Choosing the Right Collier County Fishing License for Your Trip

Fishing Licenses Choosing the Right Collier County Fishing License for Your Trip

How to Get a Collier County Fishing License the Easiest Way

The love for fishing in Collier County's pristine waters goes way back –and the opening of the 90-acre public fishing lake off Oil Well Road in 2012 opened more doors for average joes to join the fishing crowd.

However, getting a Collier County fishing license determines whether you get to fish or how much fishing you get to do.

But with so much ground to feed your adrenaline –like Lake Trafford, New, Left Hand Turner, Barron, and Ferguson Rivers, and bays such as Gulliver and Rookery, you're better off getting a fishing license to avoid missing out on the fun or attracting penalties.

Here's everything you need to know about getting a Collier County fishing license.

Who Is Eligible to Get a Fishing License?

The governing law is that you need a valid fishing license to fish in Collier County's fresh and salty waters. Here's a breakdown of how fishing license eligibility applies in different cases:

Freshwater Fishing License Eligibility

You need a freshwater fishing license to fish in freshwater water bodies in Collier County. However, you don't need one if:

  • You are a senior citizen (aged 65 or older). The only thing you need is to prove that you're in that age bracket and a Florida resident by presenting your ID to Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
  • You're younger than 16 years.
  • You are a member of the US Armed Forces and are not stationed in Florida but you've come home for a 30-day or shorter leave.
  • You are a Collier County resident fishing for recreation with live or natural bait, using poles, or hand lines that are not equipped with line retrieval mechanisms like a reel or cane pole.
  • You're a Florida resident who is 100% disabled. You only need to provide the legally recognized disability statements which are signed by a physician to the Tax Collector's office.

Saltwater Fishing License Eligibility

Also, you need a saltwater fishing license if:

  1. You are fishing from a leisure craft, sandbar, or anywhere else that you can access by boat or swimming in water that is deeper than 3ft.
  2. You're a diver or intend to dive, fish, and keep any marine fish.
  3. You're a non-resident.
  4. You're operating a water vessel and have paid to fish and keep any fish for recreation.

You don't need a saltwater fishing license if:

  • You are under16 years of age.
  • You are a Florida resident –aged 65 or older. Like in the freshwater license case, you need to provide proof of residency and age to the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
  • You are a Florida resident and a member of the US Armed Forces, serving away from Florida but spending a 30-day or shorter leave at home. Present your orders to the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
  • You are fishing from a hired guide, charter, or party boat that has a valid vessel license.
  • You are 100% disabled –but you need to provide proof of certification by the U.S. Social Security Administration or the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs to the Tax Collector's office.
  • You are a non-resident fishing from a licensed pier.

You need a fishing permit along with a fishing license if you intend to catch snook or crawfish.

Fishing License Costs in Collier County

The cost of a Counter Collier fishing license depends on your resident or non-resident status. Below are the costs for reference:

ResidentNon-Resident
Short-Term LicenseFree$17.00 for 3 days

$30.00 for 7 days

Annual License$17.00$47.00
5-Year License$79.00Not Allowed

It may seem very limited but DoNotPay can make an inquiry on your behalf in any case that you are interested in other packages.

How to Get a Collier County Fishing License by Yourself

To get your fishing license online, go to GoOutdoorsFlorida.com. Here's the step-by-step process:

  1. Click on licenses and permits.
  2. Click on “recreation license” on the new page.
  3. Choose between buying online, in-person, or calling the toll-free number.
  4. Create an account if you've never purchased a license through the site or log in if you already have an account.
  5. Provide personal details, preferred payment method and get a new account
  6. Log in with your new credentials-this will pull up your profile.
  7. Click on purchase a license.
  8. Scroll down to the list of options and types of licenses available.
  9. Fill out the information for the license you want(You can choose the predetermined combos or scroll down to the type of license that suits you ) and add to cart.
  10. Read the recommended add-ons and provide the necessary info if you plan to fish from a boat.
  11. Check out and print your card or scroll down to the specialty section to order a hard plastic card.
  12. If you choose the card option, provide shipping and billing info then check out.

Optional Ways to Get a Collier County Fishing License

If you can't get one online, you can walk or drive to fishing license kiosks to buy one. Ideally, you need to provide several documents.

First, you should present valid identification documents such as a driving license, state ID, SSN, and date of birth. These provisions are required for each person you need to take with you except children under 16.

You also need to answer additional questions. For example, what type of fishing you want to do and where you'll fish, to ensure you keep up with the regulations. These may include retrieval mechanisms or catch-and-release provisions.

These requirements make looking for a fishing license tasking especially when you're short on time and frustrating in case you hadn't thought about where or how you want to fish.

How to Get Your Collier County Fishing License on DoNotPay

If you want to get your fishing license but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 3 easy steps: DoNotPay app:

  1. Search "fishing license" on DoNotPay and select the state you would like a fishing license for.

     

  2. Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, saltwater vs. freshwater license, three-day only pass, and more.

     

  3. Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.

     

DoNotPay Works Everywhere With the Click of Your Mouse

Isn't convenience and connectivity what the internet age is all about? That's what the DoNotPay app promises and because of it, we work with different companies to get you all kinds of results including:

  1. Getting college fee waivers
  2. Getting chargebacks and refunds
  3. Connecting with an inmate
  4. Disputing seatbelt tickets
  5. Giving notice of the intent to homeschool

What Else Can DoNotPay Do?

We're also up to the task when it comes to the following issues:

Don't miss out on the opportunity to make your life easier. Sign-up with DoNotPay today!

Want your issue solved now?