How to Easily Renew the Registration of Your Car

Car Registration Renewal How to Easily Renew the Registration of Your Car

Don't Waste Daylight at the DMV - Renew Your Alaska Vehicle Registration with DoNotPay

There are only 24 hours in a day, and the worst way to spend them might be stuck in line at the DMV. If you want more time for the other things on your list, delegating work to someone else where you can is the best way to get it. As an Alaska resident, DoNotPay can help you renew your car registration without stepping foot outside your home.

Vehicle Registration Renewal Options in Alaska

Alaska residents have three ways to renew their car registration:

  • In-person
  • By mail
  • Online

Renew in Person

Registration renewals can be completed in person at a DMV office for a walk-in fee. The DMV also has many business partner locations located throughout the state.

Renew by Mail

If you do not have a DMV office or business partner near you, you can renew your registration by mail. Renewal materials should be sent to the State of Alaska, Division of Motor Vehicles, 3901 Old Seward Highway, Suite 101, Anchorage, AK 99503. The DMV warns that this is a six-week process, so be sure to mail your paperwork far enough ahead of your expiration. The following should be included:

  1. A Vehicle Transaction Application
  2. A copy of your last registration
  3. A self-addressed envelope so your new registration can be returned to you.

Checks and money orders are accepted.

Renew Online

The DMV will send you a postcard to remind you to renew your registration 60 days before it expires. If you waited to renew and your expiration date is less than six weeks away, renewing by mail may take too long. To renew online, you will need your registration renewal number from the postcard or your license plate and the last two digits of your vehicle identification number.

Registration Fees

Registrations are valid for two years. Your registration fee will vary depending on whether your vehicle is commercial or not, its model year, and your city of residence. Newer vehicles have higher taxes. Noncommercial passenger vehicles start at $100 for the base registration fee. Business partners will charge an additional service fee.

You must have a tab on your rear license plate for a valid registration by law. If you lose your registration certificate or your tab, you can request a new one for a fee. Duplicate registrations can be done online or by mail for $2. Replacement tabs must be requested by mail. You will be charged $5 for a new tab.

If your registration has been expired for under a year, you will be charged for the two years from the expiration date even if the car was not in use if it has been more than a year, your two years starting from the date of your new registration.

Special Registrations

Senior residents may request an exemption from registration taxes and fees on one vehicle. It must be a passenger vehicle titled in your name to be exempt. This exemption cannot be used in combination with any other exemption.

Residents of some towns may apply for permanent registration on noncommercial vehicles over eight years old. Permanent registration allows the owner to pay an additional one-time fee of $25 at the time of renewal for a special tab that exempts them from future renewal requirements. Permanent registrations cannot be transferred between owners of the vehicle.

Renew Your Alaska Registration With DoNotPay

Traveling to the DMV takes time, and that's only the beginning. Let DoNotPay save you a trip to the DMV. If you want to renew your Alaska car registration but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in five easy steps:

  1. Go to the Renew Car Registrations product on DoNotPay.

  2. Answer a few questions about your current vehicle, including the license plate number, vehicle identification number, make and model, etc.

  3. Verify your identity with a state driver's license and registration documents.

  4. Decide how long you want to extend the renewal for (if your state offers multiple options).

  5. Pay the registration fee (or let us automatically calculate it if you aren't sure).

DoNotPay can help you get your car registration renewed across all 50 states below:

AlabamaHawaiiMassachusettsNew MexicoSouth Dakota
AlaskaIdahoMichiganNew YorkTennessee
ArizonaIllinoisMinnesotaNorth CarolinaTexas
ArkansasIndianaMississippiNorth DakotaUtah
CaliforniaIowaMissouriOhioVermont
ColoradoKansasMontanaOklahomaVirginia
ConnecticutKentuckyNebraskaOregonWashington
DelawareLouisianaNevadaPennsylvaniaWest Virginia
FloridaMaineNew HampshireRhode IslandWisconsin
GeorgiaMarylandNew JerseySouth CarolinaWyoming

Let DoNotPay Help With All Your Errands

Save your time for things that are important to you. DoNotPay can take a number of tasks off your hands, including:

And more. Try DoNotPay today and see how much more you can get done with your day.

Want your issue solved now?