Easily Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Connecticut

Car Registration Renewal Easily Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Connecticut

Keep Your Connecticut Vehicle Registration Current With DoNotPay

Going to the DMV isn't the most convenient experience. It may be far from your home, the lines are long, and there are pages and pages of paperwork for a single transaction. Fortunately, some transactions can be done from your couch. If you're trying to renew your vehicle registration in Connecticut, DoNotPay can help.

Renewing Your Registration in Connecticut

Connecticut registrations cannot be renewed in person. The DMV is by appointment only, and appointments can only be made for new registrations. Residents have three options for renewing their vehicle registrations:

  • By phone
  • By mail
  • Online

Renew Over the Phone

Connecticut residents can renew their vehicle registration by calling (860) 263-5700. Visa, MasterCard, and Discover credit cards are accepted, as are debit cards with the Visa or MasterCard logo.

Renew by Mail

Your renewal notice will be sent to you 45 days before your current registration expires. Your renewal and payment should be sent to the Department of Motor Vehicles, PO Box 150456, Hartford, CT 06115-0456.

Renew Online

You will need the renewal PIN from your renewal notice to renew online. If you do not have a PIN, you can provide your name, driver's license number, and date of birth instead. You may have your registration renewal denied if you have any of the following compliance issues:

  1. Outstanding property tax
  2. Outstanding parking tickets
  3. A new emissions test required
  4. Insurance policy issues
  5. Suspended registration (unrelated to insurance)

You can renew your registration online up to 30 days after it expires. Any property tax or parking ticket issues must be resolved with your city or town, and emissions testing is handled at the testing center. All other issues go through the DMV.

Registration Fees

The base fee for passenger vehicle registration is $80 for two years. There are two additional charges added; the Clean Air Act fee is an extra $10, and the Passport to Parks fee is another $10 for the two-year period. Connecticut residents can park for free at state parks and beaches.

Connecticut requires vehicle emissions testing every two years for vehicles five years and older with a $20 testing fee. You have 30 days after your testing deadline to get your vehicle tested before being charged a $20 late fee. You will not be able to renew your registration until the fee is paid. If your vehicle fails, you have 60 days to get it repaired and retested.

Vehicles are required to have liability insurance while they are registered. If the DMV is notified that your insurance has lapsed, you will receive a letter. There is a $200 fine for suspended registrations due to a lack of insurance coverage.

Lost or Expired Registrations

If you lose your registration certificate, you can print a copy online for free. You can also get one in person or by mail for a $20 fee.

While you can renew online up to 30 days after expiration, you will be charged a $10 late fee if you renew your registration more than five days after it expires. If your registration is more than 30 days past expiration, you will have to renew in person. If your registration has been expired for two years or longer, you will have to complete the registration application again and get new license plates for your vehicle.

How to Renew Your Connecticut Registration With DoNotPay

Save yourself time and energy by skipping the line at the DMV and renewing your registration through DoNotPay. If you want to renew your car registration in Connecticut but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in five easy steps:

  1. Go to the Renew Car Registrations product on DoNotPay.

  2. Answer a few questions about your current vehicle, including the license plate number, vehicle identification number, make and model, etc.

  3. Verify your identity with a state driver's license and registration documents.

  4. Decide how long you want to extend the renewal for (if your state offers multiple options).

  5. Pay the registration fee (or let us automatically calculate it if you aren't sure).

DoNotPay can help you get your car registration renewed across all 50 states below:

AlabamaHawaiiMassachusettsNew MexicoSouth Dakota
AlaskaIdahoMichiganNew YorkTennessee
ArizonaIllinoisMinnesotaNorth CarolinaTexas
ArkansasIndianaMississippiNorth DakotaUtah
CaliforniaIowaMissouriOhioVermont
ColoradoKansasMontanaOklahomaVirginia
ConnecticutKentuckyNebraskaOregonWashington
DelawareLouisianaNevadaPennsylvaniaWest Virginia
FloridaMaineNew HampshireRhode IslandWisconsin
GeorgiaMarylandNew JerseySouth CarolinaWyoming

Free Up Time for Fun With DoNotPay

DoNotPay can help you clear your schedule of annoying errands and appointments. We offer services like:

And more. Try DoNotPay today for a simpler schedule.

Want your issue solved now?