How to Get A Mass Hunting License
Massachusetts is a beautiful state with many different types of wildlife, such as coyotes, deer, and pheasants. That's why it's often considered the perfect place for hunting both small and large game. Unfortunately, getting your mass hunting license for this state can be confusing. If you don't know what to expect or some of the most important things that every hunting enthusiast should know, the process can be tiresome and frustrating.
The good news is that with DoNotPay's help, you can get your hunting license on time and without any problems. Game hunters and anglers who value convenience, speed, and efficiency love this platform.
Who is Eligible to Get a Massachusetts Hunting License?
To be eligible for a hunting license in Massachusetts, you must be at least 15 years old. Those 12 through 14 years old don't require a license, but they are allowed to go hunting with a licensed adult. Luckily, Massachusetts offers free hunting licenses for those who are blind, paraplegic, or intellectually disabled. If you're in this category, you'll need to fill out a special application and provide proof of your disability.
Depending on what you want to hunt and when you may also need permits and stamps. For example, you will need a stamp if you are hunting migratory waterfowl during the open season.
As a non-resident of Massachusetts, you need a non-resident hunting license as well. If you're planning to hunt big game, you will need a big game license.
Hunting in Massachusetts
Massachusetts has a lot of open hunting areas that are perfect for hunting big game. You can find deer management units (DMU) throughout the state, which offer great opportunities to hunt white-tailed deer. If you're looking to hunt small game, you can go to a wildlife management area (WMA). The government typically owns these, and they're open to hunting many different types of animals.
Wildlife sanctuaries also allow hunters to hunt certain types of small game. If you want to try your luck with waterfowl, there are many great spots along tidal waters where you can find them.
You'll also want to familiarize yourself with Massachusetts’s hunting laws and regulations. These are typically enforced by the Division of Fisheries and Wildlife (DFW). For instance, you should know that it is illegal to hunt over bait in wildlife management areas. You can find more information about hunting game on the U.S. Fish and Wildlife website.https://www.fws.gov/hunting/state-license.html
Generally, hunting in Massachusetts can be a very fulfilling experience if you have a valid license and a great spot.
Massachusetts Hunting License Types
Today, there are many different types of hunting licenses that you can obtain in Massachusetts. These include:
- Resident hunting license: The applicant must have lived in this state for at least six months before applying for this license to get it.
- Non-resident small game hunting license: This license allows you to hunt small game, such as rabbits and squirrels.
- Non-resident big game hunting license: This license allows you to hunt big game, such as deer and bears.
- Resident minor hunting license: Applicants for this license must be between 15 and 17 years old.
- Resident citizen hunting license: Available to seniors aged 65+.
If you want, you can get a sporting license, which is essentially a combination of hunting and freshwater fishing license that allows you to hunt and fish.
What Is the Cost of a Mass Hunting License?
The cost of a hunting license in Massachusetts depends on the type of license and the applicant's residency. The table below shows a list of the main hunting licenses:
|Resident Minor Hunting (Age 15–17)||$6.50|
|Resident Citizen Hunting (Age 65+)||$13.00|
|Non-resident Big Game||$98.00|
|Non-resident Small Game||$64.00|
|Antlerless Deer Permit||$10.00|
|Archery Deer Season Stamp||$10.00|
|Primitive Firearms Deer Season Stamp||$10.00|
|Massachusetts Waterfowl Stamp||$10.00|
How Much is a Fine for Hunting Without a License in Massachusetts?
The fine for hunting without a license in Massachusetts can be as high as $500. This is per incident, so the fines will stack if you're caught multiple times. It's important to note that this law applies to both residents and non-residents of the state.
How to Get a Mass Hunting License on Your Own
If you want to get a mass hunting and fishing license on your own, you have the option of using the MassFishHunt online licensing system or visiting your local Division of Fisheries and Wildlife office. You can find a list of offices on the Division of Fisheries and Wildlife website.
You will need to bring the following items with you when applying for a hunting license:
- Completed application
- Proof of residency
- Social Security number
- Copy of your driver's license or state ID
If you want to use the online platform to get your hunting license, you can use the following steps:
- Go to the MassFishHunt website and create an account
- Once you have registered for an account, you can log in and select "Purchase Licenses/Permits."
- Select the type of license you want to purchase
- Follow the on-screen instructions to complete your transaction
- Make sure that all information is correct and complete before making the payment.
Granted, the process of getting a hunting license can get complicated if you're not familiar with the process. For instance, what if you forget to bring some of the required documents with you? Or, what if you don't want to go through the hassle of visiting a local office? Sometimes, navigating the MassFishHunt online platform can be quite complicated as well.
Fortunately, DoNotPay can help you get a hunting license in Massachusetts without any hassle and within minutes.
The Easier Way To Get a Massachusetts Hunting License With DoNotPay
If you don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 3 simple steps:
- Search "hunting license" on DoNotPay and select the state you would like a hunting license for.
- Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, an annual or one-time pass, big game or small game license, bear tag, etc.
- Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.
And that's it! DoNotPay will get your Mass hunting license on your behalf, which will be valid immediately. Just download the file and print it as a temporary license, while a physical copy gets processed and sent to you by mail.
Why Use DoNotPay to Get a Massachusetts Hunting License?
Some of the reasons why you should consider using DoNotPay to get your hunting license in Massachusetts are:
- It's free.
- It's fast.
- It takes less than five minutes for most users to complete the process successfully.
- It's easy to use.
- It's available 24/7, and you can use it to get hunting licenses in other states as well.
What Else Can DoNotPay Help You With?
DoNotPay works with government entities and private companies to bring services closer to you. Sign up to DoNotPay and eliminate endless paperwork and waiting periods while enjoying the following services and much more:
- Find your lost items
- Contact government offices
- Create a power of attorney
- File a complaint against any company
- Appeal parking tickets