Why Do I Need a Pet License in Huntsville, Alabama?
Huntsville hails as the largest city in the great state of Alabama. If you've lived in this city for years, or you just relocated with your pet(s), you might never have understood why you need a pet license in Huntsville, Alabama. We're here to deal with that explicitly.
Well, apart from hefty penalties for failure to obtain a license for your cat or dog in Huntsville, you also risk getting thrown behind bars. For example, in 2019, a middle-aged Huntsville mother found herself in jail for a pet license-related offense. You'd not want to pass through such an ordeal when you can license your pet online with solutions like DoNotPay.
Reasons You Should Register Your Pet in Huntsville
Fine, registering your pet is a win-win for both you and the city:
|It can be very easy for your animal to be returned, in the event it gets lost and recovered.|
|When/if you need to surrender your pet, you'll require the license.|
What are Different Ways to License a Pet in Huntsville?
According to the Huntsville ordinance, all four months or older pets need to be registered with Huntsville Animal Services. To obtain the license, you can choose different methods the registering authority offers, including:
- Visit in person: You can physically show up at the animal shelter located at 4950 Triana Boulevard to obtain your license. If you're unsure of the open hours, you can call them at 256-883-3782 or 256-883-3788 to inquire.
- Mail: You can also fill out the Huntsville pet registration form, attach all the required documents, and mail them to the address below:
Huntsville Animal Shelter
4950 Triana Blvd SW
Huntsville, AL 35805
- Online: If you don't go through the hustle of waiting for long queues or printing/filling forms for mailing, you can leverage an online license application like DoNotPay hassle-free.
Huntsville Pet License Requirements
Huntsville pet license registration law stipulates what you need to bring/attach as a pet owner before getting a license.
- Documentation from your vet showing that your pet is vaccinated against rabies.
- Proof of neuter/spay to qualify for a reduced license fee. This should be a notated rabies certificate or a spay/neuter verification document/note by an accredited vet.
- Payment should be completed either in cash, credit card or by check. (See payment fees below)
If your pet is exotic, you won't need a license, but you must register it for safety and emergency purposes with the city, free of charge.
Suppose you want to spay/neuter your pet in Huntsville but can't pull the surgery fees. In that case, you'd like to consider assistance programs that support low-income families by subsidizing the costs (Medicaid, Disability, EBT, WIC, Tax documents with $35000 or less as adjusted gross income).
How Much Does It Cost to License a Pet in Huntsville, AL?
The payment depends on various factors, but whether your cat or dog is intact or not significantly determines the margin.
If you have an altered animal, you can pay a $10 annual fee or a one-time lifetime license fee of $35. For intact pets in Huntsville, the license fees are $50, renewable annually. So, how long does the pet license last in Huntsville, AL? If you choose an annual plan, that means it can only last for a year (and subsequently need annual renewals), while the lifetime license needs to be obtained only once.
Other penalties related to pet licensing in Huntsville, Alabama include: These penalties depend on whether it's your first, second, or third offense.
- Failure to get a license for an animal -- $15 to $50.
- Failure to attach the up-to-date license tag to the pet -- $15 to $50.
If you're running out of time and wondering how to license online ASAP, DoNotPay can help.
Where and How to Renew my Pet License in Huntsville
If you live within the boundaries of Huntsville or have just relocated to the city, you must register or renew your license within 30 days of residency. You must provide your microchip number to Huntsville Animal Services when renewing the license, plus an updated rabies vaccination verification document.
Can My Huntsville Pet License be Revoked?
If you break any animal ordinances in Huntsville, your pet license may be revoked through a hearing from a judge. However, you can re-register the animal again after adhering to all the set guidelines.
Are you running out of time, and you fear getting late registering your animal in Huntsville? Or do you want assistance in re-registering your animal? You only need an internet connection and laptop/smartphone to access our Pet License Product to request your Huntsville pet license.
How to Save Time by Registering Your Pet in Huntsville Using DoNotPay
If you want to save time registering your pet in Huntsville using DoNotPay and don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 6 easy steps:
- Go to the Pet Licenses product on DoNotPay.
- Enter the county or city you are looking to register your pet in.
- Tell us more about your pet, including the breed, gender, whether they are spayed/neutered, approximate age, and more.
- Upload evidence documents that prove that your pet has been spayed/neutered (if applicable) and a copy of the rabies vaccination certificate.
- Enter your contact information, including email, address, and phone number.
- Complete your application by paying the license processing fee, so we can file the application on your behalf.
DoNotPay Works Across all Counties, Cities, and States with the Click of a Button
- Get a pet license in King County
- Animal licensing in Omaha
- Los Angeles pet license
- Pierce County pet license registration
- Obtaining a dog or cat license in the Orange County
- City of Houston pet licenses
- Minneapolis animal license
- Ordering a pet license in Maricopa County