Get Your WV Hunting License The Easy Way
Obtaining an official WV hunting license gives you the permission you need to participate in hunts in the state of West Virginia. Without such a license, hunting is an illegal activity that you can be fined heavily for doing.
You don't want to put yourself in that position, and there is no reason to do so. Instead, you should focus on getting your West Virginia hunting license through the proper channels and as rapidly as possible. The sooner it is in your hands, the sooner you can begin to participate in the hunt.
What Qualifications Are Needed To Get A West Virginia Hunting License?
What does it take for you to qualify to get a West Virginia hunting license in the first place? This is a fair question that you might ask, given the fact that the government has to put up some restrictions on who can receive this official documentation. The restrictions are fairly limited. You will need to have the following qualifications:
- Be at least 15 years of age
- Be a resident of West Virginia for at least the last 30 days (for resident pricing)
- Show proof of any other licenses that the government may require
- Pay any necessary fees
You don't have to jump over that many hurdles to get a hunting license in West Virginia. The state is well-aware of the fact that hunting is a popular pastime there, and they want people to have the opportunity to do what they love to do.
However, it is still somewhat of a burden to go through the application process completely on your own. You might feel lost or confused by some of the jargon at some point. You might file the wrong forms and cause unnecessary delays in the processing of your request.
To avoid all of this, it is advised to use DoNotPay to obtain the correct forms and send them where they need to go. DoNotPay processes these types of requests all the time, and they know how important speed and accuracy are in these matters.
How Much Does A WV Hunting License Cost?
You are going to see a myriad of answers as to how much a hunting license costs in West Virginia. This is because it is dependent on what types of species you plan to hunt, if you are a resident or not, and other factors. There is not a set cost for all types of hunting in West Virginia, but some examples of potential costs include:
|Non-resident hunting only a bear
|Class A hunting license resident cost
|Class X hunting, fishing, and trapping license resident cost
|Class E non-resident hunting license cost
|Annual Sportsman Hunting/Fishing/Trapping Plus (Class XP)
|Annual Junior Sportsman Hunting/Fishing/Trapping (Class XJ)
|Senior Hunting/Trapping/Fishing License (Class XS)
|Lifetime Combination Hunting, Trapping and Fishing (Class AB-L)
Non-residents pay significantly more than residents of the state do. This is to help protect the lands of West Virginia and keep them sacred for the residents themselves. It is also a great way for the government to raise revenue that they wouldn't otherwise have available to them. Your total cost will depend on many factors, and you should look into those before calculating the total cost of your license.
How To Get a West Virginia Hunting License on Your Own
You have a few options for obtaining a WV hunting license on your own.
- Online - You can visit the WVDNR website. If you don't already have an account, you must enroll before looking at options and purchasing your desired WV hunting license. You will need to provide your driver's license or identification number, social security number, and other personal information. ($2 fee per transaction)
- By Phone - You can call the Hunting and Fishing License Unit at (304) 558-2758 ($2 fee per transaction)
- In-person - There are several licensed dealers and designated county clerk's offices in West Virginia. ($3 issuing fee for the first purchase and $1 for subsequent purchases) If you decide to purchase a hunting license in person, remember to bring your ID and have your SSN handy.
To get a resident WV hunting license, you must prove you are a resident of the state.
Obtaining a West Virginia hunting license on your own is a long process that takes a lot of time and requires a lot of paperwork. DoNotPay can help you get your hunting license faster through an automated application process without all of the hassles.
The Easier Way To Get Your WV Hunting License
Here's how you can use DoNotPay to get your West Virginia hunting license:
- Search "hunting license" on DoNotPay and select the state you would like a hunting license for.
- Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, an annual or one-time pass, big game or small game license, bear tag, etc.
- Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.
And that's it! DoNotPay will get the hunting license on your behalf, which will be valid immediately. Just download the file and print it as a temporary license, while a physical copy gets processed and sent to you by mail.
What Else Can DoNotPay Help With?
If you are reading up about , then you are probably the kind of person who loves to enjoy the great outdoors. You might think that this is one area that the government would not be capable of interfering with you too much, but unfortunately, that is not always the case. The long arms of the government still get into our business even when we are just trying to enjoy something like hunting or fishing. Luckily, DoNotPay has the tools necessary to help with all kinds of governmental matters.
You might benefit from DoNotPay services like:
- Hunting and fishing license applications
- DMV records request
- Trademark registration (for your hunting/fishing business)
DoNotPay has created hundreds of ways to save people time and money. Any time you’re tasked with legal government paperwork, make DoNotPay your first resource. Try it today.