Licensing a Pet in Orange County's Placentia, California
Having a pet in Orange County's Placentia requires a license. State-wide, California requires a rabies vaccination before a pet may be licensed. Although no other vaccines are required, veterinarians recommend the following immunizations:
- Cats: Feline distemper, calicivirus, and feline herpes
- Dogs: Canine hepatitis, parvovirus, and canine distemper
The requirements can vary among counties because counties and municipalities control pet licensing. In the case of Orange County, not all cities participate in the county-wide animal care initiative. You can check the website or let DoNotPay do the work for you.
Do All Pets Need Licensing?
- All dogs four months or older must be vaccinated against rabies and licensed.
- Cat licensing is voluntary although highly recommended. Felines should, however, receive the rabies vaccine.
- Certain animals such as exotic or dangerous species are not permitted in Orange County. For example, Placentia residents cannot own a ferret.
Not all cities in Orange County use the Animal Care guideline; so if you move to Placentia from another Orange County city, be sure to check that they participate in Animal Care.
How to License a Pet in Placentia
Because each county or city determines its animal control policies, pet owners should check with the city's animal control department. The following steps outline how to license a pet.
- Determine if your pet requires a license. If you have more than four animals, you will require an animal permit, not a pet license.
- Complete a license and registration form online or request one from the animal control department.
- Return the completed form with the following documentation:
- Record of rabies vaccination
- Record of sterilization, if applicable
- Proof of owner's age if over 60
- Online payments are accepted
If you want to register online, you must have a license, microchip, or registration number. Otherwise, you must complete the process in person at the city offices.
If you register online, all supporting documents must be scanned and attached. If you register in person, you must include copies of the supporting documents so that they can be retained.
What Are the Pet License Fees?
Licenses are valid for one year. Failure to renew can result in financial penalties. The following table outlines the current fee schedule.
|Puppy - for dogs 4-6 months old||12||$28|
|Unsterilized dog (senior owner 60 years and up)||12||$159|
|Sterilized dogs (Senior owner 60 years and up, Multiple discounts allowed per household for altered dogs. More than three pets must apply for an animal permit if allowed in their jurisdiction)||12||$14|
|Late fee - per dog||$48|
|Collections fee (This fee cannot be waived. This fee is assessed when a customer's past due license is sent to TTC for collections.)||$58|
|Non-compliance (This fee is assessed when an Animal Control Officer cites a customer for non-compliance of licensing after an account is sent to TTC for collections)||$112|
Fees for animal permits are assessed on an individual basis based on the recommendation of the Board of Supervisors.
What Happens if a Pet is Not Licensed?
Animal control officers can issue non-compliance tickets to anyone who has not licensed their animals under the Orange County Animal Control code. The financial penalties and fees depend on the cited violations. If Animal Control finds an unregistered pet roaming within the city limits, they may attempt to locate the owner; however, after a period of three to five days, the animal may be given to the humane society to be euthanized.
Although cats do not require licensing, they should have proof of rabies vaccination. If not, the cat will be quarantined for 10 days if it breaks the skin of another warm-blooded animal or human. If vaccinated, animals may be quarantined at home. Failure to comply with city ordinances regarding animal control is considered a misdemeanor.
How to License a Pet with DoNotPay
If you want to Save Time Registering Your Pet in Placentia, California, DoNotPay can help. Use the following four steps to obtain a new license, renew an existing license, or transfer a license.
- Go to the Pet Licenses product on DoNotPay.
- Upload evidence documents that prove that your pet has been spayed/neutered (if applicable) and a copy of the rabies vaccination certificate.
- Enter your contact information, including email, address, and phone number.
- Complete your application by paying the license processing fee, so we can file the application on your behalf.
Why Use DoNotPay?
No one enjoys paperwork. Whether lodging a complaint or requesting a pet license, paperwork takes time you'd rather spend doing something else. DoNotPay's online services help cut through the paperwork by:
- Saving Time. Complete a few easy steps online without leaving your favorite chair. There's no need to set aside hours to complete and process forms.
- Facilitating Payments. Once configured, payments are initiated when authorized. No writing checks or paying online processing fees.
- User Friendly. Just go to the website and look for a category such as birth certificates, refunds, or divorce proceedings. Find the state, city, or company to contact and complete the form. With a few clicks, you 've cut through paperwork that could take days.
What Else Can DoNotPay Do?
DoNotPay can help license pets in the following locations:
- Washington State
- King County, Washington
- Pierce County, Washington
- Omaha, Nebraska
- Maricopa County, Arizona
- Minneapolis, Minnesota
- Houston, Texas