The Simple Way to Get a Virginia Fishing License
Noted for its various lakes, rivers, streams and bordering the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia is a fishing destination for all anglers. From Smith Mountain Lake in central Virginia to backcountry trout-stocked streams to fishing in the Chesapeake Bay, Virginia offers fishing hotspots for catching all types of freshwater and saltwater fishes. Before heading to the Old Dominion state to try casting a line from the shores, piers, or while boating, you'll need to get a .
First-time fishers usually have many questions about Virginia fishing licenses, such as:
- Who is eligible for a Virginia fishing license?
- Where can you purchase a fishing license?
- Do you need a freshwater fishing license or a saltwater fishing license?
- Can you get a Virginia fishing license online?
- Does Virginia have a fishing license app?
Searching online to find these answers and learning how to get a Virginia fishing license on your own can be a time-consuming and daunting task. However, DoNotPay is here to help. DoNotPay makes getting a fishing license in Virginia fast and easy, without the need for you to conduct in-depth research into obtaining a license. Start experiencing the joy of fishing in Virginia's lakes, rivers, or tidal waters in no time with the help of DoNotPay.
Types of Virginia Fishing Licenses
With the option to fish in the state's numerous freshwater lakes and rivers or partake in inshore and offshore ocean fishing, you may need a Virginia freshwater and saltwater fishing license. As with any state, there are also resident and non-resident fishing licenses that vary in costs.
Virginia Resident Fishing License Types
Depending on the type, fishing licenses for Virginia residents who are 16 or older range from around $20 to over $100.
- Sportsman's License
- County/City Resident Freshwater Fishing License
- State Freshwater Yearly Fishing License
- Saltwater Yearly Fishing License
- Combo-Saltwater/Freshwater Yearly License
- 5-Day License for Freshwater, Saltwater, or Both
- 10-Day License for Freshwater, Saltwater, or Both
- Lifetime License
Virginia Fishing License Choices for Non-Residents
Virginia anglers who do not live in the state may pay as little as $10 to over $200 for a fishing license.
- Freshwater Yearly Fishing License
- Saltwater Yearly Fishing License
- Yearly Fresh/Saltwater Fishing License
- 1-Day Freshwater License
- 5-Day Freshwater or Fresh/Saltwater License
- 10-Day Saltwater Fishing License
- Tidal Boat Sport Fishing
- Lifetime License
In addition, Virginia fishing license-holders may also need special permits or pay additional fees for fishing in certain areas or specific species, including:
- Trout Fishing
- South Holston Reservoir Fishing License
What are the Different Types of Virginia Fishing Licenses and their Fees?
There are quite a few different types of licenses depending on your residency, license duration, and special licenses.
Non-residents can expect to pay slightly higher prices. Students who study full-time at any local colleges and universities within the state are considered residents.
|Annual Fishing License||$19||$37|
|Annual Sportsman Hunting/Fishing/Trapping for ages 18 through 64||$35||$35|
|Junior Sportsman Hunting/Fishing/Trapping for ages 15 through 17||$16||$16|
|Trout Fishing Stamp||$10||$16|
|Conservation Stamp (Required for all licensed anglers)||$5||$13|
|Conservation/Law Enforcement Stamp (Required for all licensed anglers)||$13||$13|
|One-Day Fishing License||$3||$3|
|Five-Day Fishing License||$8||N/A|
|National Forest Hunting/Trapping/Fishing (Required on National Forests)||$2||$2|
|Special Hunting/Fishing License For Persons With A Life-Threatening Condition||Free||Free|
An annual or a lifetime license may be your best option if you are an avid angler. Here are some of the popular lifetime packages available:
|Senior Lifetime Hunting & Fishing License||$25.00|
|Trout Fishing-Infant License (must be purchased before a child turns 2)||$115|
|Trout Fishing License||$230|
|Fishing License (stamp not required)||$552|
|Combination Hunting/Trapping/Fishing License (stamp not required||$805|
Fishing Without a Virginia Fishing License
When catching fish in the Commonwealth of Virginia and across the United States, you are legally required to have a fishing license. However, many states have exceptions to who is required to have a fishing license. In VA, you can fish license-free in these situations:
- Under 16-years-old
- Resident or nonresident landowners fishing within the boundaries of their land or inland waters
- Resident, active-duty members of the armed forces on official leave
- Legally blind persons
- When helping a disabled license holder
- Persons 65-years-old and above fishing in saltwater
- Stockholders (and family) owning 50 percent or more of the stock of any domestic corporation owning land in Virginia fishing within the corporation's land boundaries
- An Indian living on a reservation or a resident member of Virginia-recognized tribes fishing in freshwater
Get a Fishing License in Virginia on Your Own
Now that you understand the different types of fishing licenses and their fees, the next step is purchasing a Virginia fishing license. Whether you want to get a VA fishing license in person, over the phone, or online, here are the steps to get it done.
Purchase a Virginia Fishing License In Person
- Contact the local Circuit Court in Virginia county you'll be fishing in to see if you can purchase from the clerk's office or research online for nearby license agents, such as sporting goods stores or bait and tackle shops, where you can buy your license.
- Drive to the licensing location.
- Give the clerk or cashier your personal information and show your government-issued ID.
- Receive your fishing license.
Purchase a DWR Fishing License in Virginia Via the Phone
- Call (804) 367-1000 during regular business hours.
- Give the agent your personal information and government-issued ID number.
- Receive a confirmation number and wait for a hard license copy via the mail.
- Alternatively, you can download the GoOutdoorsVirginia mobile app to easily show your active Virginia fishing license when required.
Get a Virginia Fishing License Online Through Virginia DWR
- Navigate to the GoOutdoorsVirginia website.
- Create a unique customer account or log in if you have an account.
- Choose the license type needed from your options based on your preferences.
- Complete your fishing license purchase using a credit card.
- Print your Virginia fishing license online or use the mobile app to access your license.
For first-time anglers, any of the above methods for getting a Virginia fishing license can be complex and confusing. Therefore, contacting DoNotPay will ensure you get the correct fishing license for your needs within less time with less hassle.
Need Help Getting a Virginia License for Freshwater or Saltwater Fishing? DoNotPay Can Help!
Sure, you can take the time to create another online account, drive to a licensing agent, or wait on hold to get a Virginia fishing license on your own. However, the process can take a large part of your day when you could've spent that time fishing. You don't have to waste time researching how to get a fishing license and waiting in line. DoNotPay makes the process for getting a fishing license in Virginia fast and straightforward.
Use DoNotPay to get Your Virginia Fishing License Much Faster
If you want to get your fishing license but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 3 easy steps:
- Search "fishing license" on DoNotPay and select the state you would like a fishing license for.
- Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, saltwater vs. freshwater license, three-day only pass, and more.
- Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.
Contact us to get a freshwater or saltwater with a click of a button. Or, ask about how we can help simplify other tasks, such as paying bills online, getting airport lounge access, obtaining a building permit, and much more.