How to Get a Fishing License in Delaware

iEditorial Note: These blog posts represent the opinion of DoNotPay’s Writers, but each person’s situation and circumstances vary greatly. As a result, you should make sure to do your own independent research. Because everyone is unique, our self-help tools are never guaranteed to help with any specific situation. DoNotPay is not a law firm and is not licensed to practice law. DoNotPay provides a platform for legal information and self-help.

How to Get a Fishing License in Delaware

Fishing continues to gain in popularity as anglers of all ages and experience levels participate in the sport from our nation's shorelines, lakes, and riverbanks. The State of Delaware is a fishing enthusiast's dream, with a wide range of species, including chain pickerel and black crappie. Popular fishing hotspots include the Blackbird State Forest Fishing Pond, Delaware Bay at Woodland Beach, and Silver Lake City Park.

However, before you grab your pole and run to the nearest waterway, you must purchase a from the State of Delaware. These licenses ensure that fish populations are protected and conserved to avoid species depletion through overfishing.

This guide will detail the procedures available for obtaining your fishing license in Delaware and a more efficient alternative with DoNotPay's online solution to obtain your Delaware fishing license.

Who is required to have a fishing license in Delaware?

All anglers 16 to 64 years of age, both residents and non-residents of the state need a to fish, crab, or clam in tidal and non-tidal waters throughout the State of Delaware. The license is valid through December 31 of the year it is issued.

Additionally, a Delaware-issued Fisherman Information Network Number (FIN) is required each year before fishing. This number is automatically generated and issued upon purchase of the individual fishing license. Non-residents without an individual fishing license and those exempt must still obtain a FIN number before they are allowed to fish. This is also done through the state's online system.

Who is exempt from having a fishing license in Delaware?

There are several exemptions from the Delaware fishing license requirement. These are as follows:

  • Senior residents aged 65 years and older with proof of age and residency.
  • Children under the age of 16 years old.
  • Residents and non-residents who operate a surf fishing vehicle and have a valid permit (as long as the vehicle is located on a designated Delaware State Park beach). Other occupants are required to have a fishing license if they are fishing.
  • Residents that own or live on a farm in the state containing 20 or more acres. Owners and their immediate family may fish on the farm without a license.
  • Honorably discharged armed forces members with a certified 60% service-connected disability.
  • Patients in rehabilitation hospitals under the Department of Health and Social Services as well as any Delaware residents who are legally blind.
  • Any anglers who fish in a fee-fishing facility that is registered with the Department of Agriculture.

How much does a fishing license in Delaware cost?

Delaware fishing license fees are as follows:

Type of LicenseResidentsNon-residents
General fishing license$8.50$20
Seven-day tourist fishing license$12.50$12.50
Group license for a boat, 20 ft or less (covers the holder and all occupants in the boat)$40$40
Group license for a boat over 20 ft (covers the holder and all occupants in the boat)$50$50
Head boat license$300$600
Charter boat license$150$300
Fishing guide license$100$300

An additional stamp to the license is required if you fish for freshwater trout. These additional fees are as follows:

Young Angler Trout Stamp (12-15 years of age)$2.10 residents$6.20 non-residents.
Delaware Trout Stamp (16 to 64 years of age)$4.20 residents$6.20 non-residents

How to obtain a Delaware fishing license

For those age 16 and older, a valid government-issued ID or SSN is needed for the application process. Here are your options for purchasing a Delaware fishing license:

  • In-person at DNREC headquarters located at 89 Kings Highway in Dover.
  • In-person at any of over 40 licensing agents located throughout the state.
  • Online through the Division of Fish and Wildlife's website.
  • DoNotPay’s online solution

How to obtain a Delaware fishing license online through DNREC

The State of Delaware uses the DNREC online system for users to obtain licenses and permits. The procedure is as follows:

  1. Register for the DNREC account here.
  2. After verifying your account via email, log back into the DNREC system. You will be brought to the Licenses and Permits page.
  3. Click on Start Here.
  4. In the Choose Your Program drop-down menu, Select Division of Wildlife - Recreational Fishing and click Next.
  5. From the Select Your License/Permit Type drop-down menu, select the fishing license you need. Click Next.
  6. If not already done, enter your Social Security number and verify the date you need the license to be activated. Complete the remainder of the application, which requires information for your FIN registration.
  7. Click Next. Agree to the terms at the bottom of the page.
  8. Your requested fishing license is displayed. Click Add to Cart.
  9. Click Proceed to Checkout to pay. Fill in the payment information as requested and click Continue.

Note: You still need a FIN number if you are exempt from the fishing license requirements. Simply select this choice from the Select Your License/Permit Type drop-down menu and follow the prompts. There is no fee for this selection.

How to obtain a Delaware fishing license online the easy way with DoNotPay?

As you have seen, the DNREC site uses a tedious and time-consuming procedure to obtain a fishing license. However, DoNotPay streamlines the process for purchasing a Delaware fishing license into three easy steps:

  1. Search "fishing license" on DoNotPay and select the state you would like a fishing license for.

  2. Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, saltwater vs. freshwater license, three-day only pass, and more.

  3. Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.

All you have to do is download the file and print the temporary license while the physical copy is processed. The physical copy will be processed and mailed to you with the information you provided.

What else can DoNotPay do?

Helping you obtain a Delaware fishing license is just one of the many ways DoNotPay can save you time and money. Here are just some of the many tasks DoNotPay can assist you with:

With DoNotPay's innovative platform, we help you cut through bureaucratic red tape, find you money, and resolve many common administrative issues. Rather than trudging through pages of confusing information and application instructions, DoNotPay streamlines the process for quicker results.

Want your issue solved now?