Easily Get Your Tennessee Fishing License With DoNotPay
Whether you hail from a family of fishermen or are just getting started in the sport, fewer things are more relaxing than a day spent on the water. You might enjoy fishing just for the serenity that comes from being in the great outdoors, or you might love the thrill that comes from catching your dinner. Regardless, fishing is a timeless activity that appeals to all ages. When you are ready to get your , DoNotPay can help.
Before you head out to one of Tennessee's great lakes, like Norris Lake, Cherokee Lake, or Old Hickory Lake, you will want to make sure that you can fish legally by procuring a Tennessee fishing license. However, it can be confusing to know where to start. DoNotPay is the fast, easy, successful solution for acquiring your Tennessee fishing license.
Who Is Eligible for a Fishing License in Tennessee?
Fishing licenses are legal requirements at the state level that help prevent illegal fishing and promote wildlife sustainability. If you are caught fishing without a license, you will have broken the law. In Tennessee, a sport fishing license is required for any person 14 years of age and older. According to the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency, the fishing license period for an annual license runs from March 1 through the last day of February the following year.
A few important things to note that make Tennessee unique in terms of fishing licenses:
- If you are a resident or nonresident under 13 years of age, you don't need a license to fish.
- Landowners, their spouses, and children, who fish on their farmland which an individual or a family owns, do not need a fishing license.
- If you are on military leave, carrying a copy of your leave orders, you don't need a fishing license in Tennessee.
- You don't need a license during Free Fishing Day in Tennessee, which usually takes place in June each year.
Beyond these and a few other special circumstances, you always need a fishing license to fish legally. However, there are different fishing licenses in Tennessee, depending on your unique needs, age, and other special considerations.
Different Types of Tennessee Fishing Licenses
Here are the most popular types of fishing licenses in Tennessee:
1. Annual Hunting & Fishing Combination. This license costs $34 and is the minimum license available to hunt or fish in Tennessee.
2. Jr. Hunt, Fish & Trap (Ages 13-15). This license costs $10 and must be purchased prior to the 16th birthday.
3. County of Residence Fishing. This type of Tennessee fishing license allows an angler to fish in his/her county of residence with natural bait (worms, crickets, corn, etc.) but no minnows or artificial lures.
4. One-Day Fishing. A one-day fishing license costs $6.50.
5. Annual Trout. A supplemental license is required to legally fish for trout in Tennessee. This license costs $22.
6. Sportsman. An all-inclusive license that costs $166, valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any supplemental state licenses or permits.
7. One-Day Fishing - All Species. This license costs $11.50.
8. South Holston Lake Permit. For $22, this license allows anglers to fish anywhere on South Holston Lake legally.
Senior citizens can get special discounts on fishing licenses, with those discounts available when the senior reaches the age of 65. There are also some lifetime fishing licenses available in Tennessee, with special age group designations:
|Lifetime Sportsman (under 3 years old)||$320|
|Lifetime Sportsman (3-6 years old)||$659|
|Lifetime Sportsman (7-12 years old)||$988|
|Lifetime Sportsman (13-50 years old)||$1,976|
|Lifetime Sportsman (51-64 years old)||$1,153|
|Lifetime Sportsman (65+ years old)||$329|
How to Get a Tennessee Fishing License on Your Own
The Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency offers two different ways to get your Tennessee fishing license on your own.
- A Tennessee fishing license can be purchased online through the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency website. If you want to buy your license online, make sure to have your photo ID on hand, as well as a credit or debit card to pay the licensing fee.
- You can buy a through an approved Tennessee Wildlife Resources fishing license agent such as a tackle shop or outdoor sporting goods store. It can be tricky to buy your Tennessee fishing license this way since many smaller approved agents are operating with limited hours. You could drive to one of these shops only to find that it has closed.
If you need a Tennessee fishing license but don't want to spend hours filling out forms or driving to tackle shops, is the answer. DoNotPay can help you easily get your fishing license in Tennessee without hours spent online, negotiating with pesky websites.
Get Your Tennessee Fishing License With DoNotPay
How to get your Tennessee fishing license using DoNotPay:
If you want to get your fishing license but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 3 easy steps:
1. Search "fishing license" on DoNotPay and select the state you would like a fishing license for.
2. Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, saltwater vs. freshwater license, three-day only pass, and more.
3. Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.
Why You Should Use DoNotPay to Get a Tennessee Fishing License
is the fast, easy, successful solution for getting your Tennessee fishing license. Having the right fishing license can keep you from incurring costly fees and ensure that you fully enjoy your experience outdoors. With DoNotPay, you just have to answer a few simple questions and you are all set, giving you more time to immerse yourself in the beauty of nature.