The Easiest Way to Get Your Oregon Fishing License
There's a lot of fishing available in Oregon. From the John Day River to the Willamette Zone, from Diamond Lake to the North Fork Reservoir, anglers and shell fishers have a huge variety of options. But in order for anyone over 18 to fish in the state of Oregon, they need a valid Oregon fishing license before they go out.
But the process of getting a fishing license in Oregon can be difficult, especially with the state limiting access to Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife offices. You don't want to be fined or have your equipment confiscated because you've forgotten your fishing license! That's where DoNotPay comes in: with DoNotPay, you can get your Oregon fishing license entirely within the app and know for certain you have everything in order. That way, you can just focus on fishing.
Who Needs to Get a Fishing License in Oregon?
Before going fishing in Oregon, all anglers who are at least 18 years old must acquire a fishing license from the state. Children under the age of 12 do not require a fishing license, but fishers between the ages of 12 and 17 need to purchase a Youth License for $10.
Information for Residents
If you live in Oregon, you are considered a resident if you:
- Are a resident of this state. Essentially, your domicile is the location you perceive as your home. It's generally where you live permanently and legally
- Have lived in this state for at least six months before to filing for a license, permit, or tag
- Are a member of the uniformed forces, or the child or spouse of a member, who has been permanently assigned to active duty in this state
- you must reside in this state while assigned to duty at any base, station, shore installation, or other facilities in this state
- Reside in this state when working as a crew member aboard a ship whose home port or regular station is an Oregon port or shore facility
- Are not a US citizen and are attending school in Oregon as part of a foreign student exchange program
What Are the Different Types of Oregon Fishing Licenses?
There are a variety of different types of fishing licenses in Oregon. They vary based on the length of the license and what you intend to fish, as well as the endorsements you need for your specific fishing activity. Check the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife's website for a full list of these endorsements. In Oregon, you can get
- An annual fishing license, which is valid from January 1st to December 31st the year it is purchased
- A seven-day angling license, available to non-residents only
- A three-day angling license
- A two-day angling license
- A one-day angling license
- A daily angling and shellfish combination license
- A three-day shellfish license
- A Youth License for children ages 12-17
If you're fishing in the Columbia River basin, you will also need a Columbia River Basin endorsement for an additional charge.
Fishing License Costs in Oregon
The cost of getting an Oregon fishing license is as follows:
|Resident annual fishing license||$44|
|Non-resident annual fishing license||$110.50|
|Seven-day angling license||$93.50 (non-residents only)|
|Three-day angling license||$59.50|
|Three-day shellfish license||$19.00 (non-residents only)|
|Two-day angling license||$42.00|
|One-day angling license||$23.00|
|Daily Angling and Shellfish Combo||$32.50|
Note that disabled veterans, uniformed service members, senior citizens, and people with disabilities may be eligible for free or discounted fishing licenses at Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife offices.
How to Get Your Fishing License in Oregon on Your Own
The state of Oregon allows you to get your fishing license in one of two ways: in-person or online.
How to Get Your Oregon Fishing License in Person
To get a State of Oregon fishing license in person, visit an Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife office that sells licenses or an ODFW-authorized license vendor. Note that many ODFW offices may be closed due to COVID-19 restrictions; however, some authorized license vendors may still be operating.
How to Get Your Oregon Fishing License Online
If you want to get a fishing license online in Oregon, you have to sign up with the MyODFW website. Go to MyODFW.com and click the "Buy license" button. Then follow the steps listed on the website. You can choose to have the fishing license printed or to have it sent to your MyODFW app. Note that each member of your fishing party will need their own MyODFW account, even though you can buy all the licenses under your account if you wish.
If you're buying a daily fishing license or a Waterway Access Permit, you can choose to check out as a guest, but for all other licenses (including electronic ones) you must have a MyODFW account.
How to Get Your Fishing License in Oregon With the Help of DoNotPay
If you want to get your fishing license but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 3 easy steps:
- Search "fishing license" on DoNotPay and select the state you would like a fishing license for.
- Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, saltwater vs. freshwater license, three-day only pass, and more.
- Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.
And that's it! DoNotPay will get the fishing license on your behalf, which will be valid immediately. Just download the file and print it as a temporary license, while a physical copy gets processed and sent to you by mail.
What Else Can DoNotPay Do for You?
DoNotPay can help you do much more than getting your fishing license in Oregon and other states! The world's first robot lawyer can also help you:
- Sue anyone in small claims court
- Skip the line for customer service
- Get refunds for plane tickets
- Get certified copies of birth, marriage, and death certificates
- Get chargebacks and refunds from your credit card provider or bank
And so much more! Find out what DoNotPay can do for you.