Tackle Your Missouri Car Registration Renewal With the Help of DoNotPay
Vehicle owners in Missouri need to register their automobiles promptly after purchasing. Then, you need to continue renewing your vehicle each year to keep it up-to-date with the state. Your Missouri car registration renewal allows you to keep your vehicle on the road.
Luckily, Missouri is a state with several ways to pay. Regardless, you'll still have to spend time gathering your documents, discovering the fees, and getting them settled before the expiration date. Let DoNotPay help make the process go smoothly.
What Do I Need to Renew My Car Registration in Missouri?
You do not simply walk into the nearest license office and pay their fee on file. You need all of the following documents and information to get your renewal completed in Missouri:
- Your Vehicle Registration Renewal Notice
- Your Missouri safety inspection or emissions inspection certificate -- must have been completed within 60 days from the current date.
- Your paid personal property tax receipt or a statement of non-assessment from your county
- Your insurance identification card or proof of financial responsibility
- Your registration and processing fees
How Long Do You Have to Renew Your Registration After It Expires in Missouri?
You're still able to renew your vehicle after the expiration date. However, you'll have to pay a $5 penalty fee for doing so. Once the month is up, and your vehicle has still not been renewed, you may be heavily ticketed if you get pulled over.
Do You Have to Renew Your Car Registration Every Year in Missouri?
In many states, car registration renewal occurs annually. Each year, you have to head back into the license office or DMV and get your vehicle registered for the next 12 months. However, Missouri also offers two-year renewals. You'll pay more at once but won't have to worry about completing the process again for another 24 months.
How Much Is Car Registration Renewal in Missouri?
Each person pays a different amount for their vehicle registration in Missouri. The fees change based on the vehicle's horsepower, whether a car or truck, and depending on the vehicle's age. The one-year registration fees for typical passenger vehicles are as follows:
- $18.25 for under 12 HP
- $21.25 between 12 and 23 HP
- $24.25 between 24 and 35 HP
- $33.25 between 36 and 47 HP
- $39.25 between 48 and 59 HP
- $45.25 between 60 and 71 HP
- $51.25 for 72 HP and above
All vehicles also get charged a $6 processing fee--both the processing fee and the renewal fee double for a two-year renewal.
How Can I Pay My Missouri Car Registration Renewal Fees?
You have the option of paying your registration renewal fees in several ways. Pay in person, online, by phone, or by mail.
Renew Your Missouri Car Registration in Person
Head to any Missouri license offense and renew your vehicle registration in person. Most people go to the license office nearest to their home, but you're able to go to any location you feel comfortable with, no matter how far away in the state.
- Bring the Vehicle Registration Renewal Notice you received in the mail. If you did not receive a copy, print a copy of the form to fill out yourself.
- Have your property tax receipt from your county proving renewal for the previous one or two years.
- Bring your safety inspection or emissions certificate. Your renewal notice would have indicated if you need this completed or not.
- Show your insurance identification card.
- Pay the required fee.
Renew Your Missouri Car Registration Online
To pay your renewal online, you will still need all of the information indicated above. You may only be eligible to handle your transaction online if your Vehicle Registration Renewal Notice that came in the mail had a personal identification number listed on it. Use the plate renewal option on the Missouri Department of Revenue website. You can pay e-check for a 50 cent convenience fee or by debit or credit card for a $1.25 convenience fee.
Renew Your Missouri Car Registration By Phone
You also have the option of paying by phone. You can only use this option Monday through Friday, between 8 am and 4:30 pm. Call 573-751-1957 and follow the prompts.
Renew Your Missouri Car Registration By Mail
Send in your payment and necessary documents by mail. Your Vehicle Registration Renewal Notice lists all pertinent details regarding utilizing this payment method. Mail all the required components to Motor Vehicle Bureau - 301 West High Street, Room 370. Jefferson City, MO. 65101.
Renew Your Missouri Vehicle Registration With the Help of DoNotPay
You don't have to tackle this task alone. Let DoNotPay make the process easier and less stressful for you.
How to Renew Your Car Registration Using DoNotPay:
If you want to renew your car registration but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in five easy steps:
- Go to the Renew Car Registrations product on DoNotPay.
- Answer a few questions about your current vehicle, including the license plate number, vehicle identification number, make and model, etc.
- Verify your identity with a state driver's license and registration documents.
- Decide how long you want to extend the renewal for (if your state offers multiple options).
- Pay the registration fee (or let us automatically calculate it if you aren't sure).
DoNotPay can help you get your car registration renewed across all 50 states below:
Why Use DoNotPay for Your Missouri Car Registration Renewal?
Don't spend hours trying to get all the right information. Follow the prompts on DoNotPay 's renewal product page, and you'll have the steps completed quickly. You don't have to worry about waiting in line at the license office or being kept on hold on the phone.
DoNotPay makes the process easy and ensures a successful transaction. Your new registration will be sent to you promptly so you can rest assured your vehicle is known to the state of Missouri as yours and you're safe and protected.