Why You Need a Pet License and How to Get One
The United States does not require that your pet be licensed but most states do. You might not think of licensing your pet unless you're planning on international travel, but the truth is that you will need a pet license in most states even if you never travel outside the state borders with your pet.
It can be a challenge to figure out the pet licensing requirements for each state. There are so many places to find information out there. Even finding your state's proper website with licensing information can be a challenge. We will go through the state requirements for pet licensing and show you an easy way to begin the process with our technology so you can get started with your pet license purchase today.
Let's look at:
- Pet license requirements
- Pet license costs
- Finding pet licenses
- Saving time and money when buying a pet license
Pet License Requirements by State
Each state has different requirements for pet licensing. Let's take a look at each one so you can start gathering the information necessary to purchase a pet license in your state.
- Alabama. In Alabama, most counties require dogs to be licensed and vaccinated for rabies. Some counties require cat licensing as well. You can visit places such as the BJC Animal Control Services, Humane Society of West Alabama, or Huntsville Animal Services for more information.
- Alaska. Many counties in this state require dog licensing. Check your county to be sure, but if you live near Anchorage, you can visit this pet licensing page to find out more.
- Arizona. In Arizona, all pets must be licensed and vaccinated for rabies.
- Arkansas. Requirements for pet licensing are not as strict in Arkansas though all hunting dogs should be licensed. Check your county for more information.
- California. California's law requires all dogs to be licensed and vaccinated against rabies. Visit your county's page for more information.
- Colorado. Most Colorado counties require licensing and vaccination for dogs over 4 months of age. You can find out more on your county's website.
- Connecticut. All dogs 6 months or over must be licensed in the local clerk's office.
- Delaware. Delaware requires all dogs 6 months or older to be licensed and vaccinated against rabies.
- Florida. Many Florida counties require animal licensing. Check your county for more details.
- Georgia. Fulton County requires pet licensing for all pets. You can check other counties for their specific requirements.
- Hawaii. Hawaii has strict licensing rules for rabies vaccination in pets. Several counties require cat and dog licensing, spaying and neutering, etc.
- Idaho. Ada County in Idaho requires pet licensing. Other counties should be contacted directly to find out more.
- Illinois. Licensing pets is possible in Illinois but not required everywhere. Contact your county for more information.
- Indiana. Cities such as Hammond and Terre Haute require pet licenses for pets 6 months of age or older. Check your city for more.
- Iowa. Most counties require Iowa pets to be licensed. You can find information on the largest cities here.
- Kansas. Pets must be licensed as spayed or neutered. Find out more about pet licensing on your local county websites.
- Kentucky. While the state does not require pet licensing, some cities and counties in Kentucky do. Check your city website for more.
- Louisiana. While Louisiana does not require pet licensing, the government encourages local municipalities to require licensing and registration for all animals.
- Maine. Pets 6 months or older must be registered and vaccinated against rabies in Maine.
- Maryland. Most counties in Maryland require rabies vaccination and licensing.
- Massachusetts. The law requires all dogs 6 months or over to be licensed in Massachusetts.
- Michigan. Spaying/neutering, rabies vaccination, and licensing are required in Michigan.
- Minnesota. Minneapolis and most other cities in Minnesota, including Duluth and Caledonia, do require pet licensing.
- Mississippi. In Mississippi, dogs are required to be vaccinated and registered as such with the proper authorities.
- Missouri. Kansas City, Columbia, and other Missouri cities require pet licensing. Check your city for more.
- Montana. Missoula County and other Montana counties require licensing. Check with your county to determine their requirements.
- Nebraska. Though not required by state law, most cities in Nebraska require pet licensing.
- Nevada. Mesquite, Las Vegas, and other Nevada cities have pet licensing requirements. Check with local vets for more.
- New Hampshire. All dogs 3 months or older must be vaccinated and licensed in New Hampshire.
- New Jersey. In New Jersey, all dogs 7 months or older must be locally licensed and registered.
- New Mexico. New Mexico requires dogs over 3 months to be vaccinated against rabies and licensed.
- New York. In New York, dogs 4 months or more must be licensed and vaccinated.
- North Carolina. In North Carolina, dogs must be vaccinated against rabies and certified.
- North Dakota. In accordance with vaccination requirements, most cities in North Dakota require licensing.
- Ohio. Ohio requires pet licensing for puppies 3 months or older.
- Oklahoma. Oklahoma dogs must be licensed by 3 months or older.
- Oregon. Oregon requires dogs to be licensed by 6 months of age or when they grow a full set of canine teeth.
- Pennsylvania. Dogs in Pennsylvania must be licensed by 3 months old.
- Rhode Island. Rhode Island requires vaccination and licensing for all dogs for 4 months or more.
- South Carolina. Columbia, Richland, and other cities in South Carolina require licensing. Check your city for more.
- South Dakota. Aberdeen, Sioux Falls, and other South Dakota cities require dog licensing.
- Tennessee. Tennessee's law asks counties to set licensing regulations for cats and dogs. Many counties require licensing.
- Texas. Current rabies vaccinations and licenses are required for Texas pets.
- Utah. It's a Utah law that pets must be licensed each year.
- Vermont. Vermont requires licensing for dogs and most cats after they reach 6 months of age.
- Virginia. In Virginia, dogs and cats must be licensed and vaccinated.
- Washington. While Washington does not require pet licensing, most cities do. Contact yours for more information.
- West Virginia. In West Virginia, rabies vaccination and licensing are required for all dogs.
- Wisconsin. By the time they reach 5 months, all dogs in Wisconsin must have a license.
- Wyoming. Laramie and other Wyoming cities require licensing for pets.
How Much Does Pet Licensing Cost?
The cost to license pets varies by state. Most states charge a fee of around $20, but some are more expensive or less expensive. Fines for failing to license pets can reach hundreds of dollars each.
While licensing itself is fairly cheap, getting rabies vaccinations and spaying and neutering services can add up. Check with your state to determine how much each of these services will cost you.
How Do I Get a Pet License?
As you can see, finding the right place to get a pet license in your state can be challenging. Most likely, you can find out information on pet licensing at your local vet, at the animal humane society or animal control center, or the city clerk's office. However, you'll have to do some research to find out where you can apply and how to submit information. Most cities now have an online program but some still require mail-in applications.
How You Can Save Time and Money Licensing Your Pet With DoNotPay
If you're wishing for an easier way to license your pet, you've come to the right place. DoNotPay can make the process simple, fast, and easy for you. All you have to do is upload some information on your pet and certificates of vaccination and/or spaying/neutering and you're good to go. Here's how it works:
- Go to the Pet Licenses product on DoNotPay.
- Enter the county or city you are looking to register your pet in.
- Tell us more about your pet, including the breed, gender, whether they are spayed/neutered, approximate age, and more.
- . Upload evidence documents that prove that your pet has been spayed/neutered (if applicable) and a copy of the rabies vaccination certificate.
- Enter your contact information, including email, address, and phone number.
- Complete your application by paying the license processing fee, so we can file the application on your behalf.
Why Use DoNotPay for Your Pet Licensing
You do not have to go through the long and tedious process of getting your pet licensed. With the DoNotPay Pet License product, you can expect the following results:
|Fast||Allows you to renew or replace your pet license in no time.|
|Easy||No need to fill out tedious forms or keep track of all the steps involved in renewing/replacing your pet license.|
|Successful||Get your pet licensing right every time.|
Use DoNotPay for an easier, faster, and more successful experience every time. We promise we'll get you the license you need as soon as possible.
How DoNotPay Can Help
DoNotPay can do more for you than just getting you a pet license. We can also help you with tasks like:
- Appealing parking tickets.
- Finding college fee waivers.
- Canceling services and subscriptions.
- And more!
For help with all your pet licensing needs, reach out to DoNotPay today.