DoNotPay Can Help You Get A Fishing License In Lake Powell
Lake Powell is home to many types of fish, including bass, walleye, and catfish. As a year-round fishing destination, Lake Powell offers excellent angling against a beautiful backdrop. Whether you've brought a boat or you're fishing along the shoreline, there's a great chance you'll be bringing home dinner. However, to legally fish on Lake Powell, you must first obtain a Utah fishing license.
It is illegal to fish in Utah without a fishing license. Fortunately, once you get your Utah fishing license, you can fish Lake Powell on either the Utah side or the Arizona side without needing licenses for both states. If you are discovered fishing without a license in Utah, it is considered a very serious class B misdemeanor. Don't be caught fishing without a license. DoNotPay can help you easily buy a fishing license in Utah so you can move forward with a fantastic Lake Powell fishing trip.
Who Is Eligible For A Fishing License In Lake Powell?
Everyone over age 12 must have a license to fish in Utah. To buy a fishing license you must have:
- Photo ID if over 16
- Social security number
- Method of payment
Children under the age of 12 can legally fish without a license in the entire state of Utah, and can even fish on their own without an adult present.
How Much Does A Fishing License Cost In Lake Powell?
There are many types of fishing licenses available in Utah. These include:
- Resident 1-year fishing (age 12–13) $5.00
- Resident 1-year fishing (age 14–17) $16.00
- Resident 1-year fishing (age 18–64) $34.00 - you can purchase multi-year licenses at $33 per year (up to five years)
- Resident 1-year fishing (age 65 and older) $25.00 - you can purchase multi-year licenses at $25 per year (up to five years)
- Resident disabled veteran 1-year fishing $12.00 - you can purchase multi-year licenses at $12 per year (up to five years)
- Resident 3-day fishing $16.00
- Resident 7-day fishing $20.00
- Resident setline fishing permit (valid only when used with a current fishing license) $20.00
- Nonresident 1-year fishing (age 12–13) $6.00
- Nonresident 1-year fishing (age 14–17) $29.00
- Nonresident 1-year fishing (age 18 and older) $85.00 - you can purchase multi-year licenses at $84 per year (up to five years)
- Nonresident 3-day fishing $28.00
- Nonresident 7-day fishing $46.00
- Nonresident setline fishing license (valid only when used with a current fishing license) $23.00
Any fishing license that you purchase is valid for exactly one to five years from the date of purchase, depending on whether you choose a multi-year option.
What Happens If I Fish Without A License In Lake Powell?
Fishing without a license in Utah is considered a class B misdemeanor. This type of offense is punishable by up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. While you probably won't receive this kind of punishment for your first offense, these violations can add up quickly.
Utah fishing license violations work much like driver's license violations. Every time you violate the fishing license law, points are added to your license. Enough points will eventually result in your license being revoked for up to three years. You never want to be caught fishing on Lake Powell without a fishing license. Let DoNotPay do the work of applying for a fishing license on your behalf, so you can focus on the fun side of fishing.
Where To Get A Fishing License In Utah
There are a few ways to get a fishing license in Utah. You can buy one:
|Online||The Utah Division Of Wildlife Resources website can walk you through the process of obtaining a fishing license online.|
|By Phone||Call 1-800-221-0659 to buy a fishing license over the phone. There is an additional $2 service fee added to the regular licensing fees if you use this service.|
|In Person||You can buy a fishing license in person at an outdoor retailer|
Remember, when you buy a fishing license online or over the phone, the license can take 10 or more days to get to you. If you don't have an outdoor store near you, it may be frustrating to have to drive to one just to be able to get your fishing license on the same day. DoNotPay is here to make the process much simpler. When you use our fishing license product to buy your fishing license, we will send you a confirmation page right away that you can print and use as a temporary permit until your physical copy gets mailed to you.
DoNotPay Can Help You Get A Fishing License
If you want to get your fishing license but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 3 easy steps:
- Search "fishing license" on DoNotPay and select the state you would like a fishing license for.
- Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, saltwater vs. freshwater license, three-day only pass, and more.
- Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.
What Else Can DoNotPay Do?
On top of simplifying the process of getting a fishing license, we offer many more services to make life easier for you. We can help you:
- Get a tourist visa
- Prepare for a government test
- File a neighbor complaint
- Create a passport photo
- And so much more!
Contact us today to get started!