Purchasing a Lee County Fishing License Plus How DoNotPay Makes It Easier
Lee County is termed as the fishing haven for enthusiasts in Florida. With great fishing hotspots like Cape Coral, Fort Myers, and Boca Grande, there's never a shortage of recreational fishing all year round.
Like all other states, you will need a Lee County fishing license to do any fishing. Failure to have one can cause you a civil penalty. If caught fishing without a permit, you can be penalized a fee equal to the Lee County fishing license cost and an additional $50.
While having a fishing license in Lee County is mandatory, it can be a tedious application process. There's also a boatload of documents that you need to provide to qualify for the license.
That said, you can take the frustration out of the licensing process with DoNotPay. (We'll touch on this in a few.)
Who Is Eligible to Obtain a Fishing License?
Residents and non-residents are eligible for a fishing license in Lee County as long as they provide valid identification documents. Lee County offers fishing licenses to individuals as young as 8 years, although permits for youth below 16 years are optional.
The fishing licenses are mandatory for all people, except in a few cases, as mentioned below.
- If fishing from the land or a structure connected to land, and are eligible for food stamps.
- Non-commercial fishing with live or natural bait using lines not equipped with fishing-line retrieval mechanisms, excluding fish management areas.
- Both residents and non-residents below 16
- If you are over 65 years and a Florida resident
- During free fishing day promotions.
- Fishing from a fishing licensed charter boat or a charter vessel with a licensed operator.
NOTE: Even if you are merely helping with baiting hooks while someone else does the fishing, you still require a fishing license.
What Are the Different Types of Fishing Licenses in Lee County?
Lee County offers a variety of fishing licenses depending on the fishing location, age, and other special circumstances. Below are the main types you can purchase.
Saltwater and Freshwater License
Both residents and non-residents can get a freshwater and saltwater fishing license in Lee County.
Resident and Non-resident License
Residents can purchase licenses on an annual, 5 year, and lifetime basis. Non-residents can opt for the daily and yearly licenses.
You can purchase a freshwater and saltwater fishing license if you plan to fish in estuarine-type waters. There's also the option of a combined hunting and fishing license. Finally, there is a sportsmanship license that grants you a permit to participate in other recreational sports.
Fishing License Costs in Lee County
Just like in any other area, fishing license costs in Lee County may vary depending on whether you are a local or a tourist. Here are some known fees for your reference.
For residents aged 16-65 years
For non-resident visitors over the age of 12
Fishing charters pay as shown below, based on the number of captains.
- 4 or Less— $201.50
- 10 or Less— $401.50
- 11 or More— $801.50
Florida residents over 65 or those with temporary and permanent disabilities can get a fishing license at no cost. In addition, military personnel can purchase a $20 Gold Sportsmanship License, which covers saltwater and freshwater fishing. However, it excludes tarpon tags.
How to Purchase a Lee County Fishing License by Yourself
You can purchase a Lee County fishing license online from GoOutdoorsFlorida.com. You'll need to have at hand proof of residency, such as your driver's license number or an ID number. Here's how to do it.
- Go to MyFWC.com, scroll to Licenses & Permits, and click on Recreational License.
- Choose the online option and click on GoOutdoorsFlorida.com.
- Create your account and indicate whether you are a US Citizen or not.
- Follow Instructions to purchase a license of your choice.
One major drawback of applying online for your fishing license is the unnecessary packages the website tries to upsell you. They also have an app where you can purchase fishing licenses, but from the reviews, it's buggy, hard to navigate, and quite frustrating to use.
DoNotPay is designed to make the process straightforward and less time-consuming. We want you to look forward to your fishing experience and not be discouraged with a supposedly simple task such as getting a fishing license.
Next Steps for Purchasing a Lee County Fishing License if You Can't Do It Yourself
If the DIY method to getting a Fort Myers fishing license or anywhere else in Lee county doesn't work, here are other ways to try out.
- The County's tax collection offices, available in six locations
- By calling 888.486.8356
- Bait and Tackle shops, departmental stores, or marine stores
The downside of applying in these places is the number of documents required. They may ask for mandatory documents such as proof of Florida residency in the form of an ID or a driver's license. If the applicant is younger than 17, you can submit the parent's proof of residency.
Non-residents will be required to submit their date of birth, FWC customer number, or identification card. If you reside outside the US, you will be asked for your date of birth, FWC customer number, passport, visa, and driver's license.
Purchasing your licenses at these locations is inconvenient and limits your application to Monday-Friday from 8.30 am to 5.00 pm.
Get a Fishing License in Lee County Faster With DoNotPay
Your efficient robot lawyer DoNotPay can help you if you want to acquire your fishing license faster, with less the hassle and frustration of doing it yourself. With DoNotPay, you won't have to spend precious time sifting online for fishing licenses you don't need. You are also not limited to weekdays or certain hours to apply.
Using our app, you can purchase your license in no time and get to the things you enjoy best.
How to Get Your Fishing License Using DoNotPay:
If you want to get your fishing license but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 3 easy steps:
- Search "fishing license" on DoNotPay and select the Florida.
- Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, saltwater vs. freshwater license, three-day only pass, and more.
- Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by Lee County.
That’s it! No redundant filling out of forms, going back and forth between different institutions, nor wasting time going through outdated information online. DoNotPay is like having your own assistant but better because of our expertise and efficiency in almost any task at hand.
Why Use DoNotPay to Get Your Fishing License
There may be a number of ways for you to get a Lee County fishing license on your own. If you don’t have the time and resources to waste, however, you are one click away from getting quick results with DoNotPay.
We cut the dragging and unnecessary steps to make the process faster and time efficient for you. Simply select your state, provide an ID copy, pay, and bingo— a fishing license for you
DoNotPay is an optimized system that lets you focus on more important things. You can say goodbye to filling out tedious forms or carrying loads of documents to a bait and tackle shop.
DoNotPay Works Across All States
If you feel like going down to Michigan for a fishing expedition on your next vacation, we can help too. Or, if you prefer some ice fishing in Alaska over December, we've still got your back. DoNotPay is connected to companies on a national scope and we can help you get your fishing license no matter the state you travel to.
What Else Can DoNotPay Help You Do?
Do not pay is like your own personal assistant slash lawyer, only for a fraction of the price. You can also use the app to apply for tourist visas, deal with minor neighborhood problems, create passport photos, and so much more.
Download DoNotPay right now and watch how a single app can turn your life around for the better.