Apply for Crime Victims Compensation in Tennessee in Under Two Minutes
Violent crimes can have severe repercussions on one’s physical and mental health. Besides suffering from bodily injuries and psychological trauma, violent crime victims also have to deal with crime-related expenses that are usually high. Crime victims compensation in Tennessee helps the Volunteer State residents deal with the financial burden caused by various violent crimes.
To learn more about the Crime Victims Compensation Fund in Tennessee, continue reading our article. DoNotPay will help you apply for the crime victims compensation program in any state quickly and effortlessly!
Learn About the TN Victims Compensation Fund
The Victims Compensation Fund in Tennessee helps victims deal with crime-related financial difficulties through the Criminal Injuries Compensation Program administered by the Division of Claims Administration. The program covers various expenses caused by an assault, robbery, domestic violence, or any other violent crime for innocent victims and their relatives.
The Criminal Injuries Compensation Program gets funding for violent crime victims from:
- Offender fines and fees:
- Violent offenses—$50
- Property crimes—$26.50
- Crime against minors—$500
- Parolee’s wages (5%)
- A percentage of:
- Sales of illegal contraband
- Bond forfeitures
- Juror reimbursement donations
- Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) grant
Since the program is a payer of last resort, you should rely on your other sources first before applying for crime victims compensation. Those sources can be Medicaid, insurance, workers’ compensation benefits, and similar. The Crime Injuries Compensation Program will cover only the expenses that can’t be paid through a collateral source.
Are You Eligible To Apply for Tennessee Victims Compensation?
You qualify for the Criminal Injuries Compensation Program if your answers to the following questions are positive:
- Have you been physically injured in a violent crime that occurred in Tennessee?
- Are you a dependent or a family member of a homicide victim?
- Did you get hurt while trying to stop a crime?
- Were you injured in a car accident caused by DUI?
- Did you report the crime to the police in the first 48 hours?
- Did you collaborate with the police during the investigation?
- Is your loss at least $100 or two weeks of lost wages?
If you think you’re eligible, you should file your application no later than one year after the crime. Since the traditional way of applying for victims crime compensation can be complicated, you should rely on DoNotPay and apply for the Tennessee victims compensation program in a jiffy.
File Your Tennessee Victims Compensation Application Hassle-Free With DoNotPay
Victims of violent crimes and their relatives already deal with various challenges—applying for crime victims compensation doesn’t have to be one of them. Victims frequently feel discouraged by the complicated compensation application process, which is why they avoid filing their claims.
DoNotPay strives to help victims of any violent crime—including assaults, abuse, and terrorist attacks like 9/11—deal with injuries and trauma without worrying about the money. Our Compensation for Crime Victims feature enables you to apply for the Criminal Injuries Compensation Program in a few clicks.
Here are the steps you should follow:
- Open DoNotPay
- Choose our Compensation for Crime Victims product
- Let us know whether you’re the victim or another claimant
- Answer our questions and verify your signature
We will take care of your application and send it to the right office in Tennessee. You can use our app to apply for a crime victims compensation program in any other state, including:
Tennessee Crime Victims Compensation—Find Out Which Costs Are Compensable
The maximum benefit amount that the Criminal Injuries Compensation Program grants is $30,000. The program covers the following expenses:
|Covered Costs||Maximum Compensable Amounts|
|Mental health counseling for victims of violent crimes and their relatives (in some cases)||$30,000 for direct victims
$3,500 for family members (in a cumulative)
|Lost wages or support for victims who can’t work because of crime-related injuries||85% of their average weekly salary|
|Lost support for dependents of homicide or disabled victims|
|Crime scene cleanup||$3,000|
|Relocation costs if a victim’s home is a crime scene||Not specified|
|Travel to attend the trial (for victims or their relatives)||$1,250 for up to four people|
|Pain and suffering for sexual crime victims||$3,000|
|Attorney fees||$375 for death claims
$500 for non-death claims
The program doesn’t cover property loss or damage (with some exceptions). You will still get compensation for:
- Loss or damage of medically related devices
- Costs for repairing, cleaning, or replacing eyeglasses and hearing aids that got damaged during a crime
- Personal property that was damaged during the processing of a crime scene in case of homicide and aggravated or sexual assault. This exception applies only if the victim’s home or a victim’s relative’s home was a crime scene
What Happens After You Apply for Crime Victims Compensation in Tennessee?
When you complete your application, the Division of Claims Administration will review it and potentially request additional info. If the division doesn’t make a decision within 90 days of receiving all necessary documentation, your application will be transferred to the Tennessee Claims Commission.
If you’re not happy with the outcome of your claim, you have 90 days from receiving the notice to file an appeal with the Commission.
Clear Your Schedule With the Help of DoNotPay
DoNotPay is renowned for making our users’ lives infinitely easier. Not only can we root out unwanted subscriptions for you—you don’t need to do it manually one by one any longer—but we can unsubscribe you from unwanted email and snail mail lists.
Fire up our app and let it navigate the phone tree instead of you or use it to make a DMV appointment at your earliest convenience. Forget about googling clinical trials near you—DoNotPay can sort them out according to your needs and their individual eligibility criteria.
We can fill out the paperwork that you need to file at your local small claims court to initiate a dispute. You can work around the U.S. penal system and have DoNotPay locate an imprisoned loved one instead of you trying to reach individual prisons attempting to do it yourself.
You don’t need to go to great lengths to get in touch with a counselor to sign your college fee waiver either—DoNotPay does it for you and then forwards the necessary documents on your behalf.
DoNotPay Never Ceases To Amaze
Where there’s one useful feature, there are nifty features galore!
Use our Virtual Credit Card to sign up for free trials and stop robocalls and spam text messages from reaching your phone. If you feel a free trial unrightfully turned into an expensive paid membership, we can help you request a refund or chargeback for the inconvenience.