Easily Obtain a Washington Fishing License Now

Get a Washington Fishing License Easily

Fishing is one of the most common leisure activities undertaken around the globe. In most places, you must possess a fishing license with a few exemptions.

In Washington state, both residents and non-residents should obtain a state fishing license to fish. This state boasts hundreds of fish and wildlife species which is why many people flock to areas like Lake Chelan to throw in a line. Obtaining a  involves a lengthy process that takes up to 10 days. However, with the help of DoNotPay, acquiring one is made effortless.

Why Do You Need a Fishing License?

Fishing licenses are mandatory in most states as a regulatory measure to control fishing. In , fishing without one may attract fines depending on the severity of the incident. Fines ranging from $5000 or up to 364 days in jail are common if the violation falls under the first-degree category. A second-degree fishing offense attracts fines of $1000.

The Different Types of Fishing Licenses

There are different fish licenses, categorized under the following groups:

  • Resident vs. Non-resident licenses - Residents of a particular state tend to pay a cheaper fee for fishing licenses. In Washington, this is done to encourage the locals to venture into the activity.
  • Annual vs. daily/weekly licenses - The fishing license expiry date depends on whether a person chooses to purchase an annual, daily, or weekly license.
  • Saltwater vs. freshwater licenses - A person who mainly carries out fishing in freshwater bodies cannot use his or her permit to fish in salty water bodies.

Who Is Eligible to Get a Fishing License in Washington State?

Both locals and non-residents ought to have reached the age of 15 years before they can obtain a fishing license. However, you do not need a license if you are fishing for crawfish, common carp, bullfrogs, or collecting relic shells.

When fishing for fish like sturgeon, salmon, steelhead, halibut, or Puget Sound Dungeness crab, your fishing license normally comes accompanied by a catch record track to track your harvest. Every person, even those under the age of 15 years, must have a catch record card when fishing.

Fishing License Cost in Washington

Fishing license costs in Washington state depend on the type of license one has.

Resident License TypeResident StandardSenior (70+)Youth (15>)Resident Disabled
Annual Freshwater$29.50$7.50Annual Combo OnlyAnnual Combo Only
Annual Saltwater$30.05$8.05Annual Combo OnlyAnnual Combo Only
Annual Shellfish/Seaweed$17.40$7.50Annual Combo OnlyAnnual Combo Only
Annual Combo Fishing/Shellfish$55.35$19.05$8.05$11.35
Annual Fish Washington$69.55N/AN/AN/A
1-Day Combo Fishing License$11.35$11.35Annual Combo OnlyAnnual Combo Only
2-Day Combo Fishing License$15.75$15.75Annual Combo OnlyAnnual Combo Only
3-Day Combo Fishing License$19.05$19.05Annual Combo OnlyAnnual Combo Only
3-day Razor Clam$9.70$9.70$9.70$9.70
Annual Razor Clam$14.10$14.10Annual Combo OnlyAnnual Combo Only

How to Obtain a Fishing License on Your Own in Washington

If you want to buy a fishing license online, you should visit the official website of the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife. You can also contact them via the number 360-902-2464. Alternatively, you can visit one of the many licensed dealers around the state in person. It may take up to 10 days to receive your licenses in both cases.

The law requires that every person aged 15 years and older provide their social security number before buying a license.

Next Steps for Obtaining a Fishing License on Your Own if You Cannot Do It by Yourself

You can also obtain a fishing license by purchasing it at Walmart. Walmart has an agreement with the state and is an eligible institution to distribute licenses on the government's behalf. You are required to go through a process that involves filling out certain forms, complying with the terms and conditions, and payment of the fee.

However, this process is very lengthy, costly, and time-consuming. The good news is that DoNotPay can do this for you easily and much faster.

How to Get Your Fishing License With the Help of DoNotPay

As earlier stated, buying a fishing license involves a lengthy process which at most times may become a hassle. Issues such as trying to reset your password are also common. However, with the help of DoNotPay, this process becomes super easy.

If you want to get your fishing license but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 3 easy steps:

  1. Search "fishing license" on DoNotPay and select the state you would like a fishing license for.


  2. Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, saltwater vs. freshwater license, three-day only pass, and more.


  3. Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.


Why Use DoNotPay to Purchase a Fishing License

Buying a fishing license at times can prove to be a hassle. Using DoNotPay has the following advantages:

  • It is easy - It has an easy, user-friendly interface, making it easy to use.
  • It is fast - DoNotPay is fast because you don't have to spend much time purchasing a fishing license.
  • It is successful - You can be sure that DoNotPay will help you to obtain a fishing license.

DoNotPay Works Across All Companies/Entities With the Click of a Button

DoNotpay can also help across all entities:

  1. DoNotPay can help you to recover passwords for Spotify, eBay, Amazon, and many other accounts.
  2. DoNotPay can also help you get birth certificates from different states from Washington to California.

Why wait? Use DoNotPay today and a copy of a fishing license or get it renewed.

Want your issue solved now?