A Detailed Guide to Applying for Victim Compensation in MA

Compensation for Victims of Crime A Detailed Guide to Applying for Victim Compensation in MA

A Detailed Guide to Applying for Victim Compensation in MA

Physical and emotional injuries aren’t the only challenges that crime victims and their loved ones face. Unexpected medical or funeral costs can pose an enormous financial burden and make the already difficult situation much worse. If you are a victim of a violent crime, you should know how to request victim compensation in MA, Illinois, Ohio, or any other state. 

DoNotPay’s guide will teach you all about victim funds for violent crimes. We will help you apply for crime victim compensation in Massachusetts in a matter of minutes!

Massachusetts Victim Compensation Program From A to Z

The Massachusetts Attorney General’s Office helps crime victims deal with trauma by providing valuable resources and financial assistance—such as the Victims of Violent Crime Assistance Program. The program uses the perpetrators’ court fees and a Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) grant to cover the expenses of the crime victims or their loved ones. 


The maximum compensation amount that a victim can receive is $25,000. If the victim suffered catastrophic injuries—severe injuries to the brain, spine, or spinal cord—he or she may receive compensation of up to $50,000.

Some organizations—such as the 9/11 Victim Compensation Fund or local domestic violence funds—allocate their resources to programs dedicated to victims of specific crimes, including terrorist attacks, domestic violence, and similar.

Bear in mind that the compensation program should be your last resort. You will get crime victim compensation only if your other reimbursement options—such as restitution and insurance—have been exhausted.

Apply for Victim Compensation in MA in Less Than Five Minutes With DoNotPay

Being involved in a violent crime is difficult enough—adding the crime-related expenses makes the traumatizing situation worse. These unexpected costs can add up quickly, which is why it’s important to do everything in your power to reduce them as much as possible. One of the options you have is to apply for your state’s Crime Victim Compensation Program.

DoNotPay has created a user-friendly product that will help you apply for victim compensation in Massachusetts, Oregon, Arizona, or any other state in a few clicks. 

To use our app to your advantage and file a compensation application effortlessly, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your DoNotPay account
  2. Select the Compensation for Crime Victims product
  3. Indicate whether you’re the victim or your loved one was hurt or murdered in a violent crime
  4. Answer our questions regarding the crime and the expenses
  5. Verify your signature

Once you hit the Submit button, DoNotPay will file an application for you. 

These are some of the states we can help you in:

Who’s Eligible for Victim Compensation in Massachusetts?

The Crime Victims Compensation Board in MA grants compensation to:

  1. Victims of violent crimes that took place in Massachusetts
  2. Dependents of the deceased victim
  3. Friends or family members responsible for funeral costs of the deceased victim

To be qualified to get victim compensation in MA, you should fulfill certain requirements. You have to:

  • File a police report within five days of the crime
  • Cooperate with law enforcement during the investigation and prosecution of the crime
  • Apply for crime victim compensation within three years of the crime 
  • Apply for compensation until the age of 21 if you were a minor at the time of the crime

What Costs Does the MA Victim Compensation Program Cover?

The Massachusetts Crime Victim Compensation Program covers the following expenses:

Compensable Costs Cost Limit
Medical and dental expenses—supplies, medications, and equipment The compensable cost limit for these individual expenses isn’t specified. Keep in mind that the total compensation amount can’t exceed $25,000 or $50,000 for victims who suffered catastrophic injuries
Lost wages for victims and support for dependents of deceased victims
Replacement services—homemaker services and child care
Mental health counseling—for victims, surviving family members, and children who witnessed violence
Travel to obtain treatment
Funerals $8,000 

$800 for ancillary burial costs, including:

  • Transport of the victim to the location of the interment
  • Memorial markers
Crime scene cleanup $1,500

$250 for bedding or clothing kept as evidence

$500 for locks 

The compensation program doesn’t cover:

  • Property losses
  • Compensation for pain and suffering
  • Other losses

What Happens When You Apply for Victim Compensation in MA?

When you file a crime victim compensation claim with the Attorney General’s Office, the program staff will confirm that they’ve gotten your application. Once they process your request, the staff will inform you about their decision. You will have to wait around four to six months to find out the outcome of your application. 

If the staff rejects your application, you can request administrative reconsideration within 20 days of receiving the answer. The program director will review the request and inform you about his or her decision within 30 days of receiving your reconsideration request. The notice will contain information about your right to file an appeal—also known as judicial review—in district court. 

Should you choose to file an appeal, you must do it no later than thirty days from receiving the program director’s decision. The district court will schedule the hearing to investigate the issue.

Clear Your Schedule With the Help of DoNotPay

DoNotPay is renowned for making our users’ lives infinitely easier. Not only can we root out unwanted subscriptions for you—you don’t need to do it manually one by one any longer—but we can unsubscribe you from unwanted email and snail mail lists.

Fire up our app and let it navigate the phone tree instead of you or use it to make a DMV appointment at your earliest convenience. Forget about googling clinical trials near you—DoNotPay can sort them out according to your needs and their individual eligibility criteria. 

We can fill out the paperwork that you need to file at your local small claims court to initiate a dispute. You can work around the U.S. penal system and have DoNotPay locate an imprisoned loved one instead of you trying to reach individual prisons attempting to do it yourself.

You don’t need to go to great lengths to get in touch with a counselor to sign your college fee waiver either—DoNotPay does it for you and then forwards the necessary documents on your behalf. 

DoNotPay Never Ceases To Amaze

Where there’s one useful feature, there are nifty features galore!

Use our Virtual Credit Card to sign up for free trials and stop robocalls and spam text messages from reaching your phone. If you feel a free trial unrightfully turned into an expensive paid membership, we can help you request a refund or chargeback for the inconvenience.

We can further assist you in exercising your consumer rights by making a warranty claim in your place and verifying your online accounts with temporary phone numbers.

We can also break down the Freedom of Information Act for you and introduce you to online fax options and property tax reductions.