Obtaining a Pet Licenses in the State of Oregon

Pet Licenses Obtaining a Pet Licenses in the State of Oregon

Pet Licenses in the State of Oregon

The State of Oregon requires all dogs and cats to be registered by the age of six months.

Pet licenses are mandatory in Oregon for cats and dogs. All dogs need to be licensed by the time that they obtain their permanent canine teeth or the age of six months, whichever comes first. All cats must be licensed by the age of six months. While there are subtle differences between pet licensing laws in other states, cities, or counties, there are requirements for licensing your pet throughout the United States.

A note about Service Animals and Emotional Support Animals.

There are other registrations for pets that are equally as important as a state pet licensing program. For example, if you choose to have your pet certified as a service animal, you will have to take your pet through extensive training so that he or she can become licensed for assistance. In other cases, an emotional support animal can be declared with a letter from a certified mental health professional who has observed the good that the pet does for its owner's emotional well-being. Emotional support animals can be either dogs or cats. Service animals and emotional support animals cannot be discriminated against in housing rentals. Your pets are also able to travel with you in airplane cabins instead of in the cargo hold. Service animals are not required to have a pet license.

What are Different Ways to License a Pet in Oregon?

Your license application can be completed online, by mail, or in person.

To get your pet license, you have more than one option:

  1. You can go online, download the application and print it out. Fill out the application, get your vaccination records, your spay or neuter certificate, and take them to the county offices along with your filing fees.
  2. Fill out and file your application online. You will need to upload the vaccination and spay and neuter documents as attachments to your application.
  3. Print out your application and fax the application and supporting documentation to the county offices.
  4. Take your completed application and supporting documentation, place them in an envelope, find a stamp, go to the post office and mail the application to the county offices.
  5. Go to a qualified veterinarian who has the vaccination and spay and neuter certificates. They will be able to provide you with the license tags for your pets as well as submit your application on your behalf.
  6. If your dog is a registered service animal, file for a waiver for your pet license.
  7. Go to DoNotPay to save time applying for your Oregon pet license.

How Much Does it Cost to License a Pet in Oregon?

Fees can be paid for one year, two years, or three years.

The fees to license your dog for one year/two years/three years are as follows:

  • Unaltered dog: $42/$77/$107
  • Spayed or neutered dog: $27/$47/$62
  • Replacement tag for a licensed dog: $5.00

The fees to license your cat for one year/two years/three years are:

  • Unaltered cat: $30/$60/$90
  • Spayed or neutered cat: $15/$25/$35
  • Replacement tag for a licensed cat: $5.00

Senior citizens over the age of 65 years old can get a 50% discount on these fees; however, to claim the discount, they can only have two pets.

Late fees are an additional $10.

Reasons to License a Pet in Oregon

Oregon laws state that all dogs and cats must be licensed.

Registering pets allows the state to make sure that all domesticated dogs and cats are vaccinated against Rabies. It also gives your pet a better chance of being recovered and returned to you if lost.

Money from pet licenses is used to fund local animal welfare organizations such as the ASPCA and the operation of the local animal shelter. The funds are then focused on keeping everyone's pets safe by monitoring vaccinations.

Documents Needed to License a Pet in Oregon

Pet licensing is important for tracking Rabies vaccinations in the state.

The Oregon pet licensing program is mandatory for all dogs and cats in the state. For a traditional pet license, you need to present the following information:

  • Name, age, and breed of your pet.
  • Name and contact information for your veterinarian.
  • Current Rabies vaccination certificate with the date of the vaccine and expiration date.
  • Certificate of spay or neuter.
  • Method of payment.

How Do I Renew or Replace a Pet License?

You have more than one option about where to go to renew or replace a pet license.

When your current pet license expires, you can renew or replace your pet license either online, by mail, fax, or in person at your local county office or an approved veterinary facility.

How Long Does a Pet License Last?

The State of Oregon gives you multi-year options.

A pet license normally lasts for one year; however, Oregon does allow you to purchase a license for one, two, or three years.

Can a Pet License Be Revoked?

Pet licenses cannot easily be revoked.

In the State of Oregon, a pet license can be revoked due to:

  • Falsification of any information on the license application.
  • Engaging in continued noncompliance of any rule related to licensing, such as an animal being allowed to run free, or failing to comply with yearly vaccination requirements.
  • Engaging in actions that threaten the health, safety, and welfare of other people or animals.
  • Failure to correct any previous issues found by animal welfare personnel.

Revocation of a pet license will only happen with a hearing. If you are facing revocation of a pet license, you will have plenty of warning and time to prepare for your day in court.

Where Do I Go to Get my Pet License?

There is more than one way to get your pet license.

To get your pet license, you have more than one option:

  1. File your application online.
  2. Print out an application and submit it by fax.
  3. Print out an application and submit it via mail.
  4. Go to the county offices in person and submit your application there.
  5. Go to your veterinarian.
  6. Go to DoNotPay to save time applying for your Oregon pet license.

How Can DoNotPay Save Me Time?

If you want to save time registering your pet in Oregon and don't know where to start, using DoNotPay is your best choice.

DoNotPay has you covered in 3 easy steps:

  1. Go to the Pet Licenses product on DoNotPay.
  2. Enter the county or city you are looking to register your pet in.
  3. Tell us more about your pet, including the breed, gender, whether they are spayed/neutered, approximate age, and more.
  4. Upload evidence documents that prove that your pet has been spayed/neutered (if applicable) and a copy of the rabies vaccination certificate.
  5. Enter your contact information, including email, address, and phone number.
  6. Complete your application by paying the license processing fee, so we can apply on your behalf.

And that's it! DoNotPay will file the rest of the application on your behalf with your local county government. We will update you with confirmation and a license number once the application is completed and approved.

Why Use DoNotPay?

DoNotPay is the best way to file for your pet license with just the click of a button.

When you use DoNotPay, you are saving precious time and making sure that your pet license application is filed correctly. DoNotPay services are:

FastDoNotPay is the fastest way to submit your application for a pet license.
EasyAll it takes is a click of a button and supplying the information necessary for your pet license application. We take care of the rest.
SuccessfulYou can rest assured that all of the necessary information is submitted correctly. When necessary, DoNotPay offers virtual notary services and check payment technology.

DoNotPay Works Across all Companies/Entities/Groups with a Simple Click of a Button

DoNotPay is more than just helping with getting your pet license.

DoNotPay offers time-saving services across many different areas. We can help you:

Want your issue solved now?