Obtain Your Michigan Fishing License Fast With DoNotPay
Michigan is known for its Great Lakes. Lake Michigan itself spans more than 22,000 square miles. Add in Lake Superior, Huron, and Erie that surround the state, as well as all of the other smaller bodies of water within its lands, and you have far more fishing space than could ever be needed. Fishermen delight in Michigan's vast expanse of waterways.
Just because there's plenty of fishing space, doesn't mean you can head right out and catch whatever you want, though. You'll first need to purchase a that gives you the ability to legally catch the sea creatures you come across. Many rules and restrictions apply, making it helpful to work with DoNotPay so you can discover the answers you need for the best fishing experience -- sans fines and trouble from the DNR.
Are There Michigan Fishing License Age Requirements?
According to Michigan fishing license laws, anyone 17 years or older must have a license to fish. However, this DNR fishing license age requirement isn't the only part of the rule. Anyone younger than 17 may not need a license, but the accompanying adult with them does need to have one.
Even though children do not need a Michigan Department of Natural Resources fishing license, they are able to get one if they desire. Both resident and non-resident children can obtain a license to fish for just $2.
Where to Buy a Michigan Fishing License?
Michigan residents have the option of obtaining a basic fishing license from a local store. If you're wondering "where do I get a fishing license in Bay City, Michigan" for example, you can head to the hunting DNR counter at your local Meijer and pay for your license there.
Look at the retailer location map and you'll see it's completely COVERED in potential purchase spots. The entire state of Michigan offers ample opportunities and locations to obtain the licenses you need. There's no need to search for a "Michigan fishing license near me." They're everywhere!
Here are a few specific fishing license MI locations:
- Get a Detroit fishing license at Great Lakes Ace, Big Moe's Bait and Tackle, or Detroit Metro.
- Dick's Sporting Goods, Dunhams, and Village MotorSports offer a fishing license in Grand Rapids, MI.
- The fishing license Traverse City residents need can be obtained at Ace Hardware, Cherry Bend Grocery, and Gill-Roy's Hardware.
How to Get a Michigan Fishing License Online
If you're wondering where to purchase a Michigan fishing license online, look at the Michigan e license fishing and hunting website. You can obtain licenses, permits, and applications directly from the site, as well as check for drawing results for specific hunts.
You can create an account to make it easier to view your information in the future or enter your ID and birthdate for a one-time visit. Follow the prompts and make the selection for the type of license you want, and pay the accompanying fees by debit or credit card.
How Much Is a Fishing License in Michigan?
The cost of a Michigan fishing license varies greatly. Whether you're looking for a fishing license only, or need a Michigan hunt/fish combo license, determines your final price.
Non-Resident vs. Resident Fees
The Michigan fishing licenses non-residents receive cost more than a residential option. You have the ability to get a fishing license in your own state, so Michigan charges more for you to come to this state to fish in its waters.
As a Michigan resident, you'll be charged the following fee:
|Fishing license only||$26|
|Combination of Michigan hunting and fishing license||$76|
The Michigan senior fishing license fee applies to people aged 65 and older. It costs $43 for the combination option or $11 for fishing only. People who are blind can also buy a MI fishing license for $11.
As a non-resident of Michigan, you'll pay:
|Fishing license only||$76|
|Combination of Michigan hunting and fishing license||$266|
Michigan Lost Fishing License Fee
When you lose your fishing license, many people fear they'll have to pay for a new one. If you have an account set up online, you may be able to print a copy of the license you already had. Sometimes, a lesser fee may apply if you need to get an entirely new copy from the store.
Who Is Eligible for a Free Fishing License in Michigan?
A DNR Michigan fishing license doesn't have to cost you. Some people can obtain theirs for free if they meet the following requirements:
- You are a current, full-duty member of the military.
- You are a 100% disabled veteran.
- It's a free fishing weekend. Michigan offers two weekends each year -- typically in February and June -- where families can get a temporary fishing license in Michigan for free. It's good for those two days only.
How Long Is a Michigan DNR Fishing License Good For?
You need to buy a new license each year. It stays active from March 1st of the current year to March 31st of the following year. A Michigan lifetime fishing license can be purchased if you first buy a lifetime sportsperson license.
Get Your Michigan Hunting and Fishing License With DoNotPay
When you're trying to get a Michigan DNR Fishing License online, let DoNotPay help. The complicated process doesn't have to be handled on your own. Instead, use DoNotPay's license product and handle the task in a few easy steps:
- Search "fishing license" on DoNotPay and select the state you would like a fishing license for.
- Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, saltwater vs. freshwater license, three-day only pass, and more.
- Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.
What Else Can DoNotPay Do for Me?
Whether you're looking to buy a online, or need help paying a bill, DoNotPay can help you with a wide array of services. We also:
- Help you obtain a saltwater fishing license in applicable states
- Help you find recall information on a variety of products
- Help you cancel services
and so much more! DoNotPay is here to help you across all companies, in every state.