Purchase a RI Fishing License Fast

iEditorial Note: These blog posts represent the opinion of DoNotPay’s Writers, but each person’s situation and circumstances vary greatly. As a result, you should make sure to do your own independent research. Because everyone is unique, our self-help tools are never guaranteed to help with any specific situation. DoNotPay is not a law firm and is not licensed to practice law. DoNotPay provides a platform for legal information and self-help.

You Can Get Your RI Fishing License Fast With DoNotPay

Rhode Island is home to a number of amazing fishing spots. You can cast your line in Olney Pond, Watchaug Pond, Ninigret Pond, or Mount Hope Fishing Access. However, you'll need to get your first to do so legally. All states require both residents and non-residents to obtain fishing licenses before catching and keeping almost any aquatic species. This is done in an effort to ensure sustainable fishing and to protect endangered aquatic species. In RI, the cost of a fishing license is relatively nominal. Fishing licenses are issued by the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management and several authorized retailers. All proceeds from RI fishing license fees go towards local conservation efforts including environmental seminars, natural habitat preservation, and marine life proliferation.

Best of all, with DoNotPay, getting your Rhode Island fishing license is guaranteed to be both quick and easy.

Who Needs a Rhode Island Fishing License?

Before you head out with your tackle box in hand, it's important to know who's required to have an RI fishing license and who isn't. In the State of Rhode Island, all anglers over the age of 65 must have one. You'll also need to have a fishing license that's relevant to the type of water you'll be fishing in. If you like fishing in both freshwater ponds and from saltwater locations, you'll need to have both a freshwater fishing license and a saltwater fishing license.

Exemptions for Rhode Island Fishing Licenses

There are several exemptions for Rhode Island fishing licenses. These include:

  • Minors below the age of 15
  • RI residents and non-residents who've been declared legally blind
  • Landowners and their family members who are fishing on their own private land

Free, permanent RI fishing licenses are available for anyone who's permanently disabled and for any disabled veteran with a 100 percent disability rating. Finally, Rhode Island residents who are 65 years old or older can apply for a free permanent license as well.

What Are the Different Types of Rhode Island Fishing Licenses and How Much Do They Cost?

Both Rhode Island residents and non-residents can apply for freshwater fishing licenses and saltwater fishing licenses as needed. Freshwater fishing licenses are only applicable to freshwater fishing sites. RI saltwater fishing licenses are necessary for any fishing done off of the Rhode Island Coast.

When applying for your RI fishing license, you can choose a:

Annual Freshwater Fishing License$18 for residents, $35 for non-residents
3-Day Tourist Freshwater Fishing License (three consecutive days)$16
Combination Fishing and Hunting License$33
Annual Saltwater Fishing License$7 for residents, $10 for non-residents
7-Day Saltwater Fishing License$5

To catch and keep trout in Rhode Island, you'll also need to have a Trout Conservation Stamp. These stamps are available to both residents and non-residents for $5.50.

How to Get Your RI Fishing License on Your Own

There are several ways to get your RI fishing license. Rhode Island fishing licenses are available:

  1. Online via the official website of the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
  2. At multiple bait and tackle shops throughout the state
  3. The field offices of the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management

To apply for a Rhode Island fishing license, you'll need your government-issued ID. You can use your driver's license, state-issued ID card, green card, passport, or military identification. If you're a minor and are applying for a RI fishing license and don't yet have a driver's license or state-issued ID, you can use your parent or guardian's driver's license number at the time of application.

Next Steps if You're Having a Hard Time Getting Your RI Fishing License

Although Rhode Island fishing licenses aren't incredibly costly, getting them can sometimes be a real hassle. If you have a hard time navigating the application process on the website for the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management, you can always drive around in search of a nearby bait and tackle shop that's registered as an authorized retailer. Locating authorized retailers within a reasonable driving distance isn't always possible in some areas.

You also have the option of stopping by a field office of the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management to apply in person. However, keep in mind that office hours are limited and may conflict with an already hectic schedule. Getting a Rhode Island fishing license can be especially difficult for non-residents who have yet to enter the state. Luckily, you always have the option of using DoNotPay to get your RI fishing license instead.

Get Your Rhode Island Fishing License With DoNotPay

Don't let getting your RI fishing license cause you stress. After all, going fishing is supposed to be a peaceful, calming, and therapeutic activity.

How to get your fishing license using DoNotPay:

If you want to get your fishing license but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 3 easy steps:

  1. Search "fishing license" on DoNotPay and select the state you would like a fishing license for.

  2. Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, saltwater vs. freshwater license, three-day only pass, and more.

  3. Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.

And that's it! DoNotPay will get the fishing license on your behalf, which will be valid immediately. Just download the file and print it as a temporary license, while a physical copy gets processed and sent to you by mail.

Why Use DoNotPay to Get Your RI Fishing License?

Using DoNotPay is the fastest and easiest way to get your RI fishing license for both saltwater and freshwater fishing. You can even use DoNotPay to get your Trout Conservation Stamp or pay for a combination Rhode Island fishing and hunting license. With DoNotPay, you won't have to travel to an office of the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management, complete seemingly endless paperwork, or navigate complex websites. More importantly, you won't have to wait in line at the location of an authorized retailer.

DoNotPay Works Across All Companies and Entities

DoNotPay is designed to work across all companies and entities with just one click of a button. Thus, if you're planning a grand fishing excursion, you can apply for fishing licenses in every state that you'll be visiting. You can also use your DoNotPay subscription to take care of other trip-planning activities before you start out.

Find Out What Else DoNotPay Can Do for You

After you've gotten your Rhode Island fishing license, let DoNotPay help you take care of the countless other tasks on your to-do list. With DoNotPay you can:

and much more. You can even use DoNotPay to search for a helpful government test prep ahead of taking an important exam. DoNotPay is designed to make life easier and less stressful by streamlining and expediting complex, time-consuming tasks. If you're ready to catch a prize-winner in Rhode Island waters, sign up with DoNotPay today to get your fast.

Want your issue solved now?