Can You Apply for Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation?
Violent crime victims and their loved ones shouldn’t have to struggle with unexpected expenses caused by a crime. If you or your family member was a victim of a violent crime in Oklahoma, you should consider applying for the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Program. The program will help you deal with the medical, funeral, and counseling bills so that you can have enough time to heal without worrying about money.
Learn About the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Program
The Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Program covers medical, funeral, counseling, and other crime-related costs for:
- Victims who suffered physical injuries and psychological trauma because of a crime
- Dependants of a homicide victim
- An individual authorized to act on a victim’s behalf
The funding for victims of violent crimes in Oklahoma comes from:
- Felony fines, for example:
- $50–$10,000 for violent felonies
- $45–$1,000 for nonviolent felonies
- $30–$300 for misdemeanors
- $30–$2,000 for juvenile delinquents
- The Department of Corrections Restitution Accounting Fund
- The annual Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) grant
The highest compensation amount that a victim can receive is $20,000 or $40,000 for catastrophic injuries, such as:
- Severe injuries to the spine, brain, spinal cord
- Fractures of the skull or spinal column
Like in any other state, the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Program is considered a “last resort.” You can apply for the program only if other sources fail to cover all your crime-related expenses. Those sources can be:
- Health insurance
- Employer-paid leave programs
- Social Security benefits
- Workers’ Compensation
Apply for Crime Victims Compensation in Oklahoma in a Jiffy With DoNotPay
A high percentage of violent crime victims and their family members don’t know that crime victims compensation programs exist, which is why not many people apply. Those who are familiar with the programs avoid applying because they don’t understand the application process.
If you’ve been postponing your application because the procedure is too complicated, DoNotPay is here to help you out! Our app enables you to apply for compensation programs for any violent crime, including terrorist attacks and domestic violence.
Follow these steps to file your Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Program application in no time:
- Sign up for DoNotPay
- Open our Compensation for Crime Victims product
- Specify whether you’re the victim or another claimant
- Respond to our questions and verify your signature
DoNotPay will fill out the application for you and send it to the District Attorneys’ Office. You can use our app to apply for crime victims compensation programs in any state, including:
What Are the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Requirements?
To qualify for the victims compensation for a crime that took place in Oklahoma, you need to fulfill certain conditions. You need to:
- Have filed a police report in the first 72 hours—The Crime Victims Compensation Board can make exceptions for:
- Child victims
- Adult victims if the Board finds good cause for failure to file a report within 72 hours of the incident
- Apply for the compensation program within a year of the crime—The Board can waive this period in some cases
- Cooperate with law enforcement
What Costs Does the Crime Victims Compensation Program in Oklahoma Cover?
Check out the following table to see which costs the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Program covers:
|Compensable Expenses||Compensable Amount Limits|
Medical and dental exams:
|80% of the maximum allowance of $20,000 or $40,000 for catastrophic injuries|
||$3,000 (the Board can waive the limit in special circumstances)|
||$3,000 per family member|
||$7,500 for burial expenses, including gifting
$3,000 for healing services for injured victims and for family members in a case of a homicide
What Happens After You File an Application for Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation?
Once the District Attorneys’ Office receives your application, they will collect information, write a verification report, and send it to central staff. The staff will:
- Review the file
- Determine your eligibility
- Make a decision for claims lower than $10,000
The Crime Victims Compensation Board handles claims that exceed $10,000. If your application gets rejected, you have 30 days from being informed to file an appeal with the Crime Victims Compensation Board. Should you be unhappy with the Board’s decision, your next step should be to file an appeal in District Court.
Clear Your Schedule With the Help of DoNotPay
DoNotPay is renowned for making our users’ lives infinitely easier. Not only can we root out unwanted subscriptions for you—you don’t need to do it manually one by one any longer—but we can unsubscribe you from unwanted email and snail mail lists.
Fire up our app and let it navigate the phone tree instead of you or use it to make a DMV appointment at your earliest convenience. Forget about googling clinical trials near you—DoNotPay can sort them out according to your needs and their individual eligibility criteria.
We can fill out the paperwork that you need to file at your local small claims court to initiate a dispute. You can work around the U.S. penal system and have DoNotPay locate an imprisoned loved one instead of you trying to reach individual prisons attempting to do it yourself.
You don’t need to go to great lengths to get in touch with a counselor to sign your college fee waiver either—DoNotPay does it for you and then forwards the necessary documents on your behalf.
DoNotPay Never Ceases To Amaze
Where there’s one useful feature, there are nifty features galore!
Use our Virtual Credit Card to sign up for free trials and stop robocalls and spam text messages from reaching your phone. If you feel a free trial unrightfully turned into an expensive paid membership, we can help you request a refund or chargeback for the inconvenience.