Steps to Obtain Your Arkansas Fishing License
Arkansas is home to dozens of fishing spots. From the Norfork, Greers Ferry, Ouachita rivers, Bull Shoals to the little Missouri River in western Arkansas, among many more sites.
Now, getting an as a fishing enthusiast is the most important thing. Because without it, you can't legally fish in the state. And if you do, you'll risk being fined $15 to $12,000.
Securing an on your own can be a bit hectic, especially if it's your first time, as you don't know the exact requirements nor the process to follow. But, with the help of this article, you can learn how to get your Arkansas fishing license quickly and conveniently at the comfort of your home or office with the help of DoNotPay in just three steps, as outlined near the end of this blog post.
What Are the Different Types of Fishing Licenses in Arkansas?
There are several different types of fishing licenses in this state. The most common include:
- Resident Fisheries Conservation License (FSH)
- Resident 3-Day Trip Fishing License (RT3)
- Resident Trout Permit (TPR)
- Resident 3-Year Disability Combination License (RDC)
- Non-resident Trout Permit (TPN)
- Non-resident 3-Day Trip Fishing License (NT3)
- Non-resident 7-Day Trip Fishing License (NT7)
- Non-resident Annual Fishing License (NRF)
- Resident Fishing Guide License (GLF) and Nonresident Fishing Guide License (GNF)
There are lifetime fishing licenses for those who qualify for them in Arkansas. For example, there's a plus lifetime fishing license for 65-year-olds and above. This type of license allows them to fish for a lifetime in certain waters. There's also a non-expiring lifetime resident fishing license for people of any age, which goes for $1000.
Who Is Eligible for a Resident Fishing License in Arkansas?
Anyone over the age of 16 can get a fishing license, but if you are not a resident of the state, you’ll have to apply for a non-resident license which will be more expensive. There are several eligibility requirements to be considered a resident in Arkansas. These requirements include;
- Reside within the State of Arkansas. You need to have resided in Arkansas for at least 60 days to be considered a resident of this state.
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Students who may be non-residents of Arkansas but study around the state are also eligible for a fishing license in Arkansas.
- Military personnel who have been assigned to work on an annual basis or on a trip in Arkansas can fish with the resident privileges.
- Also, active-duty servicemen and women that were Arkansas residents at the time of entering service are given annual or trip resident privileges for fishing, regardless of where they are stationed.
Fishing License Costs in Arkansas
The cost of an Arkansas fishing license depends on your residency status, age, what type you get, and the duration. To give you an idea, here are some typical fishing license costs in Arkansas:
|Resident Fisheries Conservation License||$10.50|
|Non-resident Annual Fishing License||$50.00|
|Resident Trout Permit||$10.00|
|Non-resident Trout Permit||$20.00|
|Resident Fishing Guide License||$25.00|
|Non-resident Fishing Guide License||$150.00|
|Resident 3-Day Trip Fishing License||$6.50|
|Resident 3-Year Disability License||$10.50|
|Non-resident 3-Day Trip Fishing License||$16.50|
|Non-resident 7-Day Trip Fishing License||$25.00|
|Non-resident Annual Fishing License||$50.00|
|65-plus Lifetime Fishing License||$10.50|
|65-Plus Lifetime combination Fishing License||$35.50|
|Non-expiring Lifetime Resident Hunting and Fishing Sportsman's Permit||$1,000.00|
|Resident 3-Year Disability Fishing License||$10.50|
|Mobility-Impaired Access Permit||Free|
It is important to note that anyone fishing for trout will need to purchase a Trout Permit in addition to most licenses to retain trout or to fish in certain waters.
Totally and permanently disabled individuals can apply for the Resident 3-Year Disability Fishing License. It allows the resident to fish the state's waters with sport fishing tackle.
Anyone who is considered mobility impaired (i.e., cannot walk without the permanent use of a brace, cane, crutch, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or walker) is entitled to a free Arkansas fishing license.
How To Get an Arkansas Fishing License by Yourself
There are a few ways to get a fishing license in Arkansas on your own:
- Online through the AGFC Online Licensing System
- In-person with a state fishing license agent such as a tackle shop or outdoor sporting goods store
- In-person in most hunting and fishing supplies stores and some discount chains
- Visiting or calling one of the eleven Arkansas Game & Fish Commission Regional offices across the state
Next Steps if You Want to Avoid the Hassle of Getting an Arkansas Fishing License on Your Own
Getting a fishing license in Arkansas can be confusing and complicated. It's not something you should do alone if you’re not a seasoned angler or if you simply have better things to do with your time. We suggest using DoNotPays online app to make the process much easier and faster than any of the above methods. We’ll guide you through all of your options, including what type of license suits you best or how to purchase an annual or lifetime fishing license for yourself or someone else online.
The Easier Way To Get Your Arkansas Fishing License Using DoNotPay
If you want to get your fishing license but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 3 easy steps: You don't even have to visit a fish store. Just follow the steps below at the comfort of your home.
- Search "fishing license" on DoNotPay and select Arkansas as the state you would like a fishing license for.
- Choose if you are a resident or non-resident, and then select the type of license you want. For example, non-residential annual license, three-day only pass, and more.
- Indicate your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the Aranksas.
Wasn’t that easy? DoNotPay will get your Arkansas fishing license on your behalf, which will be valid immediately. Just download the file and print it as a temporary license, while a physical copy gets processed and sent to you by mail.
What Else Can DoNotPay Do for You?
- Find unclaimed money
- Help with bills
- Notarize documents
- Reduce property taxes
- Sue anyone in small claims court
- Help you get a tourist visa
- Make a warranty claim
And much more! DoNotPay is here to help you every step of the way - 24/7/365. .