How to Easily Obtain a Texas Fishing License

Fishing Licenses How to Easily Obtain a Texas Fishing License

How to Purchase a Fishing License in Texas

A Texas fishing license is a permit that allows you to legally bag freshwater or marine life like fish, crayfish, mussels, and clams at the state level. However, you will require a hunting license to bag turtles and frogs, not a fishing license. Texas is home to Caddo Lake, Lake Texoma, Choke Canyon Reservoir on the Frio River, and more hotspots for seasoned and recreational fishers.

DoNotPay is your way to go for the easiest and convenient way to obtain a Texas fishing license. It will save you a lot of time and stress from getting one before hitting the waters for an adventure.

Why Do You Need a Fishing License?

Fishing licenses help prevent illegal fishing and preserve the marine life population for future generations. Within the Fish and Wildlife Conservation Act 1997, it is unlawful to fish in the public waters of Texas without a fishing license. The penalty for fishing without a license in Texas ranges from $25 to $500, which is way more than the cost of acquiring a permit. Failure to settle the penalty could lead to jail time.

Who Is Eligible to Get a Fishing License in TX?

Generally, any person fishing in Texas public waters must have a current fishing license with the appropriate endorsement. A freshwater endorsement for inland fishing and a saltwater endorsement for coastal fishing. However, a permit is not required for some categories:

A resident who is:

  • Below 17 years of age.
  • Fishing in private waters.
  • Born before 1 January 1931.
  • Mentally disabled and fishing as a form of medically approved therapy.
  • Fishing during the annual Free Fishing Day on the first Saturday of June.

A non-resident who is:

  • Below 17 years of age.
  • An Oklahoma resident 65 years or older.
  • A Louisiana resident 65 years or older with a valid Louisiana Recreational Fishing License.
  • Fishing during the annual Free Fishing Day on the first Saturday of June.

Different Types of Fishing Licenses & Fishing License Costs TX

Both residents and visitors have several options when purchasing a Texas fishing license. When getting a license, a resident is anyone who has lived in Texas for more than six months continuously before buying a license. Non-resident packages are more expensive than resident packages, with saltwater licenses being slightly more expensive than freshwater ones.

There are various packages available. A package comes with both a fishing license and an endorsement. You can choose either freshwater or saltwater or get both within an all-water package. When bought separately, freshwater endorsements cost $5.00 while saltwater endorsements cost $10.00 for residents, senior residents, and non-residents.

1. Freshwater packages

Texas Resident Freshwater Fishing License Package$30
Texas Resident Senior Freshwater Fishing License Package$12
Non-resident Freshwater Texas Fishing License Package$58

2. Saltwater packages

Texas Resident Saltwater Fishing License Package$35
Texas Resident Senior Saltwater Fishing License Package$17
Non-resident Saltwater Texas Fishing License Package$63

3. All-water packages

Resident All-Water Package$40
Year-from-Purchase All-Water Package$47
Senior All-Water Package$22
Non-resident All-Water Package$68

4. One-day All-water packages

One-Day All-Water Resident License$11
One-Day All-Water Non-resident License$16

You can also obtain a Lifetime Resident Fishing license at $1,000.

One hundred percent of your fishing license fees go to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department for conservation efforts to make Texas one of the best fisheries in the US. These activities include fishery management, habitat protection, and conservation education.

Where to Get a Fishing License on Your Own

There are several ways you can go about obtaining a fishing license in Texas.

  1. In-person. You can visit one of 1,700 local retail locations throughout the state. These locations include bait and tackle shops, sporting goods stores, gun shops, discount stores, or grocery stores.
  2. By phone. You can purchase a fishing license by calling the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department offices on (800) 895-4248 Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.
  3. Online. You can purchase it via the Texas Park and Wildlife Department website. You will be charged a $5 administrative fee for website transactions.

A fast and convenient method to get your fishing license online is by using reputable channels like DoNotPay, which is cheaper than other online vendors and ensures the information you provide is secure. You can digitally apply for a Texas fishing license straight from your laptop through our website.

No matter the method you choose, you will be required to provide a copy of your government-issued ID, state-issued driver's license, or Social Security Number for identification purposes.

How to Get a Fishing License Using DoNotPay

Acquiring a fishing license should not be frustrating or inconvenient. DoNotPay can help you get your fishing license with minimal effort and save you a trip to any physical store. Unlike other online services, DoNotPay enables you to get your Texas fishing license in minutes! All you ought to do is choose which license you want and pay the fee, and we'll handle the rest. Follow the following 3 easy steps to get yours as soon as possible:

  1. Search "fishing license" on DoNotPay and select "Texas" as the state you would like a fishing license for.

     

  2. Indicate whether you are a non-resident or a resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, saltwater vs. freshwater license, three-day only pass, and more.

     

  3. Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.

     

And that's it! DoNotPay will get the fishing license on your behalf, which will be valid immediately. Just download the file and print it as a temporary license, while a physical copy gets processed and sent to you by mail.

How Else Can DoNotPay Help?

We work across states and companies. We can also help you get your divorce certificate in Texas or any state as well.

Are you looking for something else? See if you can locate that here, else contact us.

Want your issue solved now?