The Ultimate Guide to Getting a Pet License in Georgia
Pet ownership is a common occurrence in Georgia for both individuals and families. Still, many people are unaware that licensing your pet is a requirement under animal ordinances in most Georgia counties. Obtaining a pet license in Georgia can be aggravating, but the citation you may face is even more frustrating if you don 't follow Georgia pet licensing requirements.
Although it is possible for you to register your pet without any assistance, offers a faster, hassle- free solution to ensure your family can enjoy your pet for many years to come without fear of fines.
Ways to License a Pet in Georgia
There are three ways to license a pet in most Georgia counties. Each method requires several steps that must be followed carefully.
License Your Pet by Mail
Complete the following steps to license your Georgia pet by mail:
- Locate your county's animal services webpage.
- Print out the pet license application.
- Complete each section of the application.
- Enclose proof of spay/neuter.
- Include evidence of the pet owner's age if requesting a senior discount.
- Provide a check (or obtain a money order if you don't have checks) for the fee amount.
- Mail the application, documents, and fee to the address listed on the application.
License Your Pet Online
It may be possible to register your pet online in Georgia through these steps:
- Locate your county's animal services webpage.
- Find the link to the online pet registration portal. This is often a redirect to a third party.
- Carefully read instructions, which may indicate that you are only eligible to license online if you have received a notice in the mail that you are not required to submit any paperwork.
- Locate the link to license online.
- Find your registration link in the eligibility letter.
- Complete the online application in full.
- Pay the licensing fee and any electronic processing charges.
- Submit the online application.
License Your Pet in Person
- Locate your Georgia county's animal services office.
- Determine the office hours, taking into consideration any lunch closures.
- Make an appointment if necessary, as well as arrangements to be away from work or home.
- Consider traffic times and delays to arrive on time.
- Anticipate office wait times.
- Obtain and complete application.
- Get back in line to turn in the application
- Be prepared with the proper documents.
- Pay application fines and fees.
License Your Pet with the Help of DoNotPay
While each of these methods will result in obtaining a Georgia pet license, none of them factor in the value of your time and the many other things that must be accomplished in your day. DoNotPay simplifies the pet licensing process so you can check other items off your list and enjoy spending time with your pet.
How Much Does It Cost to License a Pet in Georgia?
The cost to license your pet will vary by county. Listed below are the fees for Fulton County, Georgia, which includes Atlanta, to give you an idea of the types of licensing fees you may expect to see in other Georgia counties. Each licensing fee lists the 1-year licensing amount, followed by the 3-year option.
|Standard Pet Licensing Fees||1 Year||3 Year|
|Unaltered Pet License||$25.00||$60.00|
|Spayed/Neutered Pet License||$10.00||$25.00|
|Fees for Senior Residents 60 and Over||1 Year||3 Year|
|Unaltered Pet License||$24.00||$58.00|
|Spayed/Neutered Pet License||$9.00||$23.00|
|License for Fort McPherson Residents||No Fee||No Fee|
|Replacement Tag Fee||$2.00|
Note that vaccination documentation must follow the fee schedule. A 3-year rabies vaccination is required for a 3-year pet license.
Why Is It Important to License Your Pet in Georgia?
The simplest reason it's important to license your pet in Georgia is that it's the law. Here are a few other reasons it makes sense to comply with Georgia animal ordinances:
- Fines. Failure to abide by your county's animal ordinances can result in a fine of up to $1,000, 90 days in jail, or both.
- Proof of vaccination. Licensing your pet makes it easier for groomers and boarding facilities to be assured your pet is healthy.
- Lost and found. A pet license makes it much more likely that your lost pet will be returned by animal control without an expensive overnight stay bill.
- Shelter support. Licensing fees benefit local shelters, and what animal lover doesn't want to do that?
What is the Renewal Period for Pet Licenses in Georgia?
Georgia pet licenses are issued for either 1-year or 3-years and must be renewed accordingly to avoid late fines or fees. Luckily, when those license renewals sneak up on you, DoNotPay is here for you to make the renewal process quick and effortless.
If you have friends or families in other states that require pet licensing, DoNotPay can simplify the process for pet owners in the following areas as well:
- King County
- LA County
- Pierce County
- Orange County
- Washington State
- Maricopa County
- City of Houston
Can My Pet License Be Revoked?
In most cases, your pet license can only be revoked by a formal hearing. Typically, there is very little cause for pet license revocation. However, there are consequences to not licensing your pet at all. As frustrating as printing and mailing off forms, waiting in line, or dealing with online user names and passwords can be, not licensing your pet at all is not the best solution.
There is a solution that is quick, easy, and successful. DoNotPay makes the pet licensing process simple.
How to Save Time Registering Your Pet in Georgia Using DoNotPay
If you want to save time registering your pet in Georgia using DoNotPay but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered with these easy steps:
1. Go to the Pet Licenses product on DoNotPay.
2. Enter the county or city you are looking to register your pet in.
3. Tell us more about your pet, including the breed, gender, whether they are spayed/neutered, approximate age, and more.
4. Upload evidence documents that prove that your pet has been spayed/neutered (if applicable) and a copy of the rabies vaccination certificate.
5. Enter your contact information, including email, address, and phone number.
6. Complete your application by paying the license processing fee, so we can file the application on your behalf.
Why Use DoNotPay to License Your Pet in Georgia?
If you'd rather not spend hours trying to license your pet, struggle to fill out tedious forms, or keep track of all of the steps required, yet still rest assured that the process is being completed timely and in your best interest, the only question is why not use DoNotPay?
is within your reach with DoNotPay.