How to Renew a Vehicle Registration in Johnson County
As a resident of Johnson County, it is your duty to renew your vehicle registration as soon as it expires. According to Kansas state law, failure to renew your vehicle registration or late renewal attracts fines and penalties. The Johnson County government allows you to renew your vehicle registration using different ways, including online or in person. However, the Johnson County motor vehicle registration process involves much paperwork and is often time-consuming.
DoNotPay simplifies the whole process to a simple, automated one, leaving no room for errors.
Sign up today and utilize the world's first robot lawyer to within minutes.
How Do I Renew My Car Registration in Johnson County
You need to pay the registration fees and personal property taxes to receive the current year's decal for You can renew your car registration in any of the following ways:
For online Johnson County auto registration renewal:
- Go to the Kansas government website
- Pay the registration fee by eCheck or by credit card
- Provide the PIN located on your vehicle registration renewal notice
- Save your confirmation number
- Wait for 5-7 days for your application to be processed and to receive your registration receipt and decal by mail
2. By Mail
To renew your vehicle registration by mail:
- Pay by money order, check, or cashier's check
- Attach a valid proof of insurance for each vehicle
- Mail your renewal stub, payment, and proof of insurance in the envelope provided with your renewal notice to:
Johnson County Motor Vehicle
P.O. Box 29192
Shawnee Mission, KS 66201
3. Using a Self-service Kiosk
Visit a self-service kiosk located at either the Mission or Olathe Motor Vehicle office on a business day between 7:30 am to 4:00 pm. Provide your license plate number and zip code or renewal notice to access your account. Pay through a credit card, cash, or check and wait for your receipt and decal.
The best ways to renew your vehicle registration in Johnson County are online, by mail, and by a self-service kiosk. However, if you cannot renew your vehicle registration through these ways, you have the chance to go through the process at the front counter in person.
The best time to go to the offices is in the middle of the week and during the middle of the month when customer volume is low. Start by securing a position in the waiting line through the get inline feature. You will receive a text message o notification summoning you to the Mission or Olathe Motor Vehicle Office as you near the front of the line.
Provide a valid proof of insurance for each vehicle and pay in any of the following ways:
- Credit card (Visa, MasterCard, or Discover)
- Check (with valid ID)
- Money order
- Cashier's check
How Much Does It Cost to Renew Your Car Registration?
The cost of renewing a vehicle's registration in Johnson depends on the type of vehicle. The table below shows the registration renewal fees in Johnson County depending on vehicle type:
|Vehicle type||Registration fee|
|Automobiles||Under 4500 lbs $30.00
Over 4500 lbs $40.00
|Regular trucks||$162.00 - $1145.00|
|Farm trucks||$57.00 - $745.00|
|Trailers||$35.00 - $55.00|
Note: The fees might vary within the same class of vehicles due to differences in total gross weight. There is a $30 service charge for each returned check.
What Do I Need to Renew My Car Registration in Johnson County?
The Kansas state law requires every motor vehicle owner to renew their vehicle registration every year with a license plate displaying the current year's decal. No vehicle can operate legally in Johnson County or the larger Kansas state without valid vehicle registration.
Each driver must also carry a valid insurance card from a Kansas agent as proof of insurance and a "Kansas no-fault liability insurance" on any vehicle except a motorized bicycle.
The insurance card must contain the following details:
- Name of insurer
- Name of the insured party
- Policy number, the effective date
- An expiration date greater than the current date
- Vehicle description
- Vehicle identification number (VIN)
Can DoNotPay Help Me Renew My Car Registration in Johnson County?
The process is time-consuming, especially when renewing in person, and everyone is rushing to beat their deadlines. The online process might be harbored by slow systems, confusing instructions, and bugs. DoNotPay saves you from frustration and simplifies the process for you.
How to renew your car registration using DoNotPay:
If you want to renew your car registration but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 5 easy steps:
- Go to the Renew Car Registrations product on DoNotPay.
- Answer a few questions about your current vehicle, including the license plate number, vehicle identification number, make and model, etc.
- Verify your identity with a state driver's license and registration documents.
- Decide how long you want to extend the renewal for (if your state offers multiple options)
- Pay the registration fee (or let us automatically calculate it if you aren't sure).
DoNotPay can help you get your car registration renewed across all 50 states below:
|New Mexico||North Carolina||Ohio||Oregon||Rhode Island|
|New York||North Dakota||Oklahoma||Pennsylvania||South Carolina|
Access a Wide Range of Services From DoNotPay
DoNotPay helps you with fast.
Here are additional services from DoNotPay:
- Appealing parking tickets
- Disputing seatbelt tickets
- Schedule DMV appointments
- Obtain tourist visas
- Creating standardized legal documents
- Filing insurance claims
- Apply for child travel consent forms
- Prep for government tests, including driver's license practice test
Sign up on our website today and save time with all your legal and administrative issues.