Dispute Miami Dade Traffic Tickets and Win Effortlessly

iEditorial Note: These blog posts represent the opinion of DoNotPay’s Writers, but each person’s situation and circumstances vary greatly. As a result, you should make sure to do your own independent research. Because everyone is unique, our self-help tools are never guaranteed to help with any specific situation. DoNotPay is not a law firm and is not licensed to practice law. DoNotPay provides a platform for legal information and self-help.

Dispute Miami Dade Traffic Tickets and Win Effortlessly

Millions upon millions of drivers are ticketed every year, and many of them are right here in Florida. If you received a , you may be wondering if there's any way to get out of paying. In fact, there is.

According to Florida Traffic Laws, hundreds of thousands of Florida drivers get at least one traffic ticket every year. Traffic violations are classified as moving or non-moving, and some are even classified as criminal.

Miami Dade Traffic Ticket Information

In Dade County, paper are written in quadruplicate and issued for a variety of infractions. Exceeding the posted speed limit is a big reason that Miami drivers are ticketed, but it's not the only one. You can also be ticketed for:

  1. Driving over a fire hose
  2. Driving under the influence of an intoxicant
  3. Driving with a suspended license
  4. Failure to follow seatbelt laws
  5. Failure to signal
  6. Failure to stop at a stop sign
  7. Following too closely
  8. Leaving the scene of an accident
  9. Making a turn into the wrong lane
  10. Operating a log cart, tractor, or well machine on a hard-surfaced roadway
  11. Parking more than 12 inches from the curb
  12. Passing in a no-passing zone
  13. Reckless driving

This is not a complete list of reasons you could be ticketed, but it will give you a good idea of what kinds of driver errors can get you in trouble with the law. If you get a Miami Dade traffic ticket, you'd best deal with it right away, because if you put it off, the penalty will only get worse. You could even lose your license to drive.

What to Do if You Get a Parking Ticket in Miami Dade County

According to the Miami-Dade County Clerk of the Courts, traffic citations given to a vehicle are presumed to be received by the owner of the vehicle and must be paid in full within 30 days of the citation date, otherwise the fees increase.

For instance, local parking citation fees are as follows:

Airport Restricted$154
Airport/Seaport Abandoned$254
Displayed for Sale$104
Displayed for Sale - repeat violations$504
Freight Curb Loading$79
Improper Parking$29
Obstructing Traffic$124
Other/Florida Statute$34
Overtime and Restricted Parking$36
Prohibited Parking$46
Stroller Parking$52
Unlawful Parking in "Disabled Permit Only" space$253
Unlawful Parking/Blocking Disabled Access$153

After 30 days, and they remain unpaid, the fees are increased:

Airport Restricted$164
Airport/Seaport Abandoned$254
Displayed for Sale$134
Displayed for Sale - repeat violations$504
Freight Curb Loading$98
Improper Parking$42
Obstructing Traffic$154
Other/Florida Statute$44
Overtime and Restricted Parking$46
Prohibited Parking$56

Trial by Written Declaration

If you were not the owner of the vehicle at the time of the citation, here’s what you can do:

  • You may complete and submit a notarized affidavit to transfer liability.
  • You may also request an administrative review or traffic court hearing, as long as you do so within the allotted time.
  • You may also request a Motion for Relief with which you can ask for removal of late fees, request a payment plan, or ask for dismissal of the whole thing. Complete the form and send it along with a copy of your driver's license to:

Parking Violations Bureau

22 NW First St. 4th Floor

Miami, FL 33128

Alternately, you can send the Motion for Relief with a copy of your driver's license via email to parkingCOC@MiamiDade.gov

Traffic tickets are somewhat different than parking citations are dealt with accordingly. If you have a civil traffic violation, you may satisfy your obligation to the court by attending traffic school and submitting a form of completion to the Clerk of the Courts within 120 days.

Criminal violations such as driving under the influence or knowingly driving with a suspended license require a court hearing. You can find your court date on the ticket itself or by calling 305-275-1111. If you fail to make your court appearance, a bench warrant may be issued for your arrest.

An Easier Way to Contest a Traffic Ticket in Miami-Dade County

DoNotPay has a long history of helping people fight traffic tickets in Florida, California, and every other state. Getting started is easy.

Here’s what to do:

  1. Log-in to DoNotPay and go to the Ticket Disputes category. Select the correct product based on your traffic ticket.

  2. Upload a photo of your citation.

  3. Provide us with some details on why you believe the citation issued is a mistake.

  4. Select whether or not you want the letter mailed to the traffic ticket issuer on your behalf!
  5. That's it! You'll receive an appeal letter that contains state vehicle codes to boost your case.

DoNotPay's Traffic Ticket Fighting System Works Everywhere in the US

If you need help disputing a traffic ticket, you will be pleased to know that DNP works as well in Miami as it does in New York City. We assist with all sorts of traffic issues, including:

Once we've disputed your , browse our site to see all the other ways DoNotPay can simplify your life. If you need help with something you don't see listed, and tell us how we can assist you.

Want your issue solved now?