Lake County Vehicle Registration Renewal
Have you received a vehicle notice of renewal from the Lake County DMV? If so, then you know it's time to renew your registration to avoid getting fined or possibly having your vehicle towed for violating the law.
Vehicle registration renewal is a simple process that takes very few minutes to fill in the required information. However, as with dealing with public offices, things can be unpredictable. The due process may take longer than expected, causing your new registration certificate to delay. By the time the renewal documents are mailed to you, your current registration may be expired, causing more legal trouble. DoNotPay can help you within minutes. The best part is you won't even need to leave your house or make any calls. Find out how, below.
How Often Should I Renew My Vehicle Registration in Lake County?
falls under Florida laws—and according to Florida legal statutes, every vehicle driven in the state must be registered by the state's DMV, subject to renewal every year, on the first owner's birth date.
When you register a new vehicle in Florida, the renewal will be extended to your birthday in the subsequent year. Thereafter, should you sell the vehicle, the new owners are bound to renew their registration on your birthday, every year. Florida laws allow vehicle owners to renew their registration for up to two years, You may also renew your registration three months in advance to avoid the last-minute rush.
How Much Does A Lake County Vehicle Registration Renewal Cost?
The cost of renewing a vehicle registration in Lake County depends on the type of vehicle and the weight.
The table below shows a breakdown of the registration renewal fees in Lake County:
|Type of Vehicle and Weight||Vehicle Registration Renewal Fees|
|Cars up to 2,499 lbs||$14.50|
|Cars 2500-3499 lbs||$22.50|
|Trucks up to 1999 lbs||$14.50|
|Trucks 2000-3000 lbs||$22.50|
|Trucks 3001-5000 lbs||$32.50|
|Special purpose vehicle||$44.00|
|Heavy trucks||$60- $1322 depending on weight|
Failure to renew your license on time may subject you to penalty fees, depending on the total cost of your registration fees as listed below:
- $5.00 fine for registration worth $25
- $10- up to $50
- $15- up to $100
- $50- up to $400
- $100- up to $600
- $250- registrations above $600
How to Renew A Vehicle Registration in Lake County
You ca renew your Lake County vehicle registration online, using the state mobile application or in person at the DMV office. You can only get your registration certificate the same day if you renew your registration in person. For all other renewal methods, there's a 5-10 day wait period. However, you can use our receipt or email confirmation as proof of payment as you wait for your certificate and decals.
1. How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration Online
To renew your vehicle registration online, log in to MyDMV Portal, and fill out the following information:
- Vehicle owner's identity
- Vehicle information
Once your information is verified, you may proceed to make the payment via credit/debit card. Note that card transactions are subject to a $2.00 processing fee. Your registration will be processed and sent to you via mail within 7-10 business days. If you encounter hiccups during the renewal process, contact customer service support at 850-617-2000 for assistance.
2. How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration via Mobile App
To renew your vehicle registration via mobile app:
- Download the FLHSMV mobile app from iTunes or Google Play
- Provide the vehicle identification number(s) or license plate number
- Proof of insurance
Once your information is verified, you'll pay a processing fee of $4.00 for card payments and $3.75 for checking account payments. You can renew up to five vehicles through the application and pay the processing fee once. Payment options acceptable via the app are debit/credit card or checking account.
3. How to Renew Your License in Person
For in-person renewal, visit the motor vehicle service center nearest to you and provide an identification document and notice of renewal. Payment methods accepted at the office include cash, money order, or card payments. After your request is processed, you'll be issued a new registration certificate.
DoNotPay Can Help You Renew Your Lake County Vehicle Registration in Minutes
Going to the motor vehicle service center is awfully time-consuming, especially where there are other alternatives. Public websites are often unreliable due to personnel oversight and may cause a delay when you're trying to renew your vehicle registration. On the other hand, mobile applications suffer downtime which renders them unreliable as well. DoNotPay provides you with a fast, easy and reliable way to renew your registration, so you don't have to think about it in the next year or two.
With DoNotPay you can renew your car registration in the following 5 simple steps:
- Go to the Renew Car Registrations product on DoNotPay.
- Answer a few questions about your current vehicle, including the license plate number, vehicle identification number, make and model, etc.
- Verify your identity with a state driver's license and registration documents.
- Decide how long you want to extend the renewal for (if your state offers multiple options)
- Pay the registration fee (or let us automatically calculate it if you aren't sure).
DoNotPay can help you get your car registration renewed across all 50 states below:
|New Mexico||North Carolina||Ohio||Oregon||Rhode Island|
|New York||North Dakota||Oklahoma||Pennsylvania||South Carolina|
DoNotPay Helps Solve Legal and Administrative Challenges
Whether you're trying to , driver's license or any other license, DoNotPay is your go-to helper. With just a few button clicks, you can get any service you want—legal and administrative without making any phone calls.
Other licenses you can renew with DoNotPay include:
Never waste another minute queuing for services. Sign up with DoNotPay today!