How to Easily Obtain a Birth Certificate Copy in Utah

iEditorial Note: These blog posts represent the opinion of DoNotPay’s Writers, but each person’s situation and circumstances vary greatly. As a result, you should make sure to do your own independent research. Because everyone is unique, our self-help tools are never guaranteed to help with any specific situation. DoNotPay is not a law firm, is not licensed to practice law, and is not equivalent to the services of a licensed lawyer. DoNotPay provides a platform for legal information and self-help, and does not offer legal services. Third party news articles mentioned on our website do not necessarily reflect the views of the company, or the current services that we offer.

How to Get a Utah Birth Certificate

Birth certificates are the foundation of your identity as a US citizen. So it's no surprise that getting a copy is a bit of a hassle, right? You need one for a driver's license, school registration, passport application—in other words, to live as a citizen in Utah and the USA.

Read on to learn how you can get a replacement copy.

Are There Different Types of Birth Certificates in Utah?

Each county health department and the state office in Salt Lake City have access to all the birth certificates registered in the state since 1905.

Many new parents don't know that the state of Utah does not give you a copy of your newborn's birth certificate. You'll have to request one.

Some states have different types of , but in Utah, all copies are certified and suitable for any purpose. The only difference is that a book copy has all the parent, hospital, and doctor detailed information on it and is usually reserved for genealogical research. You can use a book copy just like you would the standard printed certificate.

Birth Certificate Replacement Copy Costs in Utah

City/County/State OfficeContact Address and Phone NumberBirth Certificate Processing Fee
Utah Department Of HealthOffice Of Vital Records And Statistics

P.O. Box 141012 -- 288 N 1460 W

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1012

Phone: 866-632-2602

Fax: 866-760-1898

First copy: $22.00

Additional copies: $10.00

Salt Lake County Health DepartmentSouth Redwood Public Health Center

7971 South 1825 West,

West Jordan, UT 84088

Phone: 385-468-4230

Fax: 385-468-4248

First copy: $22.00

Additional copy: $10.00

Southwest Utah Public Health Department620 S. 400 E.

Suite 400

St. George, UT 84770

Phone: 435-986-2542

Fax: 435-628-6713

First copy: $22.00

Additional copies: $10.00

Utah County Health Department151 South University Ave

Suite 1100

Provo, UT 84601

Phone: 888-774-4463

Fax: 888-985-6478

First copy: $22.00

Additional copies: $10.00

Wasatch County Health Department55 South 500 East

Heber City, UT 84032

Phone: 435-657-3307

Fax: 435-654-2705

Birth Certificate

First copy: $22.00

Additional copies: $10.00

Birth Non-digitized

First copy: $35.00

Additional copies: $10.00

Weber-Morgan Health Department477 23rd St

Ogden, UT 54401

Phone: 801-399-7134

Fax: 801-399-7135

First copy: $22.00

Additional copies: $10.00

If you are researching genealogy, you will request the book copy since that search goes back as far as has kept records, while the standard copy only searches back to 1905.

Who Can Get a Copy?

You can certainly get a copy for yourself, a spouse, or a child, but Utah residents are also allowed to obtain copies for a sibling, grandparent, or grandchild.

guardians can apply with the proper court documents that are stamped or certified. representatives (attorney, genealogist, or other designated agent of the registrant) can request the document with an accompanying letter—on letterhead—defining your reason for the request. Be prepared to supply court documentation for the request.

How Long Does It Take?

If you take time off to go in person, you will get the copy that day. Otherwise, plan for 2-4 weeks, depending on whether you sent the request by mail or not. An online request will get processed before a letter. The state will send the request for processing the next business day after confirming the information is complete. They ask that you wait a couple of weeks before you call to check the status.

You can submit the request three ways.

  • In-person, at the county health department
  • By mail
  • By telephone or online

What Documents Does Utah Require for a Replacement Birth Certificate?

The state requires two forms of identification to process a request. One is primary, and two is secondary.

Almost any government-issued photo ID will do. These are the most common acceptable forms.

  • Driver's license
  • Military ID
  • Government work ID
  • Valid Passport
  • Tribal ID card
  • Pilot's license
  • Certificate of Citizenship

Secondary forms of ID--you need two of these.

  • Work Identification/Paycheck/W-2
  • School or college ID card
  • Government-issued registration card: voter, social security, motor vehicle, selective service, Medicare
  • Utility bill

You can click here for a complete list. It's also on the back of the application form.

How to Request a Copy

Download this application form from the Utah Department of Health and complete all the information. Here's what you need to know.

  1. Subject's full and formal name
  2. Both parents full and formal names, with correct spelling
  3. Date and hospital or other location
  4. Your relationship to the subject, with the appropriate confirmation documents
  5. Check, credit card number, or money order.

DoNotPay Makes Getting a Replacement Birth Certificate Hassle-Free

So this is not exactly rocket science, right? It is time-consuming, and if handwriting or typing isn't your strong suit, it also can be frustrating. If you're looking for a book copy for genealogy, it's critical that you dot i's and cross t's to ensure that everything matches up to an old handwritten document. So don't worry about when you'll have time to go to the health department or make sure your printer still works. Let DoNotPay take the information and submit the request, so it's smooth sailing for you.

Ready to get started?

    1. Go to the Birth Certificates product on DoNotPay.
    2. Select who the certificate is for (you or a loved one). If you are requesting a copy of someone else's certificate, enter their personal details, and upload evidence that proves your relationship.
    3. Enter the location you or your loved one was born in, so we can complete the form specific to your state.
    4. Enter the name(s) of the parent(s) as displayed on the certificate.
    5. Indicate what you will be using this certificate for, and choose whether you need an authorized or certified copy.
    6. Enter your contact information and shipping address. Upload copies of your government-issued identification, such as a driver's license.
    7. Choose whether you would like to electronically sign this form or not. Once we generate the form, verify that all of the information is correct. If you need the document to be notarized, schedule a notarization appointment using our Notary product. Otherwise, proceed to our Mail Checks product and let DoNotPay mail in your request form with a check on your behalf.

DoNotPay will fill out the form for you, attach the proper documentation (and let you know if something is missing or incorrect), and pay the fees on your behalf. You'll have peace of mind knowing that the paperwork is done correctly and the request almost immediately transmitted to the Department of Health in Salt Lake—there's no "I'll get to it tomorrow" at DoNotPay. There aren't any inconvenient business hours either. You can submit the request when you have the time.

Really, why would you even consider taking time from your busy life when you have DoNotPay on your side?

DoNotPay also offers help about:

Want your issue solved now?