Gone Fishin’: How to Get a Fishing License In Colorado with DoNotPay
Colorado is well-known for its excellent fishing. There are diverse subspecies of fish throughout Colorado, including multiple types of trout, salmon, and whitefish. Whether you are a fly fisherman or prefer to bait cast while taking a leisurely paddle across a lake, there is a fishing spot in Colorado for you. However, before you get out on the water, you will need to obtain a fishing license.
It is important to know that it is illegal to fish in Colorado without a fishing license. If you are caught fishing without a license, you are subject to hefty fines, especially if you have fish in your possession. DoNotPay is here to help you easily and quickly buy so you can get out there and legally enjoy a day of angling.
Who Is Eligible For a Fishing License In Colorado?
Anyone over the age of 16 is eligible for a fishing license in Colorado. To buy a fishing license you must provide the following:
- Photo ID
- Social security number
- Method of payment
Each child aged 16 and under may fish without a license as long as they are with someone who is licensed and has purchased a second-rod stamp with their license. The second-rod stamp permits one child per licensed adult.
How Much Does a Fishing License Cost In Colorado?
There are several different types of fishing licenses available in Colorado. The following is a price breakdown of a few of the license categories:
|Annual Habitat Stamp||$10.40||$10.40|
|Annual License (18+ years of age)||$36.08||$100.57|
|Small Game & Fishing Combination License (Must have proof of hunter education If born after 1948)||$51.68||N/A|
|Senior Annual License (65+ years of age)||$10.07||N/A|
|Senior Low Income Lifetime Fishing License(64+ years of age)||$9.85||N/A|
|Senior Annual Small Game & Fishing Combo (65+ years of age)||$30.50||N/A|
|Five-day Fishing License||N/A||$32.95|
|One-day Fishing License||$14.23||$17.35|
|Additional-day Fishing License||$6.95||$6.95|
|Second Rod Stamp (Available to licensed residents, licensed nonresidents, and children under 16 years of age)||$11.11||$11.11|
|Youth (16-17 years old)
Second-rod charge still applies.
|Annual Aquatic Nuisance Species (ANS) Stamp*||$25.00||$50.00|
*The cost of this stamp goes to Colorado wildlife conservation efforts and is included with every license purchase.
All annual fishing licenses expire on March 31 the year after they are purchased. For example, even if you buy a license on July 21, 2021, the license will still be set to expire on March 31, 2022.
Additionally, Colorado allows a couple of free fishing days per year where anyone can fish without a license. Those days always fall on the first full weekend of June.
What Happens If I Fish Without a License in Colorado?
Fishing without a is a serious offense. If you are caught fishing without a license, you will receive a fine of $50. If you happen to have fish in your possession when you are ticketed, you will also be fined $35 for the first fish and $10 for every additional fish you have caught.
Additionally, Colorado hunting and fishing licenses violations work similarly to driver's license violations. For every violation, you receive a certain number of points. If you accrue enough points, you could eventually lose your fishing license and not be able to buy another one for up to five years.
For these reasons, be sure to never go out fishing without having your license on hand. Rather than trying to navigate how to get a on your own, let DoNotPay do the work for you.
Where To Get a Fishing License In Colorado
There are a few ways to get a fishing license in Colorado:
- Buy a fishing license online. Colorado Parks and Wildlife allows you to purchase most types of game licenses through their website.
- Call 1-800-244-5613 and purchase a fishing license over the phone.
- Buy a fishing license in person at a Colorado Park and Wildlife office or an authorized sales agent. Sales agents can be found at many Cabela's, Murdoch's, and various other outdoor retailers throughout the state.
Keep in mind that if you buy a fishing license through an online portal or over the phone, the license can take 10 days or more to be mailed to you. It can also be a pain to have to make a special trip to an outdoor supplier just to obtain a fishing license, especially if you don't have one nearby. A simple online search also doesn't immediately reveal which stores have a fishing license sales agent working there.
Fortunately, there’s a better way. DoNotPay can make the process simple and easy for you. You just need to answer a few questions and we can take care of the rest on your behalf.
DoNotPay Can Help You Get a Fishing License In Colorado
If you want to get your fishing license but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in three easy steps:
- Search "fishing license" on DoNotPay and select the state you would like a fishing license for.
- Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, saltwater vs. freshwater license, three-day only pass, and more.
- Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.
That's all you need to get on your way to a peaceful day of fishing in Colorado. After we process your information, your license will be valid immediately. We will send you a file that you can print and use as a temporary license until your physical copy gets mailed to you.
What Else Can DoNotPay Do?
In addition to making it easier to get a Colorado fishing license, we provide many other services to help simplify your life. A few of the products we offer can help you:
- Get a tourist visa
- Prepare for a government test
- File a neighbor complaint
- Create a passport photo
- Get a saltwater fishing license
Plus many, many more. Use DoNotPay today and lose the stress of red-tape, official forms, and bureaucratic delays.