Everything You Need To Know About Colorado Car Registration Renewal

iEditorial Note: These blog posts represent the opinion of DoNotPay’s Writers, but each person’s situation and circumstances vary greatly. As a result, you should make sure to do your own independent research. Because everyone is unique, our self-help tools are never guaranteed to help with any specific situation. DoNotPay is not a law firm and is not licensed to practice law. DoNotPay provides a platform for legal information and self-help.

Handle Your Colorado Car Registration Renewal Faster With DoNotPay

Getting your vehicle registered and then renewed each year is just one of the many prices you'll pay to keep your car on the road. Add maintenance, gas, and insurance to the mix, and you'll quickly realize just how costly owning a vehicle can be -- not to mention time-consuming. Handle your faster each time by using DoNotPay to do it for you.

DoNotPay will help you navigate the steps and ensure your renewal papers are in your hand faster than ever. Of course, you're free to give it a try on your own. We'll discuss both options so you can make the choice best suited to your needs.

What Do I Need to Renew My Car Registration in Colorado?

Each state has different rules when it comes to vehicle registration. In Colorado, you'll need the following to get your car registration renewed :

  1. Your license plate number
  2. Your Vehicle Identification Number
  3. Your current vehicle emissions, if applicable
  4. Your Colorado insurance details
  5. Your debit or credit card for payment -- or you can use an e-check

How Much Is Car Registration Renewal in Colorado?

The Colorado Department of Revenue website offers a registration estimator. You can enter your vehicle's details and learn how much your registration fees will be. You'll need to enter:

  • The vehicle's type -- either bus, motorcycle, motorhome, passenger car, trailer, or truck
  • The vehicle class -- if you have a truck, for example, you'll need to indicate whether it's a light truck, special use truck, tractor, or just a truck
  • The vehicle's year
  • The fuel type -- either diesel, electric, gasoline, or hybrid
  • The vehicle's weight, in pounds
  • The manufacturer's suggested retail price -- enter your vehicle information with a site like Kelly Blue Book if you don't know the answer to this
  • The date of purchase
  • The last registration date

Your final fee is dependent upon all of these factors and more. Most passenger cars weighing less than 2,000 pounds cost $6 for basic registration, but there is much more involved. It costs an additional $12 if the car is less than 7 years old, $1.50 if they're part of the emissions program, 50 cents for the Motorist Insurance identification Fee, $10 if they use diesel, another $1.50 for the County Road and Bridges fee, and more for various other programs and factors that may apply.

Which Methods Can I Use for Colorado Registration Renewal?

You can apply for a renewal in person or online. The online option uses the state's DMV website. In person, you can go to the nearest Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles.

Renew Your Colorado Car Registration in Person

Start by making an appointment online to book your renewal time. This helps you get in and out much faster than if you were to simply walk into the facility and wait until a spot opens up. You'll hand the clerk the required documents and make your payment by cash or card.

Renew Your Colorado Car Registration Online

Find the Quick Start menu on the MyDMV site. Select "renew a vehicle registration." You're only able to use the online option if your vehicle's registration is set to expire within one month. You must have no hold currently on the title of the car.

All you have to do is follow the steps on the website, entering the correct information for each question they ask. Continue clicking "Next" to advance to the next page and follow the prompts. After you've entered your payment details, you'll receive transaction details that you may print or save for your records, and wait for your tabs to be sent to you.

How Long Do I Have to Renew My Registration After It Expires in Colorado?

You get a one-month grace period to get your vehicle renewed after the registration has expired. You'll pay a $25 late fee every month thereafter until $100 has been accrued. Essentially, your late fees will be:

  • $25 for being 2 months late
  • $50 for being 3 months late
  • $75 for being 4 months late
  • $100 for being 5 months late or more

Do I Have to Renew My Colorado Car Registration Annually?

Vehicles must be renewed annually in Colorado. There are a few circumstances that allow you to pay more upfront and go longer between vehicle registration renewal dates. For example, you can register special mobile machinery and utility trailers every five years.

Renew My Colorado Vehicle Registration With the Help of DoNotPay

Save yourself the hassle and use DoNotPay to get your handled. We'll walk you through our few simple steps quickly so you can get the task finished fast -- no waiting in line or struggling to come up with the right information.

How to Renew Your Car Registration Using DoNotPay:

If you want to renew your car registration but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 5 easy steps:

  1. Go to the Renew Car Registrations product on DoNotPay.
  2. Answer a few questions about your current vehicle, including the license plate number, vehicle identification number, make and model, etc.
  3. Verify your identity with a state driver's license and registration documents.
  4. Decide how long you want to extend the renewal for (if your state offers multiple options).
  5. Pay the registration fee (or let us automatically calculate it if you aren't sure).

DoNotPay Can Help You Get Your Car Registration Renewed Across all 50 States Below:

CAR REGISTRATION RENEWALHawaiiMassachusettsNew MexicoSouth Dakota
AlabamaIdahoMichiganNew YorkTennessee
AlaskaIllinoisMinnesotaNorth CarolinaTexas
ArizonaIndianaMississippiNorth DakotaUtah
DelawareLouisianaNevadaPennsylvaniaWest Virginia
FloridaMaineNew HampshireRhode IslandWisconsin
GeorgiaMarylandNew JerseySouth CarolinaWyoming

Want your issue solved now?