Getting a Lake Superior Fishing License Now Made Simple

iEditorial Note: These blog posts represent the opinion of DoNotPay’s Writers, but each person’s situation and circumstances vary greatly. As a result, you should make sure to do your own independent research. Because everyone is unique, our self-help tools are never guaranteed to help with any specific situation. DoNotPay is not a law firm and is not licensed to practice law. DoNotPay provides a platform for legal information and self-help.

How to Get a Lake Superior Fishing License Online in Minutes

As the largest (by surface area) freshwater lake in the world, a Lake Superior fishing trip is every angler's dream. With more than 200 inlet rivers and 80 species of fish, it's not rocket science to see why many consider it special to try out their fishing skills in this lake. However, like with any other freshwater or saltwater body, you'll need a to legally go fishing in these amazing waters.

As part of The Great Lakes, Lake Superior extends across two countries (Canada and USA), which might make you think it's challenging to get a license to advance your angling adventure. In the US, the lake covers some parts of Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin. Luckily, the inter-state agreements on fishing licenses allow charters to cross waters belonging to another state without any issues, except for the bag limits regulations.

So have you decided to go, say, catch that Great Lakes Trout at Lake Superior and want a straightforward method to get the license? Let's learn how DoNotPay can make it easy for you while leaving you to concentrate on your upcoming fishing spree.

Who Is Eligible to Get a Lake Superior Fishing License?

Since the lake spreads across three states, this boils down to where you want to get the fishing license from. However, regardless of the state, you'll need a government-issued ID, state driver's license, or SSN documents proving your citizenship and state residency (to apply for a resident license). Here is the age limit, depending on the state:

  1. Minnesota: 16 to 90 years old require a license to fish. Under 16 and over 90 can fish without a license. Besides, other exceptions exist, e.g., MN residents in the military who are on leave, those in nursing/care homes, etc.
  2. Wisconsin: Anyone over the age of 16 needs a fishing license except if they were born before 1927 or residents are active military members on leave or home visits.
  3. Michigan: Resident or non-resident angler over 17 years requires a fishing license to fish in Lake Superior or any other allowable water body in Michigan. Again, MI residents in the military don't need a fishing license.

Other key things you should note concerning the Lake Superior fishing license are:

  • If you get a license from one state, you can fish from Lake Superior waters in the other two states using that same license. However, you must adhere to the size and bag limits applicable in the state you are in. Also, you should obtain special stamps for certain species if the state requires, for example, a Salmon stamp if you're in Michigan waters.
  • To be considered as a resident of a particular state, you must have lived continually in the state for the past six or more months.

Lake Superior Fishing License Costs

Again, this depends on which state you're applying for your from. Here, we'll break costs down according to the state and how much you need to pay depending on whether you're a resident, non-resident, family, your age, or a first-time buyer.

1. Michigan Fishing License Costs

1-day license applying to all categories$10
Annual license fee for MI residents$26
Annual license fee for non-residents$76
Senior residents$11

There is no lifetime license in Michigan.

2. MN Fishing License Costs

If you're a resident and want it short-term, you can choose $12 for a 24-hour license or a $14 3-day license. For annual licenses, MN inhabitants can choose between the following four license types in an individual or married capacity, respectively.

Regular$25 and $41 with regular Minnesota fishing limits
Conservation$17 and $27 but with only half of the bag limits
Sports$41 and $57 for combined fishing and hunting permit
Super sports$100 and $126 for hunting, fishing, and Trout stamp

Residents can also pay an individual cost of $71 for a 3-year license.

Non-residents in MN can choose between one of the following:

24-hour license$14
3-day license$36
1-week license$43
2-week license$54
Annual license$51
Family 1-year license$68

Other payments include $10 for a Trout stamp, $5 for a Walleye stamp, or $5 for a Sturgeon tag. Additionally, Minnesota offers lifetime fishing licenses to residents and non-residents, which can be as little as $90 for 0–3-year-old residents to as much as $1191 for non-residents within the 16–50-year-old age bracket.

3. Wisconsin Fishing License

You can expect to pay the below rates if you're obtaining your Lake Superior fishing license from the state of Wisconsin. The rates are for residents and non-residents respectively in each category:

Annual license$20 and $50
First-time$5 and $25.75
24-hour$8 and $10
Family license$31 and $65
2-day Great Lakes License (with Salmon/Trout stamp)$14 and $10
Sturgeon license$20 and $50-$65

Residents at 16, 17, or 65+ years can also purchase a license at a much lower cost of $7, while non-residents can also choose extended short-term licenses like a 4-day or 15-day fishing permit. Other fees are included depending on whether you want Salmon or Trout stamps.

Acquiring a Lake Superior Fishing License by Yourself

There are various methods to acquire the Lake Superior fishing license, depending on which of the three states you're applying from. The most common is in-person, where you can buy the permit from the official stores, including tackle shops or Walmart.

Also, there are online methods for each state, while others like MN also offer an option to order your license by phone (888-665-4236). Notwithstanding, a fishing license app by DNP can quickly get you a Lake Superior Fishing License from whatever area you're in, without the need to move a step from your home or wander from one website to another.

Obtain Lake Superior Fishing License Using DoNotPay in Minutes

If you want to get your fishing license but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 3 easy steps:

  1. Search "fishing license" on DoNotPay and select the state you would like a fishing license for.

  2. Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, saltwater vs. freshwater license, three-day only pass, and more.

  3. Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.

And that's it! DoNotPay will get the fishing license on your behalf, which will be valid immediately. Just download the file and print it as a temporary license, while a physical copy gets processed and sent to you by mail.

Do More With DoNotPay

And much more. Reach out to us if you need help with any life hustle.

Want your issue solved now?