How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Missoula

iEditorial Note: These blog posts represent the opinion of DoNotPay’s Writers, but each person’s situation and circumstances vary greatly. As a result, you should make sure to do your own independent research. Because everyone is unique, our self-help tools are never guaranteed to help with any specific situation. DoNotPay is not a law firm, is not licensed to practice law, and is not equivalent to the services of a licensed lawyer. DoNotPay provides a platform for legal information and self-help, and does not offer legal services. Third party news articles mentioned on our website do not necessarily reflect the views of the company, or the current services that we offer.

Missoula Vehicle Registration Renewals Couldn’t be Easier

In Montana, every motor vehicle must be registered with the state. If you've moved to from another city in Montana, you don't need to re-register your vehicles until the annual renewal is due. DoNotPay has the answers to your questions for vehicle registration renewal but is here to do it for you with just a few clicks of your mouse.

What Vehicles Must be Registered?

If you're wondering if your vehicle has to be registered, the answer is probably yes. It doesn't even have to have wheels to be considered a vehicle. Here's the list of vehicles that must be

  • Cars and trucks
  • Motorcycles and quadricycles
  • Travel and utility trailers
  • Motorboats, jet skis, and sailboats over 12 feet long
  • All-terrain vehicles
  • Snowmobiles

Pickup campers are the one exception, although they do need to be titled.

How Much Does it Cost to Register a Vehicle in Missoula?

The state of Montana regulates registration fees, but each county has the option of assessing a local use tax. In County, that's an additional 3% on top of the state fees.

Registration costs typically depend on the age and type of the vehicle. Here's a breakdown of what you can expect to pay.

  1. Light Vehicles

0 to 4 Years$217.50
5 to 10 Years$87
Over 11 Years$28

Owners of vehicles in this last category can opt to pay a one-time fee of $87.50 for a permanent registration.

  1. Large or Heavy Trucks, Buses, Commercial Trucks (More Than One Ton)

  • $22.75
  1. Motor Homes

0 to 2 Years$282.50
2 to 5 Years$224.50
5 to 8 Years$132.50
Over 8 Years$97.50

For the following vehicles, it's a flat use tax, regardless of the age of the vehicle.

Motorcycle highway use:

  • $53.25
  1. Boats

Less Than 16 Feet$65.50
16 to 19 Feet$125.50
19 Feet or Longer$295.50
  1. Snowmobiles

  • $60.50

How to Manually Renew Your Registration

Missoula County has recently implemented an online service for vehicle registration renewal, MVD Your Way. Before you go online to start the renewal process, make sure your vehicle qualifies. If any of the following applies to you, you'll still have to go in person.

  1. Online

Pay extra attention to the online process if:

  • You've moved
  • Your name has changed
  • You want a Permanent Registration
  • You qualify for an exemption (usually military or tribal) that is not reflected on your renewal notice
  • You want a new license plate
  • You need to adjust your vehicle's gross weight

If you qualify for an exemption or need to register your vehicle's weight, you may do that online once you've gotten the renewal notice.

  1. In-Person

If you need to make the changes to your registration that require you to go in person, here's the address and contact number.

Missoula County MVD 201 W. Broadway

(406) 258-4747

This office is at the County MVD, on the main floor of the County Courthouse Annex.

  1. A Bit of Renewal Housekeeping For Missoula

Here are some things to keep in mind if you're new to Missoula, or Montana. If you're a new resident, you have 60 days to register and title your vehicles.

When you move within the state, you have 10 days from your move to update your address with the Montana Driver Services Bureau (DSB). If you have a new vehicle, whether you bought it or it was a gift, there is no "grace period" to register it—you must do so immediately to drive on state roads or use the waterways.

If you have questions about a renewal, you can text "Missoula Clerk" to 406-285-7490.

Even Online, Renewal Can Still Be a Hassle

We appreciate that there are so many ways to handle a

But let's face it, renewing your vehicle is a hassle, no matter how convenient the state tries to make the process.

Why not let DoNotPay take care of it for you, rather than negotiating it yourself? DoNotPay uses AI, so nobody gets frustrated with the technology—our system is super smart—and patient—technology.

Here's How DoNotPay Makes it Easier:

  1. Go to the Renew Car Registrations product on DoNotPay.

  2. Answer a few questions about your current vehicle, including the license plate number, vehicle identification number, make and model, etc.

  3. Verify your identity with a state driver's license and registration documents.

  4. Decide how long you want to extend the renewal for (if your state offers multiple options)

  5. Pay the registration fee (or let us automatically calculate it if you aren't sure).

What if you leave Missoula? That’s okay. DoNotPay can help you get your car registration renewed across all 50 states below:

AlabamaHawaiiOhioNew MexicoSouth Dakota
IdahoAlaskaOklahomaNew YorkTennessee
IllinoisArizonaMinnesotaNorth CarolinaTexas
ArkansasIndianaMississippiNorth DakotaUtah
ConnecticutMontanaLouisianaOregonRhode Island
DelawareNebraskaNevadaPennsylvaniaSouth Carolina
WisconsinMaineNew HampshireWashingtonFlorida
WyomingMarylandNew JerseyWest VirginiaGeorgia

What Else Does DoNotPay Do?

Our AI Consumer Champions stay on top of the ever-evolving regulations and processes in government and business all over the US, so we can help out with small and large tasks all over the US. We can:

Why not let DoNoPay take over your busy work, so you can get back outdoors in gorgeous Missoula.

Want your issue solved now?