Everything You Need to Get a Nevada County Pet License

iEditorial Note: These blog posts represent the opinion of DoNotPay’s Writers, but each person’s situation and circumstances vary greatly. As a result, you should make sure to do your own independent research. Because everyone is unique, our self-help tools are never guaranteed to help with any specific situation. DoNotPay is not a law firm and is not licensed to practice law. DoNotPay provides a platform for legal information and self-help.

How to Get a Nevada County Pet License the Easy Way

California's dogs aged four months and older are required to get licensed within one month of entering Nevada County. While they might not be driving cars, that pet license is still important for keeping track of them and, among other things, returning them to their homes if they hop the fence and go on an adventure.

If you're looking to get a dog or have to renew your license, use DoNotPay to simplify the process of getting a valid .

What Are Some Ways to Get a Pet License in Nevada County On Your Own?

People in Nevada County have a few options for getting their pet license on their own. There are different advantages and disadvantages to these methods, but all do entail a certain level of tedium on your part. If you're sure you want to try getting a pet license on your own instead of using DoNotPay's convenient services, you can try these options:

By Mail

  1. Fill out the application (found on the PetData.com website).
  2. Find and enclose relevant paperwork, including rabies vaccinations and proof of spay/neuter.
  3. Fill out a check or money order to the Nevada County Animal Services equal to the amount necessary to license your dog or dogs (fees listed below).
  4. Address your mail to Nevada County Animal Licensing c/o PetData, PO Box 141929, Irving, TX 75014-1929
  5. Mail your application.


  1. Make your way to the Animal Control Office at 950 Maidu Ave. in Nevada City, CA 95959. It's upstairs from the Nevada County Sheriff's Office and is open every weekday from 8:00 to 5:00.
  2. Fill out the application at the office and present proof of rabies vaccination and spay/neuter.
  3. Pay the application fees based on your pet or pets (fees listed below).
  4. Submit your work to the clerk on duty.


  1. Go to the PetData.com website and navigate to the "license online" section, then click the "Click link to begin" button.
  2. If you have a reference number (meaning you got a letter in the mail asking you to register your pet), type that in along with your zip code to begin your application. If you haven't, click the link below to fill out your information and create an account.
  3. Fill out your pet's information.
  4. Include proof of rabies vaccination and spay/neuter in the form of scanned images, or select the option to provide them later via email, fax, or other means.
  5. Select your method of payment at checkout (and note that online registration costs an extra $1.95).
  6. Submit your application.

How Much Does It Cost to License a Pet in Nevada County?

Licensing your pet in Nevada County isn't free. There are a number of costs associated with this process, both directly and indirectly. These fees are in addition to the time it takes to do it all by yourself. When you're getting a Nevada County pet license, expect to pay a variety of fees:

License Type1 Year2 Years3 Years
Unaltered Dog License$40.00$75.00$107.00
Spayed/Neutered Dog License$17.00$31.00$40.00
Late Fee (after 30 days)$12.00
Tag Fee for All New and Replacement Tags$7.00

Why Should You Register Your Pet in Nevada County?

The decision to register your pet isn't exactly up for debate. First and foremost, it's simply the law. Failing to register your pet causes a lot of problems for you, including additional fees when you finally do. Additionally, getting a Nevada County is a responsible and smart thing to do. Having your pet registered means it's that much easier for people to get in touch if you lose them, especially if they're being held at the pound.

Documents Needed to Register Your Pet in Nevada County

All pet registration in Nevada County needs a few documents:

  • Proof of rabies vaccination.
  • Proof of spay/neuter. This is not required, but showing proof means you will pay less in fees.
  • Microchip number. This is also not required, but having it on file will make it easier to contact you if your dog is lost.

How Long Does the Pet License Last in Nevada County?

Nevada County offers pet licenses that last for either one year, two years, or three years. You can save by registering a pet for longer periods, as fees decrease with each additional year you add on to your registration.

Currently, the maximum number of years to register a pet is three, so you will need to renew after that point if you still have your dog. This is due to the rabies vaccine, as you cannot register your pet longer than that vaccine lasts. This limitation also means you may not be able to register a dog for three years, to begin with, if the amount of time left on their vaccine is less than that.

How Can DoNotPay Help Me Register for a Pet License in Nevada County?

Registering your pet with DoNotPay is simple and effective. Just follow these easy steps to get things done in a flash:

  1. Go to the Pet Licenses product on DoNotPay.
  2. Enter the county or city you are looking to register your pet in.
  3. Tell us more about your pet, including the breed, gender, whether they are spayed/neutered, approximate age, and more.
  4. Upload evidence documents that prove that your pet has been spayed/neutered (if applicable) and a copy of the rabies vaccination certificate.
  5. Enter your contact information, including email, address, and phone number.
  6. Complete your application by paying the license processing fee, so we can file the application on your behalf.

DoNotPay Can Help Register Pets Anywhere

While this information is specific to obtaining a pet license in Nevada County, DoNotPay can easily assist you in getting a license somewhere else. From LA County to San Francisco, we can help you anywhere in California. Places in Washington State like King County aren't a problem, either. From Omaha to Orange County to Pierce County to Maricopa to Houston to Minneapolis and beyond, we'll make sure your pet's on the books.

What else can DoNotPay do?

DoNotPay isn't just limited to pet licenses. We offer a variety of helpful services you might need:

No matter the task, DoNotPay has your back with its quick and convenient solutions.

Want your issue solved now?