need your renewal notice, a copy of your inspection report, proof of current liability insurance, and payment. Check with your county tax office to see what payment methods are accepted. Keep the vehicle owner's section of your renewal notice for your records.
Vehicle registration can also be renewed online, with your license plate, VIN, and current vehicle inspection report required. Your inspection station should have updated your information. The DMV recommends waiting 24 hours after your inspection to renew online, with a $1 discount for online renewals.
If your online renewal is successful, you will be notified via email that your payment was received. If the renewal is approved, you will be notified via email within three business days. The email will include a receipt that you can use as temporary proof of registration while your sticker is in the mail if you are stopped by law enforcement. It may take up to two weeks for your sticker to arrive. Texas allows you to track your sticker while it's traveling to you.
Texas Vehicle Registration Fees
Texas charges flat fees for vehicle registration:
- Cars and light pickup trucks under 6,000 pounds: $50.75 base fee
- Vehicles between 6,000 and 10,000 pounds: $54 base fee
- Vehicles over 10,000 pounds: The base fee starts at $110
On top of the base fee, you will pay the state inspection fee and processing and handling. There is an additional $1 fee for the Insurance Verification Project. You may also be subject to a local fee from your county up to $31.50.
Renewing an Expired Registration
Vehicles registered in Texas may be driven five business days after the registration expires. After the grace period, there is a citation of up to $200. You can renew your registration online within waiting more than nine months. You will have to renew in person0 days before expiration or up to nine months after if you have not received a citation for expired registration. If you wait more than nine months, you will have to renew in person.
Renew Your Registration through DoNotPay
If you want to but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in five easy steps:
- Go to the Renew Car Registrations product on DoNotPay.
- Answer a few questions about your current vehicle, including the license plate number, vehicle identification number, make and model, etc.
- Verify your identity with a state driver's license and registration documents.
- Decide how long you want to extend the renewal for (if your state offers multiple options).
- Pay the registration fee (or let us automatically calculate it if you aren't sure).
DoNotPay can help you get your car registration renewed across all 50 states below:
|Alabama||Hawaii||Massachusetts||New Mexico||South Dakota|
|Florida||Maine||New Hampshire||Rhode Island||Wisconsin|
|Georgia||Maryland||New Jersey||South Carolina||Wyoming|
Cut Down on Errands with DoNotPay
Life is full of to-dos, but you don't have to be the one doing them. Let DoNotPay take some tasks off your hands, like:
- Requesting refunds
- Creating passport photos
- Applying for scholarships
- Calling customer service
- Returning unwanted items
And more. Try DoNotPay today so you can stress less.