Calculate Your Utah Child Support Payment Easily

Child Support Payments Calculate Your Utah Child Support Payment Easily

Calculate Your Utah Child Support Payment Easily

Getting physical custody of your child or children is exciting. However, you need adequate financial muscle to raise them. This is especially true if you're financially unstable or if the child is just a toddler and you can't work because you act as their caregiver.

In Utah, it's the responsibility of both the dad and mom to support their child(ren)Therefore, a Utah child support calculator comes in handy if you're trying to find how much you should be paying or receiving in child support.

While many parents can use the calculator and get an amount they agree upon endorsed by a Utah family court, others may disagree. If you're in this latter category, the judge will still use the Utah child support guidelines as the basis to determine the amount the non-custodial father or mother should pay.

Although it's pretty simple for a child support order to be issued, it can prove difficult for some parents if the payor deliberately refuses to pay or is always late on payments. This may happen when methods other than income withholding are used as means of enforcing payment. No matter your case, DoNotPay can help you write a solid demand notice, increasing the chances of getting paid.

What Counts as Income in a Utah Child Support Case?

Before using the Utah child support calculator, you'll need to determine what the state law counts as income for both parents. The following income sources are considered:

  • Salary or wages
  • Commissions, bonuses, gifts, and prizes
  • Real estate interests
  • Retirements and social security benefits
  • Alimony payments
  • Military earnings and workers' compensation
  • Other income sources, apart from general assistance, home grants, or welfare aids

Best Interests of the Child Considered by Utah Child Support Calculator

Although parental factors are important in Utah child support cases, the principal guideline when determining child support is to place the child's best interests at the forefront. These child-parent factors may include the following:

Child timeshareThe number of hours or days the child spends with each parent and the number of children in the case, including sole parenting, joint custody, and split custody.
Child support add-onsAdd-ons to the primary support amount, including medical expenses, medical insurance, and childcare costs.
Current status of parentsThe parent's current status, such as whether they have other children they are supporting, making alimony payments to previous relationships, etc.
Unfair calculationWhen the judge determines that the amount derived using the Utah child support guidelines is unfair to the child or either parent.
Parents’ employment statusWhen either parent has no reason why they are underemployed or not employed. This circumstance can lead to 'income assigning' by the judge, which can be higher than what they're currently earning.

Utah Child Support Calculator Formula

First, add both parents' adjusted gross income to get the combined income of the two parents. Then look at the table with estimated child support for various combined income ranges (check low-income table if your monthly combined revenue is less than $1,050).

For example, if your combined income is $10,000, the total child support for both of you is $1,026. Other add-ons are then added to this amount to get the net child support for both mom and dad, including medical expenses, child health insurance, and/or childcare costs. After this, the child support is divided proportionately according to the individual monthly income of the two parents.

To go further, if the non-custodial parent is the higher-earning parent and contributes 70 percent to the combined income tabulated above, they will take on more obligations. They will be responsible for 70 percent of the total child support. They should then pay that amount to the custodial parent each month via cash, check, bank transfer, or other acceptable methods.

Furthermore, parents in Utah can agree to increase this amount, but it can never fall below the figures on the table. Courts can also deviate from the formula, depending on the uniqueness of the child support case.

What to Do If a Non-Custodial Parent Fails to Make Child Support in Utah

You can take one of these three main steps if your ex is defaulting on their child support payment, while proving hard to reach via normal channels like phone or emails:

  1. Notice them via mail by using a written notice letter. The particulars of this notice should be the amount they owe you, how long they have defaulted, the legal clause reminding them of their obligation, and the steps you might take next.
  2. Connect to the Office of Recovery Services in Utah. You can also call them at 801-536-8500
  3. File a motion of contempt in your local Utah family or criminal court.

More often than you would imagine, the first step works if the letter is written professionally with appropriate quotes from the Utah family laws. Don’t let this intimidate you, though, as DoNotPay is here to help. We'll uniquely tailor-make your demand letter with all necessary legal mentions and email or mail it to the recipient.

Demand Utah Child Support Using DoNotPay

If you want to file a demand letter for late child support payments but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in three easy steps:

  1. Search child support on DoNotPay and enter the details of the person who owes the payments.

     

  2. Tell us more about the payment schedule, including the amount and frequency of the payments, the last payment they made, and the number of missed payments, and how much they owe you in total.

     

  3. Confirm your contact information and select whether you want us to mail or email the letter on your behalf. Choose how you would like to receive the payment and verify your signature.

     

And that's it. DoNotPay will file the demand letter on your behalf. If you don't hear back or see the payment within 2 weeks of delivery, you can escalate the case to court.

DoNotPay Works Across All States With the Click of a Button

Each state has different rules and regulations regarding child support, making the entire process confusing and overwhelming. Luckily, DoNotPay has child support guides for each state. Find yours below:

DelawareMinnesotaWyoming
HawaiiMissouriConnecticut
South CarolinaKansasNorth Dakota
AlaskaLouisianaMontana
Rhode IslandNebraskaMississippi
New MexicoOhioArkansas
New HampshireNevadaArizona
AlabamaKentuckyWest Virginia
MichiganOregonVirginia
IdahoMassachusettsGeorgia
Washington StateColoradoIndiana
CaliforniaNew YorkNew Jersey
IowaTennesseePennsylvania
FloridaNorth CarolinaWisconsin
TexasIllinois

DoNotPay is a One-Stop Center for All Services

DoNotPay offers solutions to problems many people have to deal with every day. These are just a few of the many services we offer:

We also provide an array of other effective solutions. Lean on DoNotPay whenever you have a frustrating or intimidating process to tackle.

Want your issue solved now?