Get a Restraining Order in Oregon the Easy Way

File a Restraining Order Get a Restraining Order in Oregon the Easy Way

How Do I File for a Restraining Order in Oregon?

Every state will have different policies in filing for a restraining order in that specific state. However, the principle behind restraining orders is to keep people away from you who try to unlawfully harm your right to live in peace. Whether someone is harming you emotionally, mentally, verbally, sexually, or physically, getting a restraining order against the person is to keep them away from you and your family. Stalking, harassment, and other unwanted interactions are other reasons restraining orders are sought.

You must remember that you have a right to keep someone adversely interfering with your life as far away from you and your family as possible. Restraining orders are tools that order that person not to have contact with you or be in the same place that you are in at any given time. Breaking restraining orders in Oregon and interacting with the person can result in fines and/or jail time depending on the interaction and the extent to which the restraining order was violated.

What Is a Restraining Order and How Does It Work?

A restraining order in Oregon is an order that is designed to keep someone who is harassing, stalking, or otherwise threatening you away from your family. Whether the person is causing you emotional, psychological, sexual, or physical issues, you have the right to be protected, comfortable, and kept away from those people that disrupt your life.

In Oregon, to file a petition for a restraining order, the person that you are filing against must meet certain requirements. The following are the requirements that you must meet:

  • You must be at least 18 years old (as must the person you are filing the restraining order against).
  • They must be your currently registered Domestic Partner/Spouse OR someone who has/had a sexually intimate relationship with you in the past (within the past 2 years).
  • They may be related by blood/marriage/ adoption.
  • They may be the parent of a child/children you have together.
  • They must have tried one of the following within the last 180 days: a) physically injured you, b) tried to physically injure you, c) made you afraid that you would be physically injured, or d) made you have sexual relations against your wishes.

If someone meets these requirements, you may fill out a petition for a restraining order against that person. You may also request that the person is no longer allowed to own or carry a gun in your petition. You must have a reasonable belief that you are at continued risk of potential physical injury from the person you are filing a petition for a restraining order against.

Oregon does not charge you for filing a restraining order against someone meeting the aforementioned criteria.

Violations of restraining orders can be reported by calling 9-1-1.

How Do I Get a Restraining Order in Oregon?

To qualify for a restraining order within the state of Oregon, you will have to follow the procedures that Oregon has set forth to file a petition to get a restraining order granted. The following are the steps that you will need to take to have a restraining order put in place in Oregon:

  1. Gather Evidence for Court: You will need to gather evidence that proves the harassment or stalking you want to stop from the aggressor or perpetrator. If you don't have adequate proof that the aggressor is causing you a problem, a restraining order won't be granted.
  2. Understand What Counts as Evidence: You will need physical evidence of what problems were caused by the perpetrator or aggressor that you speak of. Evidence will include things like photos, text messages, emails, letters, notes, or other unwanted forms of threat/harassment sent to you by the aggressor.
  3. Listen to the Other Side: You will get to speak and present your case to a judge why you need a restraining order. The alleged aggressor will also get a chance to defend their case as to why they were not harassing or stalking you and why they shouldn't have a restraining order put up against them.
  4. Fill out the Family Abuse Prevention Act (FAPA) Papers: You will need to fill out the paperwork required for the court hearing. You will need to provide more information about your case and why you should get your restraining order paperwork filed and granted.
  5. Get Any Help You Need Filling Out Paperwork: If you are struggling with the paperwork or knowing what information to provide, you can call someone at our offices for further assistance. Oregon State Bar's Lawyer Referral Service at 503-684-3763 or 800-452-7636.
  6. Submit Your Paperwork: If you have any paperwork that needs to be submitted, you will be able to do so through the Oregon state website. Once your paperwork is submitted, you will have to wait to hear back with more information.
  7. Attend Your Hearing: Once you get a court date, you must attend the hearing. If you don't attend the hearing, you will not be eligible to have a restraining order for your case.

These are the steps that you will have to follow to get a restraining order in the state of Oregon. Following these steps will help you ensure that you can get the restraining order you need to keep the aggressor out of your life and live as peacefully as you deserve to live.

Understand Oregon's Restraining Orders

It's essential that you understand the laws of restraining orders and how they work in Oregon. Orders will last one year from the date signed by the judge. They can be extended if the judge believes that you are still in reasonable danger from the person you sought a restraining order against.

If you wish to have a restraining order lifted, you will have to provide a note in writing to the judge, requesting that the restraining order gets lifted. Once the judge hears the merits, they will determine if your restraining order is subject to being lifted or if it remains in place.

What Happens After a Restraining Order Hearing?

In Oregon, once you have your restraining order hearing, you should have a hearing date within 14 days after submitting your petitions to the judge for a hearing. You will have to appeal and ask for another hearing date if you need one sooner than 14 days after you submit your paperwork. The abuser also has 30 days to ask for a hearing if they wish to dispute the restraining order and request made against them.

What Types of Restraining Orders Are Available in Oregon?

If you live in Oregon, you can get two types of restraining orders. There are two types of restraining orders that you can have issued, and those are either temporary or final restraining orders. If you ever want the order dismissed, you will have to go back to court to get another hearing to repeal it that was set in place before. You cannot have a restraining order appealed without going back to court.

How Do I File for a Restraining Order Using DoNotPay?

DoNotPay cannot issue any restraining orders to residents of any state. We do not have the legal authority to do so. However, we can help send your information to your local court to get the restraining order process started. The following are the three simple steps that you will have to take for DoNotPay to send your information to courts in Oregon to help you get started:

  1. Search for relationship protection on DoNotPay.

     

  2. Answer a few easy questions on our File a Restraining Order product.

     

  3. Submit the form and you’re done!

     

Once you provide DoNotPay with some basic information on your current situation, we are able to do the rest. We will send the information to the court and you should hear back within 14 days when our court hearing date is for your restraining order in Oregon.

What Else Can DoNotPay Do?

Aside from getting a restraining order in Oregon, we can also assist you with the following restraining order inquiries:

Get a Restraining OrderRestraining Order in CaliforniaHow Does a Restraining Order Work?
What Happens if You Violate a Restraining Order?Restraining Order in TexasHow Long Does a Restraining Order Last?
When Can I File a Restraining Order?Proofs Needed for a Restraining OrderCost of a Restraining Order
Restraining Order in Florida

DoNotPay can do different things to help you save both time and money on expenses that you will encounter in your daily life. We can also help save you the time and agony of endless phone calls and other processes to help you get that money back by using our smart tools to send information directly to the company to fix the issue for you. The following are some other areas we help users in their daily lives:

These are some ways that DoNotPay will help you save time and money on expenses in your daily life. We also help get your money back on everything from unwanted subscriptions to bills to parking tickets or fees from credit cards or bank accounts. Do not hesitate to reach out to us for more assistance with anything you need. We are always here to help!

Want your issue solved now?